We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous! Will definitely be going again. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brathay Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Brathay Hall to your Saves list
Brathay Hall
Brathay, Ambleside LA22 0HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous! Will definitely be going again. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My partner and I booked this accommodation as a last minute stay in the lakes and it was worth every single penny. We stayed in one of the wooden lodges at the book of the hall and not in the actual building itself. Our room was brand new, modern, spotlessly clean and beautiful to look at with a huge comfy bed complete with feather duvet. We had the most beautiful views of the mountains and it really was idyllic to wake up to. We didn't eat the breakfast because my partner was feeling a little under the weather but we did take a look at the eating area and it was really clean and everything looked good. The ONLY negative things I would say are the other rooms/accommodation.... I would only stay here in the lodges and NOT in the other more dated rooms. They didn't look great but I am very fussy and they are probably absolutely fine if you don't mind staying in a very basic, no frills room for a night. Take my advice and pay the extra money for the superior room, you will not be disappointed.

It is a short walk into Ambleside which we decided to do in the evening, it wasn't very testing but take a torch! Pitch black and scary without a light.

I really hope you stay in Brathay Hall because it was beautiful and well worth the money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed for three days as a pre Christmas break in one of the Scandinavian lodges. It was superb, beautifully finished and toasty warm. The views encompass Ambleside nestling in the valley and wondrous antics of sheep! The dining room overlooks the head of Lake Windermere and we enjoyed great cooked breakfasts. Couldn't rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Six of us foreigners touring UK had trouble booking a hotel in the lake district mid season. This was taking a chance, but chances sometimes pay off, and Brathay Hall did so enormously.
Mostly a training school of a kind, Brathay Hall has some separate rooms for hire. They are a little institutional in character and equipment, but comfortable, extremely clean and everything works. The canteen style breakfast was very good and truly set us up for the day. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially the boat keeper, the housekeeper who cleaned our room, the receptionist and the breakfast cook.

But now for the real thing. The setting on the lakeside at Ambleside is spectacular. The grounds are spacious and we wished we had more time to explore them properly. The boathouse is an experience especially if you meet the guy who takes care of the boats who was helpful, informative and entertaining, it really seemed he was glad to see us to tell us about the boats and the history of Brathay. The promontory next to the boathouse is worth visiting as it give some magnificent views and interesting fauna. The views of the lake from the house are truly exceptional with nothing to spoil the view. Most of all, try to rise early and see the mist over the lake, the sheep just waking up and the rabbits scampering about, Idyllic. On any other trip to the lakes, Brathay Hall would be my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

10 of us stayed at Brathay Hall in their dorm room and had a great time. The room was clean, large and came with plenty of cupboard space and places to put our gear. The breakfast included was excellent - nice and hot cooked breakfast to start the day. There is also a nice lounge area if you want to hang out outside of your room. Its a nice short walk from Ambleside village with plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby. The staff are really friendly and its great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A great budget priced option in the Lakes - we stayed in the grand hall building and wish we'd had more time to explore the grounds. The self-service breakfast was excellent and service was friendly. We did have slight difficulty locating it as the sign on the road outside is rather discreet, but would definitely go again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here over the August Bank Holiday for one night ,having booked at the last minute. The welcome was very friendly. My room was a single in a building like a chalet that had been converted into 8 rooms . The room was small but clean, with a good shower in the en-suite. There was a small TV that I couldn't get to work (and no operating intructions that I could find). There was not much space but there again there was enough for my needs , which was, basically,somewhere comfy to sleep overnight. Breakfast was great and buffet style. The Dining Room looked like a school dining room. There is free Wifi which worked well.
Overall, given that if you come to the Lakes , you're not spending that much time indoors in your hotel room anyway, this did the job for me and I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A group of us stayed here during Easter and had a wonderful time. A few of us had the superior rooms and some of us were in the standard single rooms.

If you go for the Standard rooms ask for a room facing the lake - beautiful views.

The breakfast was great and there is also a lovely lounge/bar area. Brathay Hall is a short walk from Ambleside, but we welcomed the walk after our heavy evening meals!

I went for early morning walks, past the fields, to the lake and to the boat house. There are great views and a superb spot to have the serenity all to yourself for a short while!

I can highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake with wonderful views (Front of building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brathay Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brathay Hall

Address: Brathay, Ambleside LA22 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brathay Hall is the residential training centre of Brathay Trust, the national charity that inspires young people to become successful, confident and responsible citizens. Set in 360 acres of mature woodland and rolling pastures, at the head of Windermere, the imposing Georgian country house offers B&B accommodation suitable for all the family. The Hall is set in its own grounds on the north shore of Windermere, with beautiful views of the lake. The site offers a variety of accommodation, with something to suit all pockets from single en-suite through to luxury lodges with King size beds, seating area and good sized bathrooms. All rooms are en-suite, with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities. The Loughrigg rooms are all single en-suite and are detached from the main building, with their own parking area; Helvellyn rooms are en-suite, and can be either singles or twinned, and are situated in the main Hall; the Scafell rooms are our latest addition and take the form of luxury lodges, again detached from the main building; all are en-suite; and feature picture windows with stunning views of the Cumbrian hills. Breakfast is served from 8am – 9am in our dining room, where you can gaze out across the grounds at the beautiful lake and hills, truly an inspiring start to the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Brathay Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brathay Hall Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brathay Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.