We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally fine.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Gables Guest House to your Saves list
The Gables Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 109 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Totally fine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice place, rooms fresh and clean, breakfast cooked to order, a little lounge area. Not much parking. Friendly in-house dog. Totally fine. The stairs a bit steep but not too bad, the room standard size. Nothing over the top but nothing that puts you off either.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesGH, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your short break with your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    46
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
75
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Whilst on holiday with our family we stayed at The Gables for a couple of nights and were very pleased by our choice. The room was large, modern and recently decorated, no fussiness here and absolutely spotless. Wifi was available in the public areas and FREE. Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice and the service was always with a smile. Not quite sure where the previous reviewer was staying as it doesn't sound anything like where we were!! Will definitely return and can recommend Sheila's Cottage Restaurant as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesGH, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments following your stay here with your family and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Lake District next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night following a return trip from Scotland and decided on a stop off in the Lakes.
So Good:
- great location. Ambleside is beautiful if not a tad busy this time of year, great fish n' chips too!
- was worried about parking given the reviews on TA but all ok
- slept well
- the doggie Megan is the friendliest member of staff there

No good (and apologies this list is longer than the 'so good' but I have to be fair)
- not very welcoming. The lady who handled our check in, immediately asked what type of room we had booked as it was a double. Two guys travelling together to the Lake District, we can't be the first! I have checked in the mirror on returning home and no I definitely don't have two heads! There was no friendliness, just rules about sitting for breakfast and how to lock the door.
- trek upto the top floor to a very small, dated room.
- here's the problem, the room smelled. So bad in fact we had to buy air freshner at the local Tesco.
- tiny bathroom with a feeble shower and a mirror designed for someone no taller than 4 foot tall.
Some may call this charm.
- breakfast was a more friendly-ish affair with a young lady who was doing her best. Why we got half a black pudding was anyone's guess! Must be those two heads we're endowed with!
- wi-fi is non existent in the room we had
- check out by the same lady who checked us in. Still no warmth from the previous day! How about, 'did you sleep well and enjoy your stay?' or 'what have you got planned today, is there any advice or tips I can give you for the local area?'

I can't comment on other places in the Lakes but it is generally very touristy. Keep going to Scotland where we and you will enjoy 5* hospitality.

Sorry but hard to recommend especially at these prices. A nicer approach and de-toxifying of whatever had passed in our room would help!


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesGH, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I am so sorry that you found it necessary to submit a review of this nature. Some very minor points were obviously exaberated by the fact that your room requirements were queried at check in due to there having been problems in the past and guests making mistakes at the time of their booking. Your reaction to this has obviously tarnished your view of your stay and just to cover a couple of your comments: our rooms are certainly not dated as pictures on our website will confirm and I wouldn't class two flights of stairs as a trek unless you were disabled. Our bathrooms are perfectly adequate with a brand new pressurised water system which has stabilised the water pressure throughout the building. We found that due to the large selection of breakfast items on our menu that most guests were leaving the black pudding so decided to reduce the portion size however you would only have had to ask one of the girls during breakfast for more. The young waitresses, who I have spoken to following your review, were quite astonished at your comments seeing that they had quite a rapport with you and your partner during breakfast. In all our publicity material, we clearly state that we are "gay friendly" and take great offense at your discriminatory comments and interpretations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Perfect location, lovely room with excellent facilities - everything that you need!

Warm welcome and secure storage for our bikes.

Breakfast was first rate

Ate at Sheila's cottage , the best meal we have had for a long time. The tuna steak is well recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesGH, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and hopefully you'll visit us again on your next cycling trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lovely small hotel right in the middle of ambleside, warm welcome, nice rooms ours had views over the fells, car parking, and a super breakfast!! this is a great place to stay when in the lakes, near to all the great bars and shops , love it!! we all be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesGH, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I wanted to treat my girlfriend to a nights stay in the Lakes, preferably Ambleside and spent a lot of time on various hotel websites, reading reviews and so on. Then I came across The Gables...in Ambleside! After seeing the very competitive price and the photos of the room, there was only one option....book it! I'm so glad I did!

When we arrived (after parking in the hotel car park) we were greeted very warmly by the hotelier, Sharyn I believe. She gave us a mini tour of the extremely well decorated hotel and then showed us to our room (the four poster bed room). It was just as it looked on the website, actually I would say it was better! The space was incredible, the decor very well thought out with no expense spared and extremely clean. There were tea and coffee making facilities (with extra available downstairs near reception), a flatscreen tv (with remote) and the shower gel and shampoo provided were swish.

Breakfast is a bit early (8.30am - 9.15am), or at least it felt it to us but I guess its for the best because who would want to spend all their time in bed when visiting somewhere as delightful as the Lakes?! At breakfast there was everything you could wish for - from yoghurts, fruit, cereal, juices, toast, preserves and then the full English! This was a quality and very filling breakfast! Anyone who puts black pudding on a breakfast can't go wrong in my eyes!

I would say this hotel has everything to offer without showing off about it. Its modestly beautiful and I would encourage anyone to stay there.

I hope this review helped - I don't write many (if any) but felt this hotel deserved one!

Matt Keating

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesGH, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review of The Gables - it does really does make all the hard work worthwhile and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A last minute decision to take a long weekend break had us struggling to get accommodation but we managed to book a room here on the internet. On the edge of the village in a quiet side street we had a lovely room on the top floor with views of the church and over the bowling green with an ensuite shower. The room was ideal with a very comfortable bed television and tea making facilities and clean towels were provided daily. Everything was spotlessly clean throughout the property.The staff were helpful and welcoming from the moment we arrived and an excellent breakfast had us well set up for a day out walking. No shortage of hot water at the end of the day. Shops and restaurants are within walking distance so we could leave the car in the car park at the guest house. The owners restaurant Sheila's Cottage did not disappoint where the waiting staff were friendly and attentive and the food was excellent. We would thoroughly recommend the guest house and look forward to a future visit. Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesGH, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend here at The Gables and will pass on your kind comments to our team here at the guesthouse and also at Sheila's Cottage. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ambleside again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Guest House

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Guest House Hotel Ambleside
The Gables Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.