We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect country gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Drunken Duck Inn

The Drunken Duck Inn
Barngates | Ambleside, Ambleside LA22 0NG, England
+44 (0)15394 36347
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 91 Restaurants in Ambleside
Price range: $0 - $82
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Anyós, Ordino, Andorra
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A perfect country gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We loved the location, service and food. Not cheap but worth it. Freshly prepared sandwiches turned up in a neatly folded package and hand cut chunky chips were perfect. Sadly dinners were fully booked for 5 days ahead otherwise we would have returned for dinner. Excellent friendly service and warm atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    174
    71
    42
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the lakes several times and each time we mean to call in to the Drunken Duck for lunch. This time we have finally managed it and we weren't disappointed.
The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The food all freshly prepared. At first I thought the prices were maybe a little expensive but then the food arrived and it was worth every penny.
I'm glad I saved a little room for dessert as the chocolate pot was amazing.
The duck shaped shortbread with my coffee was a nice, fun touch.
We will definately make an effort to return in the future, maybe even utilise the b&b facilities.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful late afternoon lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a great time with friends at the Drunken Duck. The food was really good and so was the beer made on site. It was a very hot day and we were very hot sitting outside, but part way through, we did move to a cooler table and that helped a lot. The inn itself is very attractiviely decorated and I'm sure the rooms are lovely too. It's quite far from Windermere, but worth the drive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Step Aside, French Laundry...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We are unofficial, unassuming and unpretentious (I hope) "foodies". We drink beer with any meal, and when we drink wine, we do not worry about pairing the write color grape with the food we are eating. If you can get beyond all of that, you might want to read on...

For about 1/6 th the price of what you would pay for a beautiful and multiple micro-gastronomic meal (experience) at the French Laundry in northern California, you can eat an unbelievably out of this world meal (++experience!) at the Drunken Duck in Ambleside, UK. Yesterday, we completed hiking about 100 miles in the Cotswolds and the Lakes Region in England. After long days of 10-12 miles, you can bet we were craving good food at the end of the day. We almost DID NOT go to the Duck, as we had "done" our miles for the day, and thought that getting the cab to the 4 miles into the country restaurant was just too much more to deal with - especially with scores of restaurants to choose from in Ambleside.

Boy, we are so glad we went!
We started off in the beer garden - a small rise in front of the restaurant that looks out over Lake Windemere and all of the mountains that skirt it. We were so taken with our beer-drinking view (at picnic tables) that we offered to the very professional waiter that we would eat our dinner right there, too, if they wanted.

They insisted on moving us to the restaurant proper, and we ate at a very romantically-placed table for two on the veranda of the establishment.

Oh, and the food.
Starting right with the homemade crusty bread, then onto starters that had scores of delectable diversity in every bite. For mains: I had the aged steak (did not want to share) and my husband had the chicken. Please look at the menu on line to get a pretty good feel for what they offer.

After dinner: Coffee was seriously bold and worth ordering, as four little petit desserts accompany every cup. Dinner itself was plenty, but we could not pass up "big" dessert, either. Mine was the chocolate, peanuts, clotted cream wonder. My husband got the cheese platter and chose at least 2 cheeses that were right out of a Monty Python skit (you would have to be a fan). Added to the fun.

Wait staff: consummate!
Service all around: Unobtrusive but very attentive and friendly - no haughty airs.
Bathrooms: clean and cute!
Beer: Great real ales - theirs that they make right there were some of the best we had while visiting the UK.

Oh, we WILL go back. Hope you make it as well....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely location and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Eaten here once before and found the food to be great quality. The restaurant itself has no background music so you get to hear the conversation at the next table (whether you want to or not), but a lovely location and good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drunken Duck Inn also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Drunken Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drunken Duck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.