We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another stay - another flawless experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Easedale Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Easedale Lodge to your Saves list
Easedale Lodge
Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Summer Stay Longer Offer
Ranked #4 of 109 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Whitby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another stay - another flawless experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

We were so taken with our stay a few weeks back, we decided to make a return visit which has underlined the fact that our initial welcome was certainly no flash in the pan.

There is no area of service and comfort that isn't impeccably considered and catered for.

I have read in the national press that Lake District accomodation generally isn't 'up to the mark' - well there is always an exception and Bob & Margaret have certainly set the standard that others should aspire to.

Well done both of you!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    58
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
661
50
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

Just returned from a fantastic stay in Ambleside - Easedale Lodge was a fantastic place to stay - wonderful breakfast and furnished to the highest standard but the hosts were so friendly and helpful, we have already booked another weekend there.

Brilliant.

Carol Lord & Alan Gibson

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

We called in off the street looking for accomodation and were greeted by Bob whom we immediately liked.
He showed us to the room which was of a high standard.
And nothing was too much trouble.
There were plenty of well thought out nice touch's right down to earbuds in the bathroom, flat screen t.v's in the rooms oh and the breakfast was a real treat! will definitely go back!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

We had a great time, Bob and Margaret treated us just like family. They made our stay so pleasant that we will definitely return.

The room was really warm and comfortable with well thought out special touches like tissues and toiletries.

The decor throughout was first class and the standard of cleanliness was excellent.

The breakfast was great, with a very good selection, to suit all tastes, all delivered by Bob in his warm and friendly style.

The off street parking was a real bonus.

Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

We have just returned from the Easedale Lodge. We decided to go there because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor,and we weren't disappointed.
The lodge is beautifully decorated and feels like a home from home. It has fantastic doors! Our room (no1) was great with lovely decor and excellent en-suite, plus flat screen TV, it doesn't look over the park but that's no hardship, as you are out and about anyway. After this visit we wouldn't hesitate to stay in any of the other rooms on offer, even though some don't have en-suite I think they have their own private facillities, which is no problem.
The breakfast was great with a choice of cereal, fruit, and yoghurt, then on top of this toast and an 8 item cooked breakfast if you wished with excellent quality produce, and there is a lovely area to sit and watch the world go by.
Bob and Margaret make you feel really welcome and can't do enough for you, and it's this that makes all the difference, plus they have a fab car!!
Hope to be back soon. Thanks Bob & Margaret.

  • Liked — bob & margaret, location, homely feel, good quality food
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

What a find! We have long wanted to find a guesthouse in the Lakes that we can retreat to for a night or two but choosing a guesthouse can be so very hit and miss. This guesthouse however is a definite hit. I booked direct with Bob the excellent host, and from his emails and our telephone conversation I felt confident we would not be disappointed. We arrived to Bob's friendly greeting and were ushered into the beautiful lounge where we were made to feel very welcome. There are 7 rooms and we were given a sneak preview of a few before being taken to our own. Some of the rooms are small but all are perfectly formed. The attention to detail in the decoration and extra little touches made it a lovely cosy retreat with lost of interesting artwork and decor to look at. The rooms are bright, light and carefully designed. Further treats were in store at breakfast time when Margaret's cooking came to the fore. Delicious thick bacon and perfect scrambled eggs plus many other choices regardless of whether you wanted a cooked breakfast or not.
We will definitely go back to Easedale Lodge and have already recommended it to our friends.

  • Liked — Friendly informality where nothing was too much trouble
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

We had the pleasure of staying at Easedale Lodge over the half term holiday. We had gone to Ambleside to book our wedding and were delighted with our stay there. Unfortunately for us the stay was only for one night but we shall definately be going again!
The place is beautifully appointed throughout, the quality of furnishings outstanding and the breakfast fantastic.
Both Bob and Margaret the owners could not do anything else to make you more welcome nor your stay more comfortable.
It is a little gem that we stumbled accross at the new year and we can honestly say that we have stayed in so called 5 star hotels that have not been up to this standard.
The bedrooms are small but have big comfortable beds and every convenience plus extra touches such as plasters, sanitary products, new toothbrushes etc just in case you forget anything! It is in a great location, with parking just off the main centre of Ambleside. Handy for restaurants and pubs after a busy day walking.
The breakfasts are cooked to order and again the quality of the products used excellent.
We can't wait to visit again. Thank you.

Yvette and John. Wigan

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Easedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easedale Lodge

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easedale Lodge, Ambleside - Heart of the Lake District."A wonderful place to stay with lovely rooms, a great breakfast, ample free off street parking, a convenient central location with fantastic fell and village views and friendly hosts" Settle in – Easedale Lodge is a charming, Victorian Lakeland stone house that retains many original features including solid oak doors and Lakeland slate tops to furniture. The entrance hall has the original Victorian floor tiles and stained glass which is an exact copy of glasswork by Mackay Hugh Baillie Scott (1865 – 1900). The lounge has a beautiful marble fireplace and the decor throughout the lodge compliments this centrally located and welcoming home from home.Sleep well – Easedale Lodge has beautifully appointed double bedrooms, with great fell and village views, each bedroom has individual decor to suit all tastes, with comfy beds and sumptuous soft furnishings. The hospitality trays are well stocked with both local and Fair Trade products. Each bedroom has a digital television, hairdryer and radio alarm clock. The pristine shower rooms have powerful showers, soft towels and biodegradable products made locally by Pure Lakes.Eat well – Easedale Lodge has an elegant dining room with a full English or Vegetarian breakfast cooked to order, with a good selection of cereals, seeds, fruits, yoghurts and juices plus a range of speciality hot drinks all (where possible) sourced locally.Tariff & specials – Easedale Lodge has reduced rates for stays of two nights or more on weekdays. The tariff ranges from £ 34 - £60 per person, per night for bed and breakfast which varies according to room choice and season, ample free off street parking is always available as is unlimited free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and T4B so you can book your Easedale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Easedale Hotel Ambleside
Easedale Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Easedale Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.