We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic birthday treat for daughter!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zeffirellis

Zeffirellis
Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9AD, England
1539 433845
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 91 Restaurants in Ambleside
Price range: $1 - $55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic birthday treat for daughter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

What a brilliant concept - a small and delightful cinema attached to this delightful restaurant - I paid for a meal deal for all three but being greedy ended up ordering lots of extras. I didn't realise the restaurant was vegetarian and I am a dedicated meat eater yet really enjoyed my meal. My daughter and her friend - both discerning pizza eaters - said that their pizzas were the best they had ever had! The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant is contemporary and very clean. I thoroughly recommend. Also worth adding - the cinema was lovely, small, clean and served by a bar and popcorn etc shop. Can't wait to go back. Thank you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    294
    71
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Please, Please, STOP The Hoovering!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting Zeffirelli's for years. It is an iconic part of Ambleside, and should always be on a visitor's list. We have enjoyed its growth from a very small pizzeria with a cinema upstairs, to a much more extensive provision offering a range of cinemas, a superb restaurant, a great cafe, and excellent food. However, over recent months, we have become increasingly frustrated by the apparent need to Hoover the floor. This might sound ridiculous, but, during recent visits, when we have called in for a light lunch, in the hope of simply enjoying the wonderful Zeffirelli ambience, we have had to endure the repeated intrusion of the noise of the Hoover! Obviously, we commend the staff's attention to cleanliness and order, but PLEASE give it a rest when we're eating!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very bland food, expensive drink and dated decor. If seated next to chefs counter every time food is waiting to be collect 3 very bright heat lamps turn on and nearly blind you

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ate in the Jazz Cafe - nice venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We ate here on a Friday night. A great range of veggie food that was served quickly and piping hot. Service was great, the staff were very attentive but not over the top. Sweets were great, the meringue was huge!!

Live music was good and the venue was very popular.

We will eat here again, it has everything we need from great food to good service and excellent value for money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Busy but worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Very large restaurant. Was busy but that's always sign of a good place to eat. Walked in and got a tables straight away should imagine in summer would need to book a table. Fast and efficient service. Choice for everyone on the menu. Really nice good quality food, would eat here again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeffirellis also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Zeffirellis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeffirellis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.