We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking not Honoured by Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Smallwood House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Smallwood House Hotel to your Saves list
Smallwood House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Booking not Honoured by Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

booked via laterooms got confirmation via e mail hotel phoned at 9pm and advised that they had taken a booking via an alternative system (telephone perhaps) and my booking could not be hionoured. appolgetic but I has reserved train journy to the value of £120 on the basis of this booking and now trying to get alternative 1 day before bank holiday. Be very careful of this combination Smallwood and Laterooms!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
This was a most unfortunate incident and just reiterates what I do tell guests, that the best way to make a booking is to telephone direct, this is the best way to be assured of the BEST price as by using a third party i.e. laterooms the price includes commission, but also it is the best way to ensure availability up to the minute. We can only keep apologizing but we were able to let you know as soon as we knew what had happened and were able to give you notice on the same day you made the booking, giving you 2 days notice. Incidentally, the weekend was not a bank holiday. We can only presume that you did find accommodation - as there is only good accommodation to be found in the Lake District and we sincerely hope you enjoyed your well deserved weekend break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    20
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
24
48
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just had a fabulous time at this little gem of a place! Faultless in every way.. Highlights included the attention to every possible detail, the gorgeous skin care products, best brekkie ever, effortlessly friendly owners and staff and the amazing free-to-use spa facilities 2 mins away! Our only reservation is that if we spread the word too effectively we may find it constantly fully booked - hence the title of this review!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we enjoyed having you staying with us and hope to see you again soon. we are so pleased that you enjoyed the use of the spa and the toiletries for use in the bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from a 3 night stay at Smallwood and I can't complain. We had the small attic room which was cozy and clean I wouldn't reccomend that room to anyone over about 5'6" as it has low ceilings but we were warned before we booked and both of us only being 5'5" we were fine. The breakfast was excellent and I can see why they have won an award, the food is all proper butchers meat no cheap cash and carry rubbish. The owner was very friendly and went out of her way to make sure we were happy, our toilet cistern broke so we reported it and was given use of the bathroom in the empty room next door but it was fixed before we got back from our day out. The shower takes a while to get hot but it's powerful and such a relief when you get back from a long days walk. The car park is like playing tetris but again we were warned before we booked and we didn't want our car on a walking holiday anyway. If you don't want to move the car the owners will move it for you so it's not a problem. The lady that serves breakfast was really nice too, she was very efficient and if you wanted to mix up the menu she was happy to swap things round just let them know if you don't like anything so the food isn't wasted. Overall a fantastic holiday in a very cozy stone house and I would definitely reccomend it to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. The room you had is as you mention not best for anyone too tall, BUT is loved by many, who ONLY want to stay in that room. It just has such a nice feel to it, it almost seems to welcome you in.
It is nice to know that you felt welcomed as we do our best to put all our guests at ease, there is no great formality here, just courtesy for everyone.
We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A classic B&B.
The bed was VERY comfortable, and the room was nicely decorated. Sadly, the ceiling of our en suite bathroom was so low that you couldn't stand up in the the shower! (see photo) Luckily we were only staying for one night (and had limited time) so didn't need to cause a fuss and got on with it - but if you were staying any longer i'd ask what your bathroom would be like beforehand.
There is a small car park which is free for guests - great. You have to block cars in / be blocked in yourself though - keys can be left with the B&B in case of any problems - but I don't like other people driving my car personally. (Plus my insurance wouldn't cover any other drivers anyway.)
We got out fine but less confident drivers may struggle - staff happy to move cars for you.
Breakfast was lovely - all options you would expect and nice service too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hmmm it would be fantastic if we could raise the roof and stretch the car park to make everything perfect, but sadly we cannot do that and so make the very best we can with what we have. Obviously the shower is not designed to stand under, it is to use while seated in the bath to rinse with and wash your hair. However, it is good that you told us this as it explains why there was water coming down to the room below you.
We hardly ever need to move a car in the car park and only move it sufficiently to allow another car to exit, we are happy to do this for our guests as it enables them all to have off road parking and not worry about being able to go out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed August 2012: Bed comfortable, room warm, good shower although toiletries in large bottles looked okay found that hair didn't feel clean after washing although was shiny. Breakfast plenty to start the day, car parking a bit tight at rear of hotel but at least there is parking in such a busy place as Ambleside

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we will pass on your thoughts regarding the Pure Lakes toiletries. They are different as they do not use the usual soaps and chemicals to produce the lather.
Please you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spent a very enjoyable weekend at Smallwood House in Ambleside. The guest house is spacious and comfortable. Christine and Anthony are friendly and informative hosts, which came in very useful when bad weather diverted us from our planned walking route and we had to find a Plan B. Breakfast was memorable, freshly cooked and carefully selected ingredients - I have to give a shout out here for the black pudding, which comes from a local butcher. Restaurant recommendations were god too.
This weekend was a get-together with friends, and the twin rooms worked well. I am now totally intrigued by the Cuckoos Nest self-catering apartment, which looks the ultimate in quirk - check it out on the web-site!
Will definitely make this my home away from home in Ambleside!

Room Tip: Bathroom space in the upper rooms is a little restricted. Try to go for a room lower down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you staying with us. We do enjoy having little groups staying they are always relaxed and ready to make the most of their time away. What a relief our suggestions worked for you as well. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went for a family celebration weekend and it couldn't have been better. Lovely accommodation, well equipped rooms, spotlessly clean, great breakfasts to suit all tastes - what more can you ask! The owners and staff were helpful and knowledgeable about the town and the area generally - Ambleside is a great place to be based with lots of cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It was a pleasure to have your family staying with us. Pleased we could help you enjoy your birthday celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smallwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smallwood House Hotel

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smallwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smallwood House Hotel is a family run bed & breakfast, offering quality 4 star accommodation and award winning Cumbrian breakfasts in Ambleside in the heart of the English Lake District.Being slightly larger than your average Cumbrian B&B, our guest house provides the perfect place to enjoy short breaks or longer holidays in one of our 12 comfortable, individually furnished bedrooms.Our relaxed and friendly B&B team will help you make the most of your stay, whether you are seeking a romantic getaway, family holiday, activity break or group vacation.Ambleside is the perfect choice for exploring the Lake District and Cumbria. Leave the car behind and take a bus trip to some of our lovely nearby towns and villages, such as Grasmere, Hawkshead & Keswick. If the weather is less than kind during your visit, there are plenty of indoor visitor attractions nearby, including the homes of famous Lakeland literary figures like William Wordsworth or Beatrix Potter. From the pier at Waterhead in Ambleside you can take a boat trip or cruise on Windermere to Bowness or Lakeside at the opposite end of the Lake. Windermere Lake Cruises sail all year and their boats offer you lots of protection from the elements. Remember, our B&B guests also have use of the luxury spa and swimming pool at a hotel just a few minutes walk away - a great way to relax during your break. We are in the centre of Ambleside, a bustling and vibrant small market town offering a good selection of specialist shops and great quality restaurants, bars and cafes. The town is great for shopping, with lots of independent shops that are a bit different to the norm, and some recognised brand names you'll know and love. Smallwood House Hotel has a private car park and offers complimentary WiFi access for our B&B guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Smallwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smallwood House Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smallwood House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.