We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely evening at Atelier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atelier - CLOSED

Atelier
Lancaster House, Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0BD, England
015394 31156
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $24 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another lovely evening at Atelier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Thank you to Atelier for another lovely evening. The food, as always, was delicious and the service, once again, was attentive without being intrusive. We felt like old friends and very much look forward to dining here again on our next visit to Ambleside. This restaurant really is a gem, be sure to book in advance.
We particularly recommend a Limoncello to end the evening! Thank you again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Your review WARMS THE COCKLES of atelier's heart!!
The compliments are greatly received. BUT, that you return each visit to Ambleside is the real feather in Chef's cap - a GIGANTIC thank you from Her.
Glad the Limoncello went down well - just perfect for rounding off the evening.
Again, MUCH obliged.
See you again in 2014.
Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    74
    17
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious food and lovely service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Scrumptious food - i had the fish with risotto but I also stole a bit of my boyfriend's duck and they were both superb!
It happened to be the restaurant's anniversary when we ate here, and it really added to the atmosphere - it's family run and they were very attentive and amiable.

Couldn't fault it and I would definitely recommend paying a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
What a WINTER WARMER!!!
The Writer would like to THANK YOU LOTS for taking the time to post a review after the event.
Delighted the food was SOOO enjoyable; the ambience friendly/inviting and the Staff attentive.
It was atelier's 2nd Birthday - happy you participated in the celebrations.
VERY grateful for the recommendation.
Hope to see you again.
Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food, good service and relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is for you if you like good food in simple, laid back, quirky surroundings with pleasant friendly staff - but the food is treated seriously. We were staying in a local hotel and the food at Atelier was so much better - as good as I've had anywhere for the price. Wine by the glass was also excellent - we would go to Ambleside again to eat here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
You are a SWEET PEA!!
Your review put a smile on everyone's face.
Chef is MUCH obliged for the compliments - She does take Her food very seriously!!
That you found the ambience to your liking is wonderful; the Staff thank you.
You live but a stone's throw away so hope to see you again??
Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwich
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Excellent meal, no significant complaints. My wife would give it 5 stars. I felt a little short on atmosphere and choice of menu, but perhaps I am being a bit critical. Quality of food and service first class and one cant really go wrong choosing this place to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
GOSH, you Men are hard to please - what Women have to endure!!!
Joking aside, atelier thanks you for the compliments - Chef is sincerely appreciative - pleased the food was tasty.
Menu-wise, bigger is not necessarily synonymous with better, and with 'Specials' Chef believes the fare on offer is extensive, freshly cooked and catering for most palates.
Please, do dine at atelier another time - maybe the elusive 5* will be earned??
Once again MUCH obliged.
Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Some of the best food in Ambleside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Without doubt this is one of Ambleside's outstanding restaurants. I enjoyed a mussels starter followed by a perfectly cooked piece of beef fillet with tasty accompaniments, and a great crème brulee for dessert. Combined with a good wine list this restaurant is definitely worth a visit. Service was prompt, friendly and attentive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
YOU can dine with us again!!!
A SIMPLY fabulous review.
MANY thanks for the wonderful compliments - Chef was chuffed!!
Delighted that the experience was so positive.
Hope to see you again.
Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atelier also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.