We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn Equinox - perfect dining for a ski- group!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atelier - CLOSED

Atelier
Lancaster House, Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0BD, England
015394 31156
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $24 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Autumn Equinox - perfect dining for a ski- group!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A meal at this fantastic small restaurant added to a fabulous weekend with good friends. The restaurant has a great ambience and the food was perfect with everyone thoroughly enjoying their starters, main courses and deserts. We could highly recommend the crab & haddock cakes starter and the sea bass main course - in fact everyone loved every dish they ordered. Their excellent knowledge of wine helped us make good choices. The attentive staff gave good advice, checked we had everything we needed without intruding and made the whole evening a special occasion. A trip to the toilet is essential to view the pictures and peek at the kitchen in full swing! We will definitely return

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
OH ME, OH MY!!!
Such a FABULOUS review is deserving of a HUMONGOUS thank you.
It is always SO rewarding when Diners, such as yourselves, enthuse about their evening at atelier - delighted to have been of service!
Chef is most appreciative.
Again, heartfelt thanks. See you again?
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    73
    17
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Small and friendly with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This family run restaurant serves tasty and interesting food, which lives up to the good reviews posted, but we felt there was some room for improvement for some dishes. The staff were, however, interested to know how we thought they could improve, so top marks for that. Starters were excellent, including some crab and fish cakes with nothing dodgy, and mains good, but the sea bass fillets had soggy skin and an odd cheese melt which was overpowering for the fish, and the Harissa paste with couscous was more fiery than really flavoursome. Desserts were great especially the pannacotta with strawberries.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your very generous review; the compliments are much appreciated.
Sorry, some of the Menu was not to your liking.
Hope to see you again.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Definitely "best in town"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited Atelier on the last night of our week long stay in Ambleside & we certainly saved the best until last. The crab & haddock fish cakes were really tasty with a bit of a "kick" and the sea bass mains were excellent. A bottle of the house white was a fitting accompaniment. The restaurant is quite small so booking is strongly advised. Passing the kitchen door the chef was seen singing away to herself - a happy cook with happy customers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Oh, You Darling!!
Wonderful, wonderful review.
MUCH OBLIGED for the plaudits, and very happy that you liked atelier.

Thomas Keller said, 'Food should be fun.' Chef's singing would confirm these wise words, me thinks. She REALLY does have a lovely voice BUT is in denial!!

Many thanks. Hope to see you again.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely evening meal with family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were in the Lake district with Ambleside as our base. Atelier came highly recommended on trip advisor and we thought we'd give it a go. The booking was an evening one and it was the first time we'd stepped out that day when it had rained, rained and rained some more.

We were welcomed by a warm and cozy restaurant with very pleasant lighting and ushered to our table immediately. For starters we had a fig+goat's cheese, pistachio+chicken terrine and thrice-cooked chips, all of which were excellent. For the mains, we had a grilled goat's cheese salad, a venison on zucchini gratin and arancini with red pepper sauce (I think). Again, all of the dishes were excellent and well proportioned. Finally, the desserts - I had the assiete of desserts, my partner the chocolate-orange tart and his dad, the toffee-apple crème brulee. Needless to say, we weren't disappointed.

Overall, it was the best meal we had in the Lakes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
You certainly know how to make a person smile!!
Such fantastic, complimentary comments deserve a GIGANTIC thank you from everyone at atelier, especially the Chef - MARVELOUS!!
Pleased the evening was so enjoyable.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of treat in a quaint romantic environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews of this little restaurant on trip advisor we decided to book a table. Upon arriving we were seated to a little table right next to the bar and ordered our drinks. We also ordered olives to start. I was a little disappointed when the olives were clearly from a jar and for the price of the food at this restaurant you would expect some nice fresh olives theses sadly lacked much flavour at all. The main course however was delicious and very well presented. Fresh warm bread rolls were served and we had the most delicious trio of deserts for afters. This is a pricey place to eat. For one starter two mains and one desert with a house bottle of red we paid almost £70.the ambience was tranquil and relaxing and the waitress was friendly and polite. I would recommend this as a treat for good quality food

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
A very pleasing review indeed!
Delighted that you enjoyed your evening; that the food was delicious, and the setting convivial.
Sorry, the olives disappointed. However, they are not purchased in a jar and are tenderly nurtured by Chef, using a special marinade - She is an olive nut - seriously!!!
MUCH appreciation for your generosity and the recommendation.
Hope to see you again.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atelier also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.