We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New kid on the block and well worth a try!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atelier - CLOSED

Atelier
Lancaster House, Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0BD, England
015394 31156
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $24 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ascot
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“New kid on the block and well worth a try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to our TA friends for recommending this delightful new restaurant in Ambleside. Extremely friendly service and a great simple gourmet menu with high quality ingredients. We really enjoyed our mains and dessert, especially the sea bass with risotto. Fish cake starter was good but we kind of wished we picked the scallops off the specials - maybe next time!
If you want something special in Ambleside give Atelier a go as a new up and coming restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
SherpaP, thank you for the lovely comments; the fact that you're a 'seasoned' reviewer is even more of a positive!
Do come back and try the scallops - they were a great success.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    74
    17
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Broadway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service, well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Saturday night and nicely full. Service slick and waiting time for food not too long. Food excellent. Try the souffle desert - yummy!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Happy that you enjoyed your visit to atelier, David, and thank you for the positive comments. Chef aims to please!
Please, come and see us again.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Very friendly staff and food cooked to perfection.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Karen, really glad you had an enjoyable experience at atelier. Thank you for the lovely review. Do come and see us again soon.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, chic & brilliant value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I tried this new restaurant on a visit to Ambleside in feb & wasnt disappointed. The restuarant itself was chic, light & airy & with lovely service. The food was delicious! We had the fish & the mushroom risotto, which was inventive & lovely! As a vegetarian it was nice to see someone offering something more adventurous than the usaual veggie lasagne or nut roast! Dessert was amazing, the white chocolate souffle & sticky toffee pudding. We will definitely be back & wish this lovely new business the best of luck!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
atelier is much appreciative of your review, thank you. We are pleased that you enjoyed the whole experience, food, service and decor. We're particularly happy that you found the veggie options different - we are always looking to be more inventive.
Please, visit us again.
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambleside
1 review
“Best place to eat in ambleside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Our son recommended Atelier to us, and we thought he was exaggerating how good it was. In fact it was even better than we were told, and proved a culinary delight. The atmosphere was excellent and the service friendly, and we were made to feel like special guests not just customers. It was very pleasant not to feel rushed, and that the table was ours for the night if that's what we wanted - not everywhere is like that! But most importantly the food was really outstanding. I'm a self-confessed steak lover, and its no small thing for me to say that the fillet of beef was the best I've had. Simply melt-in-the-mouth. My wife was of the same opinion regarding her lamb dish. We both had the crab cake starters, and found them very tasty, with a hint of spice that worked very well. The desserts were special too, my wife had the soufflé which came with a delicious creamy ginger sauce, and I had a beautifully presented cappuccino mousse, which was really superb. The best meal we have ever eaten in Ambleside, quite a compliment as we had lived in Ambleside for 40 years!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Great to hear from more local people that they really enjoyed the atelier experience. Thank you for being SO generous with the compliments and your comments have been passed on to the Chef and the upstairs staff. Being local we hope you'll be back!
Ethna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atelier also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.