We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easedale Lodge the warm hospitality of Ambleside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Easedale Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Easedale Lodge to your Saves list
Easedale Lodge
Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #4 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Easedale Lodge the warm hospitality of Ambleside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you are looking for quality at an excellent price, Easedale Lodge is the place. The six nights that I spent at the Lodge in April 2013 were trouble free. Actually, my room was very comfortable, very clean, modern with cable TV and Wi-Fi high-speed internet.
Now the owners a very friendly couple that makes you feel at home from the start. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. I don't want to say it too loud, but it was almost better than home;).

So on my next trip to Ambleside I know where to stay. Bravo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    56
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
621
49
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

When it comes to picking accommodation I always do my research. With high expectations and minimal funds it can sometimes be a bit of a challenge, but on this occasion I won that battle. After hours of searching, I knew instantly when I found the one, that one was Easedale Lodge.

Like all the buildings in the area, Easedale Lodge has the traditional stonewall exterior fitting perfectly into it’s surroundings. Inside the interior takes a more modern twist with bold, warm colours combined with earthy furniture and décor. The owner Sarah has really taken inspiration from the landscapes around her and turned her guesthouse into a homely escape.

Utilising the space available, the 7 rooms are decorated equally as well, each with their own the style and all the comforts you could need after a long day exploring the sights.

As an extra surprise, I received a birthday card from Sarah during our stay. A small token but a kind gesture I will remember. Oh and the breakfast is pretty great too…always an important factor!

Read my full review on my visit to The Lake District at http://sightseewithme.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/mini-break-lake-district/

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Easedale Lodgeis what I would describe as home away from home. The managers of the place were very warm and receptive. They were able to give accurate information on places to visit, shop and eat.

The Lodge was very well kept, clean, presentaable and impressive, The food was excellent.

Bravo!

Room Tip: Choose the corner suites rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I had a six nights stay at Easdale Lodge and it was as good as home away from home.
The hospitality accorded by the owner Sarah, it was owesome .
I enjoyed the breakfast and atmosfer .
Sarah keep up the good work and you are good example to the others.

Phillip

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

a small but perfect gem ,as others have said what a nice couple ,even went to the trouble of getting us a celebration card as we had got married the previous day ! Would recommend it to anyone . the tea / coffee tray was far better filled than in most so called 'posh hotels' ,Would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doune, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at Easdale Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Sarah,the owner,made us feel very welcome straight away and took the time to explain where everything was in the house that we may need. She also asked if we were familiar with Ambleside so she could tell us about local landmarks etc. but as we are frequent visitors to the area we already had this information. The house is very tastefully decorated and very comfortable to stay in. Sarah was very attentive to everyones needs at breakfast which was very tasty with a wide selection to choose from. There are lots of lovely little touches throughout the house like drawers labelled with useful things such as slippers,magazines,glasses and even a drawer called"Forgotten Something". When we stayed it was during the school Easter holidays so Sarah had placed lots of little chickens throughout the house! Another lovely touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Easedale Lodge for two nights.
This was our third time there - what a lovely place! Sarah and Dave are so welcoming. We highly recommend it.
The rooms are clean and tidy and have everything you could possibly need. They even have a 'forgot something' drawer with lots of things you might have forgotten to bring. The breakfast was excellent with all food locally sourced.
We will definitely return again.
Many thanks.
John & Jenny

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Easedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easedale Lodge

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easedale Lodge, Ambleside - Heart of the Lake District."A wonderful place to stay with lovely rooms, a great breakfast, ample free off street parking, a convenient central location with fantastic fell and village views and friendly hosts" Settle in – Easedale Lodge is a charming, Victorian Lakeland stone house that retains many original features including solid oak doors and Lakeland slate tops to furniture. The entrance hall has the original Victorian floor tiles and stained glass which is an exact copy of glasswork by Mackay Hugh Baillie Scott (1865 – 1900). The lounge has a beautiful marble fireplace and the decor throughout the lodge compliments this centrally located and welcoming home from home.Sleep well – Easedale Lodge has beautifully appointed double bedrooms, with great fell and village views, each bedroom has individual decor to suit all tastes, with comfy beds and sumptuous soft furnishings. The hospitality trays are well stocked with both local and Fair Trade products. Each bedroom has a digital television, hairdryer and radio alarm clock. The pristine shower rooms have powerful showers, soft towels and biodegradable products made locally by Pure Lakes.Eat well – Easedale Lodge has an elegant dining room with a full English or Vegetarian breakfast cooked to order, with a good selection of cereals, seeds, fruits, yoghurts and juices plus a range of speciality hot drinks all (where possible) sourced locally.Tariff & specials – Easedale Lodge has reduced rates for stays of two nights or more on weekdays. The tariff ranges from £ 34 - £60 per person, per night for bed and breakfast which varies according to room choice and season, ample free off street parking is always available as is unlimited free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Easedale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Easedale Hotel Ambleside
Easedale Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Easedale Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.