We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for large groups” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brathay Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Brathay Hall to your Saves list
Brathay Hall
Brathay, Ambleside LA22 0HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for large groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

10 of us stayed at Brathay Hall in their dorm room and had a great time. The room was clean, large and came with plenty of cupboard space and places to put our gear. The breakfast included was excellent - nice and hot cooked breakfast to start the day. There is also a nice lounge area if you want to hang out outside of your room. Its a nice short walk from Ambleside village with plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby. The staff are really friendly and its great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A great budget priced option in the Lakes - we stayed in the grand hall building and wish we'd had more time to explore the grounds. The self-service breakfast was excellent and service was friendly. We did have slight difficulty locating it as the sign on the road outside is rather discreet, but would definitely go again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here over the August Bank Holiday for one night ,having booked at the last minute. The welcome was very friendly. My room was a single in a building like a chalet that had been converted into 8 rooms . The room was small but clean, with a good shower in the en-suite. There was a small TV that I couldn't get to work (and no operating intructions that I could find). There was not much space but there again there was enough for my needs , which was, basically,somewhere comfy to sleep overnight. Breakfast was great and buffet style. The Dining Room looked like a school dining room. There is free Wifi which worked well.
Overall, given that if you come to the Lakes , you're not spending that much time indoors in your hotel room anyway, this did the job for me and I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A group of us stayed here during Easter and had a wonderful time. A few of us had the superior rooms and some of us were in the standard single rooms.

If you go for the Standard rooms ask for a room facing the lake - beautiful views.

The breakfast was great and there is also a lovely lounge/bar area. Brathay Hall is a short walk from Ambleside, but we welcomed the walk after our heavy evening meals!

I went for early morning walks, past the fields, to the lake and to the boat house. There are great views and a superb spot to have the serenity all to yourself for a short while!

I can highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake with wonderful views (Front of building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Needed somewhere to stay cheaply for the Coniston marathon for a 7am start on July 7th, all of Coniston booked, and happened across Brathay hall, and I'm really glad I did. Cannot fault it for the price, £35 a night for per person. The location and views amazing our room looked out over Windermere in the main building, and the lovely Lakeland scenery, and this was certainly helped by the most amazing weather I've known in the Lakes. Yes the rooms are dated, but if you only need a bed who cares? Only had breakfast one day, and it was perfectly acceptable, and all the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. Easy walk to Ambleside(in the sun anyway), and we especially appreciated the peace and quiet before the big race- I feel certain I will return when I'm running again in the Lakes, as staying over at these prices beats the immediate drive home.

Room Tip: main building Helvellyn- great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We did not really know what to expect at Brathay Hall. We were staying in the Lakes for a couple of nights for a short break and had struggled to find somewhere at a sensible price over the Bank Holiday weekend. What we found was a great surprise. We had a room in one of the lodges in the grounds of the Hall. The room was huge, with lots of space for our travel cot. It had tea & coffee facilities, flat screen television, a modern bathroom and an amazing view out of a vast window. The Hall and lodges are set in extensive grounds, so it is an incredibly peaceful spot, but it was very convenient for Ambleside and for Hawkshead; a good place to visit for Beatrix Potter fans. Breakfast was good and whilst the dining room is a little basic, given that the Hall is basically an outward bounds centre, the food itself was very tasty and there was plenty of it at the self-service breakfast buffet. We did not see much of the staff, but everybody we did come across was helpful and polite and, despite the weather being a little less than sunny, we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the lodges in the grounds of the hall are huge, quiet and some have fantastic views; so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Booked a double room for a rare child-free evening out with a meal and a film at Fellinis (which was just superb btw). The location really is stunning, the main house itself is very grand, the grounds are literally on the banks of Windermere and are snaked with beautiful walks and wooded areas. The only downside to mention about the location is that you're a bit outside of Ambleside here, absolutely walkable heading into town shopping during the day, not so much if you're dressed up for a night out. We phoned every taxi in the book and could not for love nor money get a taxi to take us into town on the Friday evening so I ended up having to drive - something to be aware of on a weekend.

Our double room was in one of the 'Wansfell' lodges which are located behind the main building. With the benefit of hindsight I should have booked a 'Superior' room as the Wansfell lodge, whilst clean, did very much have the feel of a portacabin/scout hut about it and felt tired. One of the room's windows looked directly out onto the lodge entrance and this was the source of quite a lot of noise as other guests returned later in the evening and the spring-loaded doors slammed shut.

Breakfast was nice, with cooked buffet or cereal options. The breakfast area is a canteen style setup rather than a dining room.

It sadly wasn't really for me, it was reasonably priced and clean but overall a little disappointing. That being said, for young travellers and those that just want a clean room and a roof over their head while they explore the wonderful local area you really can't go far wrong and the beautiful setting does make up for a lot.

Room Tip: Couples and families, go for the Superior Lodges if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brathay Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brathay Hall

Address: Brathay, Ambleside LA22 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brathay Hall is the residential training centre of Brathay Trust, the national charity that inspires young people to become successful, confident and responsible citizens. Set in 360 acres of mature woodland and rolling pastures, at the head of Windermere, the imposing Georgian country house offers B&B accommodation suitable for all the family. The Hall is set in its own grounds on the north shore of Windermere, with beautiful views of the lake. The site offers a variety of accommodation, with something to suit all pockets from single en-suite through to luxury lodges with King size beds, seating area and good sized bathrooms. All rooms are en-suite, with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities. The Loughrigg rooms are all single en-suite and are detached from the main building, with their own parking area; Helvellyn rooms are en-suite, and can be either singles or twinned, and are situated in the main Hall; the Scafell rooms are our latest addition and take the form of luxury lodges, again detached from the main building; all are en-suite; and feature picture windows with stunning views of the Cumbrian hills. Breakfast is served from 8am – 9am in our dining room, where you can gaze out across the grounds at the beautiful lake and hills, truly an inspiring start to the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Brathay Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brathay Hall Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brathay Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.