We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zeffirellis

Zeffirellis
Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9AD, England
+44 (0)1539 433845
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 92 restaurants in Ambleside
Price range: $1 - $55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We love Zeffirellis and we make a bee line for it everytime we go to the lakes now, The food, the service, the interior - they have got it right. We had the jacket potato with cheese, hummus and red pepper on an open sandwich where the bread is freshly made and so soft and taste amazingly good. And we have to have a side of the sweet potato wedges with garlic mayo dip. Divine

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    533
    252
    64
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Loved it- and wished we lived locally!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a movie deal meal here last week on a trip to the Lakes. Great buzzy atmosphere, friendly service and delicious food. We were going on to the Cinema by the Park to see Blue Jasmine, which we enjoyed in comfortable surroundings too. If only we had somewhere like this nearer home, we'd be there taking advantage of the £18.75 deal every week!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value vegetarian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We eat here on every visit to the Lake District and our last visit with our friends was on Saturday 26 October, our fourth visit this year. We've dined here many times with friends and with my children and grandchildren and the restaurant is very family friendly and caters for young children. The service is excellent, the choice and quality of food is great. Ambiance is excellent. Delicious Gorgonzola soufflés! They have a good web-site and you can check out the menu on-line. I would recommend that you make a reservation as on every visit we have made the restaurant has been very popular. We just wish that we had a place to eat like this close to home!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Even better than I remembered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Thunder and torrential rain outside but a warm welcome and delicious veggie food at Zeffirellis.
We shared a delicious cheese soufflé to start then had a lovely pizza and I had a slow baked onion with roast nuts on potatoes. Frozen yoghurt with toffee sauce and bananas to finish and some rather good coffee.
Zeffirellis is just really nice - good food, pleasant surroundings, friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quality comfort and service in Ambleside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had been in the Lake District for about a week, staying and eating in Coniston - this was great but dining options there are limited, catering mainly for walkers and the like. For our final night we chose Zeffirellis in Ambleside - just a short drive away but a world apart in terms of comfort and service. We were highly impressed with this restaurant; we found it much smarter than anything we had previously encountered in the Lake District and a refreshing change. The menu was extensive, all food was prepared efficiently, excellently presented, very tasty and really good value.

I highly recommend this restaurant - note that booking is advisable to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeffirellis also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Zeffirellis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeffirellis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.