We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel to your Saves list
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
leeds
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have stayed here in the past and found again it is a really nice hotel, was a little worried after readingsome of the comments but i have to say there are a lot of mis guided people around.
Our stay was really good the all British plus one Australian lady were very good attentive and very pleasant.
The quality of the produce served is first class the room was very clean with fantastic views down the valley.
I would Recommend a stay here anytime well done Rebbeca.

Room Tip: Room 17 and 18 really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
It was lovely seeing you again, we get such a great number of repeat guests and we really appreciate all the kind comments we get, even the unkind ones if we can act upon them, but as mentioned previously you cannot please everybody.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    86
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
27
148
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times over many years and were pleasantly surprised that the hotel had been refurbished. The views are stunning with many walks straight from the door. What more can you want for a relaxing break? Good food and a nice lounge with wood burner to relax in at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Room 10 has a dual aspect and room 14 is the largest room we have stayed in at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
It was lovely to see you again and thanks for great review.
We are carrying on with the refurbishment, as you mentioned we have 3 lovely new log burners, rooms 8 9 and 10 are starting the big refurbishment next week and our public toilets are being revamped and will be finished by January 2014.
Plenty to see hopefully on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during September 2013. We had such an enjoyable stay. The staff were very friendly, the service was great.

The hotel had the character that we expected, the rooms were very comfortable and clean too with a beautiful and peaceful outlook.

The restaurant meals exceeded our expectations, we were expecting a little above 'pub grub' and we received excellent quality dining. After a challenging day walking Bowfell, their walkers bar was a welcome sight with cracking local ales. I should also mention that the packed lunches available were spot on.

The location is a little over 15 mins drive outside of Ambleside, which was ideal to get out of the way of fellow tourists. We have recommended to others, and we will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
What lovely comments, as mentioned on previous responses all our food is home made and this does make a difference and our ales are well looked after.

Thanks for making the time to review us and hope too see you soon, look on our website for our great winter offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Good homely cooked food. Fish and chips very large portion. If looking for somewhere posh to sit not for you. Walkers who have been out all day sharing stories and gd food. Quick service food freshly cooked. Good selection of ales.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments, the fish and chips have proved to be a great success this year as have the real ales, we tend to keep the wainwright ale on at all times but also have ales of the month on.

Hope to see you next time you are visiting the langdales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We got booked into this hotel on the wrong date- i asked for the recptionist to book me in on the date of the marathon so myself and my family could watch the runners. I didnt have internet connection at the time so I asked the receotionist if she could check the date, so she checked and said it was on the 29th september. I turned up at the hotel on this date and the marathon was a week before. We couldnt get a return of our deposit so we therefore had no choice but to stay.

The next day we had to mske our journey back home early. We got Into the hotel lobby at 7am. We asked the hotel staff if we could have some milk for our 1 year old daughter. They replied with "breakfast doesnt open till 7.30". We told them that we didnt want breakfast, just some milk, however they were just very rude and refused us of having this.
My family and I fele extremeky dissapointed that we had to endure this, The staff didnt meet to mine or my famikys basic needs. I emailed the hotel about this a week ago and still havent recieved a reply.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
As mentioned in your reply to your email of complaint the langdale marathon has nothing to do with our hotel, we let them use our field for the start and finish of the race and for a car park and we donate raffle prizes. In your previous letter you were in the race in this complaint you were just watching, if you were in the race the date of the race would have been on your registration form. It is not even mentioned in our diary as many races leave the Langdale valley in the year.
It is up to the individual to check there dates.
You left the following morning at 7.30am, if you had asked for a early breakfast it could have been arranged, as I checked you into the hotel and I explained meal times etc.(Breakfast is served from 8.00 to 9.30am) Your wife asked myself on the Monday morning if you could have early breakfast, I explained that I could go and set it up and would give you a call when I had done so, I came back to reception at 7.45am but you had gone. There was absolutely no mention of milk for the baby as we could of filled a bottle for you and If asking about the health of your baby( as she had fallen and had a cut nose) is classed as being rude I apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We nearly stayed at this hotel but what a lucky escape we had by deciding otherwise! We did however call into the walkers bar for a meal and what a disappointment. Unimaginative, overpriced rubbish - how the hell can you get a simple sandwich wrong?

Before leaving my review, I took the time to look at some of the other customer reviews for this hotel to establish a benchmark and it quickly became clear to me that the manageress likes to respond in kind to any form of criticism of this establishment no matter how mild.

Indeed, she goes onto say in one reply that she has lived and managed this hotel for 22 years, well, if that truly is the case then it seems she has been coasting for the past 21.5 of those years happy to serve mediocre, overpriced food and provide dirty smelly rooms with green fly infested bathwater. Perhaps the time has come for you to step aside and let someone with an idea of what good service, good food and good accomodation represents in the 21st century to take over the reins.

My recommendation is to avoid this establishment until the management team starts to understand and act upon the concerns of their quite high proportion of irate and disappointed customers.

Room Tip: Try one of the luxury spa hotels around Ambleside or Rydal instead of going to this place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I was sorry to hear that a mix up with your sandwich was made, and a apology was made. We do not think that our prices are overpriced at £5.45 or £6.45 if taken with soup or chips, all our sandwich fillings are home made and the meats cooked in our kitchens, none of the "plastic" meats are served here. The pan rustique rolls are cooked to order.

I am not sure how you can comment on our bedrooms as you have not stayed with us but as many previous comments have been made by clearly happy guests who have stayed with us and have commented on how well maintained and clean they are I do not think we have issues with them.

I think it is near impossible to please everybody and nobody is perfect but we do try to run a friendly family run hotel and have been doing so for many years and hpefully many more to come!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The staff were friendly, the food was fantastic and the advice for walks and surrounding places was spot-on. The scenery surrounding the hotel on all sides was beautiful and the bar and lounge were so comfortable. We were in a group of ten, and were always accommodated, well advised and greeted with a smile. The rooms were adequate, but the showers were little more than lukewarm in our room and in the other couple's, whose room was nearest ours, it was the same.
There was free wifi available in the lounge but not in the rooms but there was no mobile phone reception in the area because it was a remote valley surrounded by rocky crags.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for your great comments, sorry about the water, we have just had a new boiler and we have had a few teething problems, but we are all sorted now.
We have just had installed 3 new log burning fires so are ready for the winter months, making the lounges ultra cosy!!
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.