We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHORT BREAK AT OLD VICARAGE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vicarage
Save
You added The Old Vicarage to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Vicarage Road, Ambleside LA22 9DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
NEWCASTLE
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SHORT BREAK AT OLD VICARAGE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really friendly nice owners a good place to stay in a good location next to park and shops. Very clean room, nice fresh bedding and decent coffee making facilities also fridge in room. Bathroom spacious and very clean with lovely jacuzzi bath. Swimming pool and jacuzzi also exceptionally clean and very relaxing.
Reception room downdstairs has small pool table and lots of games and videos dvd's etc.
Breakfast freshly cooked and good variety especially as I am an awkward veggie!!
Also the people who stayed were nice we got talking through having the dog but that does make a difference to a holiday.
Judy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    59
    8
    9
    9
See reviews for
57
137
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have to agree that The Old Vicarage is great!If you are looking for a comfortable,relaxed,unpretentious place to stay then you've found it!Just returned from a wonderful break in the heatwave!Ideal location 2/3 minutes from all the shops and restaurants of Ambleside and a friendly,relaxed atmosphere.It is ideal for families and has great facilities including own carpark,swimming pool ,sauna and hot-tub!IThe breakfasts were fab too!!!Perfect for discovering The Lakes.
A great b and b!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed at the vicarage for 5 nights after reading such good reviews. We were not disappointed with any part of our stay. Ideal location right in the centre of Ambleside close to all amenities. The owners and staff could not do enough to make our stay comfy and enjoyable. The dog loved the large park close by. Breakfast on the beautiful patio every morning in the sunshine who could ask for more. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi/ hot tub was to die for. I never usually give feed back on my stays away. However, on this occasion felt The Old Vicarage definitely deserved a mention. Thank you for making my time in Ambleside so pleasurable. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Visited the Old VIcarage again, just for one night, a quick getaway for my fiances birthday. We bring our dog, along with a foster dog that we are looking after. As always, our stay was lovely. They are welcoming and make your stay so pleasurable. Of course making full use of the pool, sauna and jacuzzi. Can't wait to make another trip up there again soon. Thanks Old Vicarage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely time at old vicarage but long enough the weather was poor but love been there lovely food the breakfast perfect cant wait to go back. Location very good and can get to most places not taking the car plenty of safe parking at the old vicarage roll on next time

Room Tip: All rooms are nice we like room 16 as it is down stairs and the little one was on crutches this time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in May and I really loved this place, it had everything I wanted from a B&B and more. How many B&B's have a swimming pool! The best bits for me were the breakfast, the comfy beds and the luxurious ensuite. I also picked this one as it had lots of parking and was right in the centre of Ambleside. If I go back to the area I will definitely be going back here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in April 2013. It was a last minute booking so were probably lucky to get in. Our room was upstairs along an extended corridor that went around a few corners and up and down - the fawlty towers experience. Having said that the room was great with a king size bed and large ensuite with a spa bath. One of the best rooms we stayed in. The breakfasts were excellent and the location is very central in Ambleside and yet still very quiet. Our only concern was the pet friendliness which we discovered on the second day. Although dog owners ouselves our dog doesn't sleep in our room which appears to be allowed at the old vicarage. There was no evidence (smell or otherwise) of dog in our room but we wondered if any of the rooms did or would smell of dog.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Vicarage Road, Ambleside LA22 9DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Vicarage 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Hotel Ambleside
Old Vicarage Ambleside
The Old Vicarage Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.