We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wynford Guest House

Wynford Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wynford Guest House to your Saves list
Wynford Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Nook Lane, Ambleside LA22 9BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice house, felt homely and more modern than pics suggest.

We enjoed the stay, the breakfast was good and hosts were helpful.

would reccomenned to walkers and people who dont mind a walk up a hill after the pub!

good location, good room, nice people running the place who told us some useful advice.

spot on

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for our stay. We realised that we possibly had booked the wrong room, i.e. a downstairs one not upstairs. However after contacting Sharon and Paul, it was rectified and we had the comfort of room 1 for two nights. When asking if my daughter and family could come and visit us there for an hour to open belated Christmas presents, no problem, even offered the breakfast room for us!
As an ex hotelier in the area and only my 2nd visit back to stay all I can say is full marks to Sharon and Paul, we will return, fab place in a wonderful part of the Lakes. The narrow lane up to it makes it all worthwhile.

Room Tip: Go for Room1, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just back from a second stay at the Wynford, Sharon & Paul are wonderful hosts and the guest house is clean, cosy and very peaceful. Nothing is too much trouble for them and the use of the utility room to try wet walking gear is a real bonus. On site parking is a real bonus as parking within Ambleside is a bit of a problem. Will definately be returning for third visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A lovely place in a lovely part of the world. Very nice couple run a 3 guest room house. A bit tricky to find up a narrow lane but worth the effort. 10 minutes walk to township. A good breakfast and friendly welcome.

Room Tip: all good rooms with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everything was clean and fresh, breakfast was very good, plenty of selection. This guest house only has three rooms so it makes it that bit more special and as it is in a very quiet location it was delightful to have peace and quiet. The welcome from Sharon and Paul couldnt be better, we were offered a drink of our choice (tea or coffee) which we had on the patio area (it wasnt raining for once in the UK) and then stayed out there for a few hours more as it was so nice. Well worth going to and will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just come back from a one night stay which we really enjoyed. We have never experienced a wonderful welcoming reception as we did here. When you get there you are greeted as soon as you get out the car. There are three rooms, we had one of the two rooms upstairs, the view from there was amazing. The room was clean, the bed was very comfy and had a gorgeous smell of lovely clean sheets. You were offered tea and coffee to sit out on the decking which was a nice touch.

The guesthouse was up a quiet country lane and in easy walking distance into Ambleside. Perfect location to visit the pubs and shops. We would highly recommend staying here, if we were to visit Ambleside again we would not stay anywhere else.

Thanks Paul and Sharon for a memorable stay for our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, U.K.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just back from a two night stay at the Wynford. Excellent location, house was clean and comfortable. Sharon and paul great hosts, and their little grand-daughter was the entertainment for Breakfast time. Will definately be back, in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wynford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynford Guest House

Address: Nook Lane, Ambleside LA22 9BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wynford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynford Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wynford Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.