We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful oasis, a real gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Vale Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West Vale Country House to your Saves list
West Vale Country House
Far Sawrey, Ambleside LA22 0LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful oasis, a real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed for one night only as we travelled around the area, but this was easily the best accommodation that we stayed in. The house was beautiful, luxurious and absolutely immaculate. The view from our room (number 3) was spectacular. The setting was peaceful and relaxing and the owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious, with a wide range of choice.
Very close by (a couple of minutes walk) is a lovely pub, serving food too, and a little local shop. Hilltop( the Beatrix Potter house) is within walking distance, and there are lots of wonderful walks on the doorstep. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation. It is slightly more expensive than other places that we stayed in, but definitely worth the extra. When we visit this part of the Lake District again we will certainly be staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    11
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
187
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Dee and glynn were lovely warm and welecomlng propriertors .The guest house is spotless the breakfasts first class and would recommend to anyone .We will return again.Thanks for a lovely stay .Two good pubs nearby and plenty of good walks in the area not to demanding.Andrea and Dave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A very warm welcome was extended from the proprietor, Dee, upon arrival. It is a small family run hotel and we were shown the drawing room and the breakfast room, both which were beautifully decorated and furnished. We'd booked a deluxe room which was absolutely immaculate. The bed and pillows were really comfortable and the robes and towels supplied were all of excellent quality. The bathroom was spotless and the suite of a good standard. We arrived at around 1430 in the afternoon and were initially going to go out for a walk but as the snow came down, we were perfectly happy to stay in the lovely room. We did venture downstairs to read in the guest lounge and there was a selection of drinks available. Here comes my only criticism - my husband had a Stella which was just a can (with a glass!) and the cost for this was £3.20 which is a bit much... I had a Hot Chocolate and it was accompanied by a lovely piece of homemade flapjack which was delicious. We ventured out to WIndemere for dinner later on and reached it via the Hawshead ferry. After a good night's sleep in the comfy bed and bedding, we joined the other guests in the dining room and were served a really tasty breakfast. The menu was varied with cereals, fruit, juices etc. followed by a choice of hot dishes. We both opted for the traditional english breakfast - with mine being a veggie one - and in keeping with our experience, the food didn't disappoint.
Overall, this hotel is a little gem in a lovely location convenient for the main South Lakes and Glynn and Dee are a great pair of hosts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

What more could you want from a holiday/break from mundane life, but a lovely little cottage for two, nice open plan front room with kitchen, recently refurbished, with great views, and new patio, and all the different type of birds feeding from the tree in the garden, car parking, laid back off the road, pub/restaurant 30 yards away serving good reasonably priced food and a warm atmosphere.
And all only 25 minutes from Ambleside, the best place to start many great walks.
Fantastic place to recharge your batteries *--*

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

From our first warm reception from Dee and Glynn to our last goodbyes, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the tranquil West Vale Country House; nestled in the Hawkshead countryside.

Our room, a suite on the top floor of the house, was spotless, larger than expected and very inviting (made especially so by the complimentary sherry!). One corner of the room melts into the bathroom area with a large double shower. We stayed for two nights and both were extremely comfortable in the plush, kingsize bed.

Breakfast was a buffet table affair to start (with some fab preserves, cereals and fruits), followed by a lovely cooked breakfast. Just what we needed for a days' walking!

We ate relatively locally, venturing to Ambleside and Windermere (15 mins drive) for restaurants as well as sloping into the Cuckoo Brow Inn (a meagre 1 min walk away) for some excellent pub grub.

All in all our visit was just what we wanted for a short escape to the Lakes with a bit of luxury!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 which was - from what I hear - the slightly larger of the two Junior Suites. Bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milford, Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful relaxing weekend at West Vale Country House. We beat the snow and arrived to a warm welcome from our hosts.
It was my partners birthday treat and everything I had asked for (flowers etc.) were waiting for us in our room. The snow came tumbling down and we were glad we had set off before lunch otherwise we would have been camping on the M6 Friday night and not sat in front of a very inviting fire.
We were snowed in on Saturday so went for a pleasant walk to Windermere (ferry) but returned to just chill at the Guest House. We had a wonderful meal that evening at prepared by Glynn and served by Dee.
The rain came overnight and the roads were passable to ensure a safe journey home.
We will certainly re-visit West Vale again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I am writing this review on behalf of my parents who stayed here in November 2012. The hotel was superb with very welcoming owners. The hotel had a homely and cosy feel to it and the room was immaculate. The fresh fruit and decanter of sherry in the room were a lovely touch. As it was my parent's anniversary during their stay, I rang the hotel to arrange for a bottle of champagne to be served with their evening meal.. my request was carried out without hesitation.
My parents hope to return at some point this year for yet another memorably stay!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Vale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Vale Country House

Address: Far Sawrey, Ambleside LA22 0LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Lake District National Park on the edge of the village of Far Sawrey you will find West Vale Country House an idyillic small retreat where you can escape and leave your cares behind This stunning location overlooks Grizedale Forest The Old Man of Coniston and the surrounding area is a pot-pourri of cultural historical and architectural gems as Beatrix Potters Cottage Brantwood Holker Hall Dove Cottage and Levens Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your West Vale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Vale County Hotel
West Vale County Ambleside
West Vale Country House Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Vale Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.