We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakes Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lakes Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakes Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 82 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Elloughton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in july , location is very central for both the town and the lake .Rooms are clean and tidy , our room was high rise at the rear of the building , the only quibble being the washbasin was located in the room rather than in the bathroom , but the view from the window more than made up for it . Breakfast is self service with a great selection to choose from all being freshly cooked and wonderfully tasty . The staff were friendly and cheerful at all times , which made a lovely break even more pleasant .

Room Tip: Rooms located at the rear are quieter and away from the road .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are delighted that you were 'pleasantly surprised' with Lakes Lodge and that you enjoyed your stay with us, we will pass on your kind comments to the staff and hopefully we will see you when you visit Ambleside.

Regards

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    90
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
243
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the bathrooms excellent. We live in Australia and this is the second time we've stayed and would recommend anyone to give it a try. The breakfast was self service and absolutely superb, eat as much as you like and all really good food. Great location for the pubs just a short walk away and of course all the Ambleside shops which are worth a visit. Great stay.

Room Tip: We've had the basement and an upstairs room, both very very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Wow, return trade from Australia that is fantastic we are delighted that you have enjoyed your return visit, hopefully we will see you again when you are in these parts!!

Thanyou Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

On arrival greeted by friendly helpful staff. Room was a good size and very clean, with a newly refurbished bathroom. Breakfast was good with hot and cold selection available in a buffet style so no waiting around, and plenty of space in dining area. They also offer some nice little touches like a meal in your room, bootle of wine and DVD if you don't feel like going out. There is car parking but it is tight and fills up quickly. Free wifi is also available. Good location on the edge of town with a number of restaurants and pubs within easy walking distance. Couple of issues however, staying at the front with single glazed windows can be a bit noisy, and the shower hardly had any power, more of a trickle really. Despite this well worth staying at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, the feedback is really important to help maintain our high standards, thank you.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights, on arrival welcomed by an extremely polite member of staff. Room was spacious and very clean with four poster bed. Hotel is perfect location to walk into town and a lovely stroll to Waterhead. Breakfast was plentiful and tasry. Nothing too much trouble for staff. Highly recommend this well run b&b.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for this excellent review will pass on your kind comments to the team and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back some time.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patiliverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Booked this last minute for one night paid £42.50 each which is average for the lakes. I have stayed in several B & B in the area but I am so pleased I stayed here. Much higher quality than your normal B & B. Lovely clean room with good quality towels and nice liquid soap and shower gel. Tea coffee hot choc and biscuits in room. Room meals are even available for a charge. Staff really helpful. Provides everything you need in a central position in Ambleside. Better than some hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are delighted to hear that your were not disappointed with your last minute choice enjoying all Lakes Lodge has to offer, including all the extras!

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again sometime.

Regards Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have just returned from staying at Lakes Lodge, it was a great place to stay, very central for Ambleside and a 10 min walk to Watershead. The hotel room was fab but got a bit noisy when preparing for breakfast (room 11). The staff who I met were great, nothing too much trouble and happy to help. Breakfast had plenty of choice hot or cold and it help set you up for the day. I would happily recommend this place to all my friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are definitely less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review telling us about your 2 night break with us at Lakes Lodge the feedback is so important and we pass on your kind comments to all the team.

Regards Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break. We stayed in the Ruskin room. Everywhere was lovely and clean, the room had everything we needed and was very spacious. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice both hot and cold and plenty of it. All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful , nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly be staying again. Thanks to all concerned for a great few days

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter as the road is quite busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
It's great when you get a review like this telling us what a great time you've had, thankyou.

We will pass on your kind comments to all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Ambleside.

Regards

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakes Lodge

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakes Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakes Lodge offers modern facilities usually found only in larger hotels but in a relaxed atmosphere, the best of both worlds! Unlike many smaller hotels the hotel is licensed and offer a wine and beer room service throughout the day. Ice and ice buckets are installed for your convenience and for you to help yourself to. The town house is just 200 metres away from the shops and other local amenities within the heart of Ambleside.All rooms are furnished to a very high standard and in addition to all modern facilities the hotel has installed DVD players in all rooms. A selection of films are available from reception. Family rooms consist of a double and a single bed.Start your day in the cafe-style buffet breakfast room where you can help yourself to continental and full english breakfast. This comprises of cereals, fruit, bread and fruit juice to name just a few items available. Throughout the day the coffee machine is on for you to help yourself to when returning from a day on the lake or walking in the fells.Lakes Lodge is situated only two minutes away from the centre of Ambleside with its shops, bars and restaurants, and a ten minute walk to Lake Windermere and the boating jetties.Just a short walk takes you to Waterhead Bay and the Lake Steamers which take you to Bowness and Lakeside with a chance to explore in greater detail. Ambleside is a perfect starting point for mountain biking, walking or just a complete break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lakes Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakes Hotel Ambleside
Lakes Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakes Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.