We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managed to impress and delight - please read this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The White Lion Hotel | Market Place, Ambleside LA22 9DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
newcastle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Managed to impress and delight - please read this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Okay here we go its an old coaching inn so don't expect 5 star facilities but its clean, tidy and very friendly. All bedrooms are up some stairs but easily negated even with a stick.
We arrived with our friends so we occupied 2 rooms and both get the thumbs up, the management had even provided the best sunshine we've see for a long time in the North.
Dining in the Inn was also a pleasure with high quality bar food served by the ever helpful staff. This is not a fine dining restaurant it is a pub serving big well cooked portions, don't think for one moment it is anything else, just check the prices. We have paid far more for far less and quality does count, the food was quality. As for breakfasts, the full English will fill most large English men and women without a doubt, as well as any one else who like good bacon sausages, eggs, tomatoes s mushrooms and lovely bread.
Okay we go on but staff are great food is great drinks are great and they are supporting breast cancer so if you can get booked book, and if cant try to book another date. Eat good food and enjoy the company.
All the negative comments or the use of the word acceptable do mislead, go and sit in the sun, drink your favourite drinks and enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 4 or 7 we thought they were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    19
    6
    40
See reviews for
34
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went to The White Lion on Saturday early evening for just 'pub grub'.
The atmosphere and staff were great but the food for all but one(who had gammon and eggs) was I have to say the worst pub food we've ever had.We would never eat there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Really busy evening - Bank holiday - and the pub doesn't take bookings. However, we got a table and ordered from the quite extensive and varied menu. If you choose your moment, queuing at the bar isn't too much of a problem. We enjoyed a well presented and tasty meal at a reasonable price. Service was satisfactory, especially given the number of people in there, and everyone was pleasant. Nothing flashy, but quite acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Can't say much more than average. Typical pub food (reheated baked potatoes) not a gastro pub. The staff are pleasant but the pub needs a jolly good clean and update.You get what you pay for. Ember inns do have gastro pubs this one could do with being made into one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Food straight from the freezer to the microwave or deep fat fryer. Cheap nasty food. Haddock was grey, nachos had the cheese waved at them, saving grace was the gammon steak with eggs which was nice. Queue up to buy drinks,, queue up to order food. Do not encourage this rotten style of food and service dont go.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The location is good right in the centre of Ambleside, We had to wait al least 5 minutes to be served at the bar which was a little bit of a let down. The pub was seriously under staffed for the amount of people sitting in. The food was ok nothing special just a generic menu like expected in most pubs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silloth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My partner and I decided to try a meal here while we were on our walks in Ambleside. To some it up without rambling on it was horrible.

The waitress at the bar wasnt very helpful and the food was disgusting. I ordered Nacho's and a Lasagne. The cheese on the nacho's was so over melted it was rock hard and the lasagne was more like mushy dog food with a bit of melted cheese on the top.

Needless to say we left halfway through the meal. Altogether horrible and I wouldnt eat there again.

Cant comment on the accomodation as we did not stay there but definetly wouldnt if the food is anything to go off!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Address: The White Lion Hotel | Market Place, Ambleside LA22 9DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Lake District, this Cumbria lodge is ideal. Set in scenic Ambleside at the head of Windermere, England's biggest lake, it's easy to reach from the M6. Nearby Windermere Station is just a 15-minute drive away. From Ambleside, it's easy to explore Windermere's 26-mile long coastline on foot, by car or by bike. Discover the lake's great choice of water sports, or treat the family to a launch or steamer trip across its magnificent waters. Just an hour's spectacular drive away is Scaffel Pike - England's highest mountain and a beautiful, breathtaking hike. Also in easy reach are Stock Ghyll Force, an awesome 70-foot waterfall; and Hill Top - Beatrix Potter's 17th-century farmhouse and a time capsule of her life. On rainy days, head for mock-gothic Wray Castle - where kids can don fancy dress and live out their own fairy tales, or use huge foam blocks to build fantasy fortresses. After a long day outdoors, you'll love collapsing into one of the lodge's double, twin or family rooms, all with flatscreen TV and free WiFi. Refreshed and relaxed, come down* to our cosy pub and enjoy a well-earned tipple with some hearty, freshly cooked food. *Children are welcome to accompany parents or guardians eating in The White Lion's family dining area. Please note residents' parking is limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.