We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rothay Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rothay Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rothay Bridge, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Ambleside
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Rothay Manor is a delightful small hotel, tastefully decorated & quiet with lovely grounds. The food is good, the wine list very reasonably priced & the staff are attentive & most helpful. A good place from which to explore the lakes. The management have an agreement with a local spa so guests may use the facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    62
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
153
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Based on a review on Tripadvisor, my mom and I went for afternoon tea at the Rothay Manor Hotel. I have been to many places for afternoon tea but this was probably the poorest. The buffet with sandwiches was a tray with sandwiches on the side scruffily covered with cling film, a few unappealing slices of pork pie on a plate. Hidden in a salad server were some small pastries that were soggy pastry bases with cream (no fruit on top) and did not look fresh. The cakes themselves were ok but again, nothing special - a fruitloaf, an apple sponge, and then a tray of cold scones with cream rather than clotted cream. The buffet was also not well attended and ran out of jam twice in the hour we were there. Although the setting of the buffet in the dining/tea room was lovely, we were asked to sit in the salon and that just didn't work.

For the price they charge you are better off going into one of the many excellent cafes in Ambleside and for a couple of pounds more you can have tea in a michelin star restaurant in Troutbeck.

I will definitely not recommend this for afternoon tea to anyone, and wish I had taken my mom elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Curvature, thank you for your comments with regard to Afternoon Tea, I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience. Rothay Manor has served a buffet style tea for over 35 years and is more popular than ever, whilst the buffet service may not be to everyones taste we find it works very well and have many customers who return time after time because they enjoy our Afternoon Tea so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I were driving from Southwest London to stay with friends near Melrose in the Scottish Borders and did not feel like doing the journey in one. We had stayed in Ambleside before and chose to book a night at the Rothay Manor.

We were shown to a very comfortable and well-appointed ground floor room. The bathroom was fitted-out for disabled guests with suitable toilet and wheelchair-friendly shower.

On arrival we indulged in a very good tea with cakes, sandwiches, scones etc. We had to hold-back a bit as we were booked for dinner. When we went in to dinner, it was obvious that it was a restaurant not just for guests but drew-in customers from the surrounding area. The menu was imaginative and of high quality.

We will certainly plan to stop there again.

Room Tip: The ground floor room was close to reception but had a double door and we were unaware of the fact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esher, surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Arrived to a warm, efficient welcome on Friday for a weekend stay. We were shown to our lovely, quiet, ground floor classic room at the front of the hotel overlooking the garden. Very comfortable bed, large comfy armchairs, lots of space, massive fluffy towels and lots of extras. Decor is traditional but not old fashioned, everywhere is so comfortable that it's substance over style which isn't what you always get in hotels these days. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice, dinner superb as expected, service friendly and attentive but thankfully they give you space too. We've stayed here before and always been pleased, we will be returning as we still haven't had time to take the locally renowned afternoon tea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Spent a very relaxing two nights. Check in very efficient and a splendid room good heating & plenty of hot water. Bed large & comfortable. No noise at all at night. Breakfast was a good selection and well cooked. The dinner was as expected of a good standard. The hotel is well placed and can be thoroughly recomended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night bed breakfast and evening meal as a birthday treat for my husband. We had a pleasant enough welcome to the hotel where we unpacked and went into Ambleside - hotel is ideally situated for walking into town. Whilst dinner was advertised as between 7 and 9 we were told dinner was 7 for 7.30. Our room was spacious but overlooked the hotel's back entrance. Decor was a bit dated but the room had everything we needed - however the shower had no power and it was impossible to control the temperature of the water. We had a lovely evening meal and the staff were friendly and efficient. We had drinks in the bar afterwards but we were practically on our own - very quiet and little attention from staff. Superb breakfast in the morning, particularly enjoyed the Cumbrian Platter. We booked the break on line knowing how much we had enjoyed a previous stay (7 years ago when we complimented the owner that the hotel was on a par with the Sharrow Bay). This time we were disappointed, particularly as I had (for the first time ever) mentioned to them that it was my husband's birthday celebration and there was no acknowledgement whatsoever. Unlikely we will stay with them again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend break at the Rothay Manor Hotel. We arrived on Friday afternoon, the check in was friendly & efficient. We got taken to our room which was a good size with a lovely big comfy bed and a sofa. Lots of little touches in the room which make the stay special such as mineral water, lovely toiletries and sewing kit etc. Breakfast was amazing, lovely porridge, homemade preserves and fresh orange as well as a delicious Cumbrian Platter. The restaurant staff are very friendly and the service was excellent. Another bonus is that you can use the leisure facilities at the Salutation Hotel which we enjoyed. The location is good, just a few minutes walk to the centre of Ambleside. Lots of car parking space. We had a great time and can't wait to return. Thank you Rothay Manor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Address: Rothay Bridge, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rothay Manor Hotel & Restaurant offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting, with large individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, delicious fresh food and outstanding service.We continue to maintain the standards and traditions that have kept the hotel a popular destination for over 40 years - well-appointed bedrooms, homemade jams and marmalades with breakfast, our famous buffet-style afternoon tea and our candle-lit restaurant, whilst offering modern amenities - flatscreen televisions, dvds, i-pod docks and free wi-fi.Open for Lunch and Dinner everyday, our delicious freshly cooked menu changes on a daily basis - or why not join us for our fabulous buffet Afternoon Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rothay Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.