We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out the cinema meal deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zeffirellis

Zeffirellis
Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9AD, England
1539 433845
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 106 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Check out the cinema meal deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our Bed and Breakfast hosts and it didn't disappoint. We went over the New Year and booked the cinema meal deal to see The Hobbitt in 3D. The service and food were excellent and portions were just right.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    325
    79
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic movie/meal deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Have been to Zeffirellis about 5 times over the past few years and never been disappointed. We did the movie/meal deal at the beginning of January, seeing The Hobbit, and afterwards moving downstairs to the restaurant where the table was ready. Although we are both not vegetarians, it really doesn't matter at this restaurant. There is such a variety of dishes and pizzas that you dont miss meat at all. Last week I had the chilli bean pizza, and it was absolutely delicious. The staff have always been friendly and attentive, and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbrian
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Restaurant that even satisfies meat eaters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This vegetarian restaurant is well worth a visit, either for a light lunch or cake through the day, or in the evening for a fuller meal. However we were enticed by the excellent value Movie Meal Deal and enjoyed a great night out, despite one of our foursome being initially a bit concerned as he is a die hard meat eater. In fact he enjoyed the whole experience so much he is eager to visit again and we are planning another visit sometime soon. A must do, if you are on holiday in the lakes in the winter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spent the afternoon visiting one of my friends in Ambelside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had a wonderful afternoon visiting one of my friends in Ambelside and the day was made even more special, as we had lunch at Zefferellis. Even though I am not a vegetarian I found the food was beautiful and the service and staff were very welcoming. A very clean restaurant and pleasent atmosphere. I noticed they did a Cinema deal meal. So will be returning for this in a few weeks time. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food spoiled by service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to this restaurant since its early days - must be nigh on 30 years, and absolutely love the food. An absolute must is a pizza, the wholemeal base has a very light touch and crispy to eat - we always choose pizza big one and a mushroom. This visit was part of the meal deal, which included the cinema tickets.

However we were disappointed with the Service - not that it was slow - the receptionist needs to learn to smile and realise where her wages come from, various waitresses followed, however most of them gave the impression they would rather be elsewhere!

Now for an argument - are we leaving a tip?

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeffirellis, Manager at Zeffirellis, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoy coming to Zeffirellis and clearly enjoy the food. We are very sorry that the service was unacceptable on this visit. We will look into this and speak to the restaurant manager to put this right before your next visit.

Best wishes
David Stanning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeffirellis also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Zeffirellis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeffirellis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.