We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slipping, ever so steadily, to a lower class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rothay Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Rothay Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rothay Bridge, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Slipping, ever so steadily, to a lower class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has figured in every edition of the Good Hotel Guide since the inception of that publication and regularly lists highly on Trip Advisor reviews but on our second visit here it was becoming very apparent that there are better hotels in the Lake District for the prices that this hotel is charging.
18 months ago we said that the decor in the Dining Room was jaded with ceiling roses that looked adrift from the ceiling, a muddy brown base colour on the walls, scorch marks on the ceiling from the wall lamps and wine glassware out of keeping with the products on offer.
In response to these observations the 'Management' said that it hoped to improve the Dining Room decor during a refurbishment in Jan 2012. Looking through previous reviews of the hotel we have noted that similar observations on the decor to ours were made in 2010 when the 'Management' promised action in the Jan 2011 refurbishment. When we booked for this break back in November 2012 we asked if the Dining Room refurbishment had been undertaken and were told that the 'powers that be' didn't deem it necessary. In isolation one might forgive this attitude but unfortunately it has extended to other reaches of the hotel. It's a fair bet that this is the only hotel in the Lake District charging the thick end of £120 a night for a room that still provides only 50/50 polycotton sheets and treats requests for a duvet, though available with polycotton covers, as something of a customer quirk. Add to this some bedroom decor that is looking really dated.
The good news is that the breakfasts are first class and the service therein is first class which is more than can be said for the evening meals. These had some good positives but a Sea Bass (nicely done) with an awful greasy sauce and tasteless ribbons of courgette and a Fillet Steak stated on the menu to be 'medium rare' and served as 'well done' suggested that all was not under control in the kitchen. Conversely, the Mallard and the Rabbit Terrine were very enjoyable.
The 'Superior Rooms' at the front of the premises give a nice view of the local hills and in warmer weather their balconies would be a plus. Our bathroom was spacious and bedroom a reasonable size. The bed had his and hers mattresses but they wallowed. The shower lacked power.
Don't expect to find any leaflets prepared by the hotel on local walks ..... there are none, but you can buy various publications there on this subject.
It's sad but the owners of this hotel are really going to have to up their game if this hotel is to compete at the luxury end of the Lake District accommodations. If there were half points in Trip Advisor this would rate 3.5 but as it is and because it has potential to be so much better with simple improvements we've rated it 4.



Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    68
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
172
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
WIGAN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a prime location on the perimeter of Ambleside. We had a suite and it was very, very comfortable save for the fact that the bed was very low and as I suffer from arthritis I found it difficult to rise (not the hotels fault) The bathroom was beautifully appointed with superb toiletries. We had a wonderful afternoon tea with champagne and were therefore looking forward to a sensational dinner. Unfortunately this was not the case, the food was fine but not memorable, we may have made wrong choices as the breakfast was again memorable. The wine list was extensive and catered for all tastes, I chose a superb Amarone that I felt was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The owners of the Rothay Manor have honed hotel management skills to perfection. We loved the attention to detail, the wonderful hospitality skills, and unforced friendliness of staff, and the traditional values at this hotel which has modern, up to date features. A bonus is the link with a neighbouring establishment so that guests may use the spa/pool facilities. The breakfasts and dinners were excellent. We appreciated the free WiFi. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: We had a superior room (Room 6) which was spacious, with a balcony, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A second very enjoyable mini-break at the Rothay Manor Hotel, very comfortable, with friendly, professional staff . Nothing seems too much trouble for the staff (even bringing our delicious cumbrian breakfast across in the snow!) and the Loughrigg Lodge has wheelchair access and parking at the door which means that we can bring our elderly relative on holiday with us knowing that we have our own little suite in the grounds but the facilities of the hotel just across the drive. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Loughrigg Lodge has wheelchair access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just enjoyed a 2 night break at the Rothay Manor, could not fault it, food excellent, really nice welcome & check in, paid extra for a superior room & yes it was well worth it, huge room and nice big balcony, all the staff were very friendly, obviously well trained, the management team run a well organised team. we hope to return soon

Room Tip: well worth paying foe a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just spent two days at Rothay Manor Hotel. Stayed in a superior room which was excellent and well worth paying the extra. Staff could not have been more pleasant and friendly.
All the meals we had were excellent and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Superior rooms worth considering
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We visited for the weekend with family. We all felt happy with our rooms especially those overlooking the garden. The bathroom in the room at the back needed a little t.l.c.

The two small lounges are really comfortable, however agree with a previous reviewer that the dining rooms need updating. However they are very nicely set out.

Our food I.e. breakfast and evening meals on both days were excellent. The food was of excellent quality and beautifully presented. There were a lovely selection of dishes to choose. No complaints from any of us. There was a nice cooked breakfast menu, however, I do not always want a cooked breakfast and thought that perhaps some bread rolls and ham/cheese would be nice.

The wine list was very good and reasonably priced. The house wines were very pleasant. The prosecco too.

We enjoyed a nice walk along the river into Ambleside from the hotel.

We all really enjoyed our weekend and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Address: Rothay Bridge, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rothay Manor Hotel & Restaurant offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting, with large individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, delicious fresh food and outstanding service.We continue to maintain the standards and traditions that have kept the hotel a popular destination for over 40 years - well-appointed bedrooms, homemade jams and marmalades with breakfast, our famous buffet-style afternoon tea and our candle-lit restaurant, whilst offering modern amenities - flatscreen televisions, dvds, i-pod docks and free wi-fi.Open for Lunch and Dinner everyday, our delicious freshly cooked menu changes on a daily basis - or why not join us for our fabulous buffet Afternoon Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rothay Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.