We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rothay Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Rothay Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rothay Bridge, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had been given a voucher for afternoon tea and decided to use it at Rothay Manor and were very pleased with our choice. This was to be our first visit to this delightful hotel. We visited yesterday afternoon after pre-booking last week by telephone. As we were nearly an hour early we asked if we could have a "pre-afternoon tea" alcoholic drink in the lounge. This was no problem and we were shown to the lounge. We had our drinks whilst reading a vast array of magazines - up to date I may add - and a selection of newspapers A very pleasant and courteous young gentleman called Cornelius, brought our drinks, came to explain what was on offer and explained that afternoon tea was run as a buffet so we could return as often as we liked for more to eat and could have as much tea as we liked. We decided on Ceylon tea, though there is a great selection and I'm sure every palate is catered for. Cornelius then took us through to the dining room where the tea was laid out. Napkins, china plates, cake knives and forks were to hand and we helped ourselves to the delicious selection of fresh sandwiches and delicate portions of savouries which were in the chilled buffet server. Our tea was "silver service" which was lovely set out on a tray with china cups and saucers all monogrammed of course, "RM". We then went on to help ourselves to freshly baked scones, jam and cream and a whole host of different cakes and teabreads. Cornelius then came and "refreshed" our tea by bringing fresh pots of tea and water and even offered to change our cups! We were treated like royalty as I am sure everyone is who happens to find themselves in the Rothay Manor Hotel. You are made to feel special and the afternoon tea was faultless. We really cannot praise Cornelius enough. Not only did we find a hotel that is a gem I think Rothay Manor has also had a gem of a find by employing Cornelius. Thank you so much for a wonderful afternoon. We will be back and will certainly recommend you to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Many thanks for your fab review, hope to see you again for Tea soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    75
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
192
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Meticulous attention to detail is the hallmark of this fine hotel. I stayed in the Gun Room which was characterful and cosy though the bathroom featured my presonal bete noire - the toilet seat that won't stay up. Food in the pleasant, relaxed restaurant was of a high quality and the service punctilious, perhaps a little exaggeratedly so at times. I'm not really an afternoon tea person, but one was included in my Autumn Treat deal and I was duly impressed by the array of mouth-watering goodies on offer, both savoury and sweet, and the wide choice of beverages to accompany them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your review, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIgan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We would never normally stay in such a hotel in the lakes, we are generally your lower key b&b, camping or self catered cottage type of folk. We are keen on outdoor sports. However, we were invited as guests to stay here and cannot fault the helpfulness, service and comfort of the hotel.
We arrived back covered head to toe in mud with filthy mountain bikes walking through the foyer whilst people sipped their afternoon tea! The staff found us bike storage and were as polite as ever. The food in the restaurant was of high quality and recommended if you want to pay that bit extra. At 29 and 30 we felt like we were the youngest guests in there but only a small stroll to the pubs of ambleside if you want a less formal atmosphere. Some of the offers that this hotel do ie; dinner, bed and breakfast are excpetionally good value if you want a higher end lake district experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review, very glad you enjoyed your stay and the Lake District mud. Keep an eye on our website for offers as we have some great deals over the winter months, hope you will come and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We decided to go over to the Lakes for a quiet few days and decided on the Rothay Manor due to location and facilities.
Due to recent hospitalization, i needed space and quiet as my mobility wasn't too brilliant. As a result we chose one of the outside suites, which was perfect.
The food was exceptional, the staff very helpful and attentive, and the accommodation well specified and in good order.
My only negative point was the traffic noise passing by the hotel, which extended well into the evening. That did stop us sitting out in the private garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Very glad you had an enjoyable stay and it helped with your recovery. Thank you for your kind words, please do come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We booked this Hotel at the last minute and as there weren't too many options were not expecting very much. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The hotel is well located with a real country feel. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The family room we stayed in was nice and cosy and very well cleaned. The breakfast was enjoyable with a variety of options. If we visit the Lake District again, Rothay Manor will be our choice of stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a nice two day break here. The room was perhaps a little old fashioned but not tired and it was very clean and spacious. Due to the weather we did not use the balcony but certainly would have if we'd seen a little more sun.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant, the food was of a good standard but expensive, especially wine, the house white we had was 28.00. Breakfast next day was very good with no problems deviating from set breakfasts.

The staff were all very friendly, pleasant and attentive. If in the area again I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review, very glad you enjoyed your stay.
Our house wines are all prices at £19 / bottle. Please do contact us if you think you have been overcharged, perhaps you had one of our suggested wines from the menu.
Hope to see you on your next visit to the lake district.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

The room was plenty big enough for us and our two small children. The bathroom was lovely. Good location to the village & quiet. We were not happy to find out the evening dress code for the restaurant after we'd arrived. We didn't feel comfortable so went out instead, but that worked out. After walking by the bar & drawing room, we had already felt out of place & would have clearly been the youngest patrons. The breakfast was good, but slow in coming. The one waitress should have had help. It didn't seem all that family friendly, though the staff was perfectly polite.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you found your room and the hotel to your liking. I am sorry to hear that you felt you could not dine with us and felt out of place. During the School Holidays we get many young families staying with us and I am sure you were not the only ones during your stay. We do have an evening dress code as we cater for such a wide range of guests and find that this allows everyone to enjoy their dining experience. Our breakfast is cooked to order, and so at busy times the service my take a little longer to ensure everyone gets the same high quality product we pride ourselves on - I trust you enjoyed your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Address: Rothay Bridge, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rothay Manor Hotel & Restaurant offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting, with large individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, delicious fresh food and outstanding service.We continue to maintain the standards and traditions that have kept the hotel a popular destination for over 40 years - well-appointed bedrooms, homemade jams and marmalades with breakfast, our famous buffet-style afternoon tea and our candle-lit restaurant, whilst offering modern amenities - flatscreen televisions, dvds, i-pod docks and free wi-fi.Open for Lunch and Dinner everyday, our delicious freshly cooked menu changes on a daily basis - or why not join us for our fabulous buffet Afternoon Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rothay Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.