We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch in pleasant surroundings.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The White Lion Hotel | Market Place, Ambleside LA22 9DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in pleasant surroundings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We popped in (or more correctly outside) for lunch on a lovely day in Ambleside. The hotel is in the Main Street through Ambleside and has seating outside. The menu carries a large range of food, everything for light bites to main meals and sweets. The hotel itself is large airy and pleasant. The bar carries a good variety of lagers, beers and spirits and when we payed it a visit carried a number of good quality real ales. As it was lunch we both decided to go for the pulled pork in baked potato, onion rings and chunky chips. The premises operate an order and pay at the bar system and the service is pleasant and courteous. Having ordered and collected drinks the food followed very quickly after. The presentation of the food was plain and simple, yet appetising and was very good. At under £20 for the two meals it was very good value and I would definitely go back again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    46
    17
    6
    40
See reviews for
28
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Looking for somewhere to eat, we found the White Lion in the centre of Ambleside and decided to give it a try
There was a limited set menu so we had the two course meal at £9.95, one starter, two mains and one dessert.
The Brie starter was very nice and came with a barbecue sauce and a bit of salad. For the main course, we had salmon, mixed green veg & new potatoes together with a prawn chowder dressing on the side and then ended up sharing an Eton Mess for dessert.
The food was served up promptly by a very pleasant waitress who asked us a couple of times if everything was ok. The pub wasn't busy but had a nice atmosphere about it.
There was plenty of choice on the wine list and also some good real ales on.
Would be very happy to eat here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just stopped off after walking and parked up on the "disc Scheme" which gives you an hour free. ( pick your disc up from pretty much any shop, no purchase needed). We ate of the light Bites menu 2 battered whiting, chips, Peas, Tartar sauce. under a tenner for 2 decent portions was excellent value for the lakes. A beer and (excellent) Coffee was a fiver so all good. We snagged a good day,, sunny but fresh and sat outside. Good value I think.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a short break in Ambleside in June 13 and we used this pub a couple of times for food for a family of four inc 2 teenage boys with good appetites this was perfect - really good & friendly service plus great value bar meals & nice beer.

Will go back again this year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

As far as bars go in Ambleside this is probably the cheapest, have not eaten here so can't comment on the food. If you are looking for a nice pint in a nice atmosphere the white lion is well worth a visit

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Despite the mixed reviews we stopped for a bite to eat here. Cheap and cheerful. My line caught cod in beer batter was tasty and crispy. Not overly big though. My friends food was OK too.
Service friendly and pretty quick out with our meals.

Not the prettiest place to stop for a bite but nice overall and reasonably priced, especially if you go at a time when the meal deals are on.

It's a chain pub so as long as you don't set your expectations on a gastro pub you won't be disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked in on 31st Dec and checked out 2nd Jan. Food we thought was very good. Only complaint is that there was no entertainment to bring in the bells, which was a big let down.

I hear it is going to be under new management so here is hoping that this can be sorted for this/next year.

Staff very friendly, and felt service was good too.

Room Tip: Room 1 was really worth the money. Big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Address: The White Lion Hotel | Market Place, Ambleside LA22 9DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Lake District, this Cumbria lodge is ideal. Set in scenic Ambleside at the head of Windermere, England's biggest lake, it's easy to reach from the M6. Nearby Windermere Station is just a 15-minute drive away. From Ambleside, it's easy to explore Windermere's 26-mile long coastline on foot, by car or by bike. Discover the lake's great choice of water sports, or treat the family to a launch or steamer trip across its magnificent waters. Just an hour's spectacular drive away is Scaffel Pike - England's highest mountain and a beautiful, breathtaking hike. Also in easy reach are Stock Ghyll Force, an awesome 70-foot waterfall; and Hill Top - Beatrix Potter's 17th-century farmhouse and a time capsule of her life. On rainy days, head for mock-gothic Wray Castle - where kids can don fancy dress and live out their own fairy tales, or use huge foam blocks to build fantasy fortresses. After a long day outdoors, you'll love collapsing into one of the lodge's double, twin or family rooms, all with flatscreen TV and free WiFi. Refreshed and relaxed, come down* to our cosy pub and enjoy a well-earned tipple with some hearty, freshly cooked food. *Children are welcome to accompany parents or guardians eating in The White Lion's family dining area. Please note residents' parking is limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.