We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atelier - CLOSED

Atelier
Lancaster House, Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0BD, England
015394 31156
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $24 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We chose this restaurant after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed. We both had the scallops and black pudding for starters and they were delicious. I had the sea bass and my partner chose the duck. Both of which were excellent. We both had the souffle for dessert. Mouthwatering.. The service was top notch and the evening was made more special by a card and a glass of champagne for my birthday. We would certainly return on our next trip to the Lakes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Firstly, a huge thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us. Secondly, much appreciation for the superb compliments, thrilled you loved the whole experience, and very grateful for the recommendation.
Hope to see you again.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    73
    17
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
fieldarcher
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“beautiful Experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Whilst spending a long weekend in the lakes we came across this jewel of a restaurant, the food and service were delightful, when they found out that we were newly weds a glass of champagne and card arrived. the food was excellent my beef was cooked to perfection and as soft as butter, my wife's lamb was sweet and tender the desserts were dreamy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Wonderful review. Absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the atelier experience, and that the food was to your liking, especially the desserts!
But a special thank you for choosing atelier on such a momentous occasion.
Wishing you both the best.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A new favourite!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked this wee restaurant after being unable to get a table for our party of six at a couple of our usual favourites. The menu was really appetising and different from starters to sweets with good vegetarian choices. Staff were friendly and attentive and made for a wonderful dining experience and relaxed evening. I would definitely recommend and visit again on our next break in Ambleside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Such a great review!!
Thank you VERY much for the compliments, the recommendation, and also that you will return.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visited this restaurant on Saturday evening with family and friends. The food and service were both fantastic. We will be visiting Atelier on our next visit to the Lakes in June.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Your Group were super. It was our pleasure to accommodate you all. Delighted that you were satisfied with everything, and that you are hoping to dine with us again.
Many thanks.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wonderful food. We dining on a Saturday night - the atmosphere was vibrant but still felt personal. We had a lamb dish & chicken with risotto balls - this wasn't on the menu but the chef accommodated kindly. Both cooked to order using local ingredients – cooked to perfection and jam packed full of flavour. Pudding was equally as scrumptious. We will be returning again next time we’re in Ambleside to taste more of the menu!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Many thanks for your very generous comments. Chef is only too happy to oblige, where/when possible, and is pleased to have accommodated you. Do re-visit and sample some of the other dishes.
Your recommendation is much appreciated.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atelier also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.