We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brantfell House

Save Saved
You added Brantfell House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brantfell House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rothay Road, Ambleside LA220EE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 82 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Manchester
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Faultless :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This B&B is first class, it is spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the breakfast is fantastic and the hosts can't do enough for you. I will definitely stay here again when I visit Ambleside. Great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    9
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
69
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great B and B in a central location of Ambleside. Fantastic hosts and a yummy breakfast! Room was a great size (double) with a double shower...little bit of luxury! Would definitely stay again..thanks for a wonderful stay
Celia and Andy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Have just returned from a really great stay in Ambleside and can only say that Brantfell House and the owners Chris and Jane made it even better!
Located ideally for access to Ambleside town by foot and also the surrounding Lakes by car (car parking was easy as I parked in one of the spaces behind the property), this is a fantastic place to base yourself and to have full confidence that you will be fully looked after in a great abode.
I stayed with some friends (we had rooms 3 & 6) and we all found the rooms very spacious, clean and decorated/finished to a very high standard. I would point out that I stay away in hotels 2-3 nights every week and found the standards and the welcome far exceeded most of the chain hotels that I stay in for business (shame I don't have to go to Ambleside for work!)
I cannot praise Chris and Jane enough and the list would go on and on, but friendly, warm, jolly, accommodating are good words that start to sum them up.
Breakfast, as mentioned by a few other people, is amazing. Quality is top notch and the quantity (if you want it) is certainly available. I think we won't need to eat for a while having enjoyed the breakfasts there for the last 2 mornings!
You've probably guessed by now that I would certainly recommend Brantfell House to anyone and will certainly stay there again when I visit Ambleside.
Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 3 and 6 and thought they were fantastic! They both face out onto the road (with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights, lovely friendly hosts, fantastic accommodation, if we return to the area we wont be tempted to try any other place this was more than we could have hoped for. As for the breakfasts, mmmm my eyes were bigger than my stomach each morning, delicious!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 3 nights over new year, from the lovely warm welcome on arrival and the wonderful cooked to order breakfasts nothing was a problem for Jane and Chris. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3nights over new year loved the warm welcome very friendly,couldnt do enough for you.room/bed was very comfatable .bathroom/shower exellant .breafast was amazing .didn't take our dog with us but wished we had,as they are very pet friendly many thanks for a lovely stay .mr & mrs j keen 01/01/2013

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We booked 3 nights at this B/B and from arrival felt really welcome by Jane and Chris, the owners. Our room was so comfortable, specially the bed, the best one we sleep in a long long time. The region is amazing and staying in Brantfell House was the best choice which could have happened. Very central to all town activities, lovely rooms and Bed, beautiful owners who make you really fell homy and amazing breakfast with so much choice. A real Gem in a unique setting. Highly recommended! Thank you Jane and Chris for your hospitality and for contributing to our incredible time in your amazing region. During our 2 weeks holidays, we stayed in 9 different Hotels or B/B and you are number 1 by far. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was excellent...haven't seen the other ones but if this one is availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brantfell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantfell House

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA220EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brantfell House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brantfell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brantfell House Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brantfell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.