We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Lakes Break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Fisherbeck to your Saves list
The Fisherbeck
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct For Best Deal
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Happy Lakes Break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Firstly,we could not decide if the place was a B&B guesthouse or hotel??

However, we have just returned from a 3 day break at the Fisherbeck, generally the place is very pleasant, well presented and in a good location (just 5 mins from town) - on site parking is also a big plus for it as car park charges around the Lake district take some believing.
Our room was very clean & comfortable -maybe a tad small but perfectly ok for the two of us - the room had no bath but the shower was fantastic, tea & coffee facility was also provided within the room.

The only reason we are not bringing our rating up from average to v.good is down to what we felt was the over the top pampering around breakfast time by the waiting on staff - the staff outnumbered the guests at certain times and the fact that breakfast was served for 1 hour (8.30 - 9.30). Also, as soon as you put your cutlery down the staff were at your table requesting if you had finished - should you really be rushed at breakfast in this day and age?? Breakfast was good quality and the choice varied and appealing, however your breakfast is served to you following your choice from the menu, we just found this a little like going back in time - maybe we are used to having buffet style breakfast's on previous mini -breaks.

Is this down to trying to be a hotel?? Or a 5 star guesthouse??

Overall though it's clean, comfortable and well sited we would recommend this hotel to other's and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room for a bath - you cant beat a good soak after a long day's walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Pauldawn08,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We always take note of our visitors comments and try to action what we can if we think it will improve customer satisfaction.

We have tried before to serve a buffet style breakfast but having a dining room on 3 levels with a narrow set of stairs makes this almost impossible to achieve safely without spillage, breakage, excessive wastage and trying to keep food at its optimum freshness and quality. I think too you were with us on a couple of quiet days with over-zealous waiting staff...which we have addressed...unlike this week serving 25 to 35 quests each morning.

With thanks again.

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    77
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
44
236
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Fisherbeck is a pleasant mix between a B&B and a hotel. You are treated by the owners as guests in their home with wonderful breakfasts typical of a B&B however you have all the privacy of a hotel. The rooms are of a high standard and we had two renovated rooms this time, they were so clean and comfortable last time (last October) that I thought they had already been renovated. Our son had the single room and was enchanted with the design and enjoyed his privacy. The dinner recommendations in Ambleside were spot on and it is very pleasant to be able to return back and have an evening drink. We are very disappointed to be returning back to Australia and not be able to experience the hospitality and friendliness of the Fisherbeck again for some time.

Room Tip: No swimming pool to rate. Rooms at the back were very quiet, we enjoyed a spa in our room, single r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Just as I was out this morning I saw a bumper sticker which read "Adventure Before Dementia" which spurred me on to write a response to your very gracious review. How right you are. We need to get out there and do all those things we have talked about before it's too late.

We do hope very much that you had a safe and pleasant journey back to Australia and we were so glad that you could make it back to The Fisherbeck before you left.

We are very appreciative that you took the time to make your comments and we hope that standards will be just as high when you do get to come back sometime in the future.

With kind regards

Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We had a ground floor room overlooking the front garden, which was large, comfortable and modern. The great bathroom had both a perfect bath for soaking weary limbs and also a great shower.
Staff were very helpful when my son tried to take his room key home by mistake.
Slick service at busy breakfast time.

Room Tip: Front garden facing room was large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Alison S,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. It is always greatly appreciated.

Thank you also for returning the room key to us so promptly. I think your son had far more important things on his mind and trust he enjoyed his cycling trip around the lakes. This really is such a great place for this and for so many other outdoor activities.

We trust you had an enjoyable onward journey and hope you will think of us again should you be returning to the Lake District National Park in the future.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The Fisherbeck just served up another excellent 4 night stay for us. High standard of room and the breakfast menu and service is better than ever.

Despite being veterans of both this location and the hotel, we still found 3 new walks from the front gate, avoiding driving. Only used the car to get into Langdale on one day.

Back in September!

Room Tip: they are all good (I'm not saying which is the best in case I can't get near it again!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Normanstanley,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. It is very much appreciated.

It is very gratifying when our regular guests post their comments...it would be so easy not to.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your room. Our ongoing annual refurbishments continue and I do think our guests appreciate the fact that there is something new almost every year.

How great to hear that you didn't have to move the car. I do think we are so well situated being just about half way between the lake in one direction and the majority of the shops & restaurants in the other that we are very well situated. And, as you said there are a multitude of walks right from the front door.

Thank you again and we certainly hope we will be able to welcome you back very soon.

Until then we all send our kind regards

Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay and have to say what a wonderful place it is. The welcome we received when we arrived after a very long drive was lovely and our room was superb. We found both Raymond and Gillian Lane to be very accomodating and answered any questions we had about where to eat or places to go. As everyone else has said the breakfasts were some of the best we have had and we couldn't have asked for more. All the staff are very friendly and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the Lake District in general.

Ambleside is such a great place to base your trip being just about the geographical centre of the lakes making it easy to get to other places within the national park during the day and with plenty of bars, restaurants and activities for the evenings.

Thanks also for your kind comments about breakfast. We take the idea that it's the most important meal of the day....particularly when someone else does the cooking, and the washing up!!!!!

And we have also passed on your comments to all our staff who are greatly encouraged.

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck some time in the future and we will keep you posted about special offers.

Kind regards

Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Old fashioned can be a phrase that evokes fustiness and tired ideas but the Fisherbeck is anything but that. What is old fashioned is the professional way the B&B is run by Raymond and Gillian Lane. They have high standards, sadly lacking in many other establishments these days, and it shows in the comfort and service outlined in many complimentary reviews on here.

We are just back from a most relaxing four days spent in the Fisherback, using as a base for exploring the Lakes. The Lanes and their staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. I won't mention the facilities as they are well described elsewhere but the ambience of the Fisherbeck is what draws us back time after time. Warmth and personality is what is offered and that can't be bought.

We'll be back and can't wait.

Room Tip: The House is a typical old Lakeland building without a lift so if walking upstairs is a problem ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Kandersteg,

How very kind of you to take the time to write your review. It was, as always, a pleasure to see you both again and catch up on news from the previous months....great photos by the way.

Raymond & I trust you had a safe & pleasant journey home from The Fisherbeck and that your few days away were relaxing & refreshing.

We look forward to the next time.

Best to you both

Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We recently had a 2 night stay at the Fisherbeck and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay, from checking in (we were able to check in early because our room hadn't been used the night before)to checking out all the staff were very friendly and helpful.The breakfast was one of the best weve had at a hotel for a long time.It's only a 5 minute walk into town or to the lake so the Fisherbeck is ideally situated.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Jon 1999,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review and we are very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

I do think that our location is ideal, being just about half way between the lake and the shops, and with lovely views of the surrounding fells to the front.

As I cook breakfast every morning, with either husband Raymond or our manager Rachel, we really do appreciate your views. Rachel is the one responsible for putting on our rather interesting array of specials and trust you might have had the opportunity to try one or two.

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck when next planning a visit to the Lake District.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fisherbeck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.