We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Drunken Duck Inn

The Drunken Duck Inn
Barngates, Ambleside LA22 0NG, England
+44 (0)15394 36347
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 92 restaurants in Ambleside
Price range: $82 - $82
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Manchester
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After reading a lot of good reviews about the Drunken Duck we decided during a few days holiday in Bowness to pay it a visit for lunch. The Drunken Duck is about 2 miles out of Ambleside heading towards Hawkshead and is in the middle of nowhere, the views are lovely. The pub / restaurant are beautifully decorated with a nice cosy feel whilst still being stylish. Even in the day it is dimly lit with candles on the tables and the fire roaring which give the whole place a really nice feeling. The lunch menu isn’t huge but had a nice choice from main meals through to sandwiches. Yes it isn’t cheap but the food is lovely as well as the atmosphere and setting. My husband had the steak and chips and I had the mackerel on sour dough with a portion of chips. Our food was delicious and the portions were big. Most of the food is locally sourced and the menu tells you who their suppliers are. The food was very tasty and well presented. There is a great selection of wines and beers and it’s all nicely presented. The pub is also dog friendly which is nice and even though it is quite posh it doesn’t feel stuffy just nice and relaxed. As a special treat it was somewhere lovely to go for a really nice lunch and I would recommend it if you are in the area. We would like to go back and maybe stay over there and try it for dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    250
    110
    49
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reputation Well Justified”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a lovely olde worlde pub a little off the beaten track but well worth a visit.
Our evening meal was one of the highlights of our trip to the Lake District

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Really Nice Pub Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a very enjoyable Pub lunch at the Drunken Duck.
There was loads of choice and all the food ordered was of really good quality and very tasty.
Its a bit crazy trying to get a parking space when its busy but everyone just seems to manage somehow.
The service is very good and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
It had a lovely cosy feel to the place and i think we may consider staying there the next time we visit that part of the world.

Vey reasonable prices also for what you were ordering.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb food in a cosy and unpretentious setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I ate here with my husband as we were staying at the Inn for the weekend and we booked for dinner both nights. It is in the middle of nowhere so would need to drive or taxi there for an evening meal. The Inn is cosy (but not cramped) and is really welcoming.
The staff were attentive and friendly and the service efficient.
The food was delicious and accompanied by home made bread and an amuse bouche. My husband has coeliac disease and they catered for this (we had let them know when booking). It's not somewhere to go if you're looking for a cheap meal (our bill was around £110 for 2 including wine) but it's certainly the place to go if you're seeking quality, locally sourced food.
We didn't sample the lunch menu but it looked good and was cheaper than the evening alternative.
We are already planning a return trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than you might expect from the ranking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate here on a Monday evening. It was full and busy when we arrived. We ate in the bar area. It has a slightly odd feel to it with the shape and function of a pub bar (excellent real ale) but the decoration of a classy restaurant (which is what it is). My main meal (venison) was spectacularly good. Weeks later I can still remember with pleasure the components which made it up - chestnuts, blackberries, red cabbage with bacon and a delicate suet pudding (sounds like an oxymoron but delicate it was) together with perfectly cooked venison. It was much much better food than we ate in higher ranked local restaurants and only slightly more expensive. Excellent very professional service (again miles better than the other places we visited locally). Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drunken Duck Inn also viewed

Hawkshead, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Drunken Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drunken Duck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.