We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We selected Riverside primarily because of its fantastic reviews. We were not disappointed. A fabulous hotel with stunning gardens in a great location. The rooms were very comfortable and immaculate. Dave & Brenda were very helpful with their advice and guidance on local restaurants and walks. Nothing was too much trouble. The home cooked breakfasts, served with homemade breads and locally sourced preserves were an absolute treat. Unfortunately, our stay was for one night only, but we will remedy that on our next visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 on the top floor which overlooked the river. The sounds of the flowing river ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
640
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is the most charming B&B we've ever stayed in. It was spotless. I even asked David how they kept their windows so clean. Our hosts, David and Brenda were absolutely charming, caring and so very warm. Our room was large, clean and overlooked the Rothay River that babbled and babbled us quickly asleep. My wife described the whole experience at Riverside at Ambleside as a fairy tale. Its location was outstanding. We could walk to just about anywhere we wanted to go. The breakfasts were fabulous with homemade breads and preserves. You might want to try the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and dill. So, if you're visiting The Lake District in the UK, treat yourself to an extraordinary experience and stay at The Riverside at Ambleside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Friendly and welcoming proprietors, superb breakfast including regularly changing selection of locally made bread and jam. Stayed in an excellent room (4 poster bed, plenty of space, overlooking river) - high standard of cleanliness and decor throughout the property. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at Riverside Hotel for 2 nights and had a great B&B experience. A Fantastic location to start many of the Lakeland walks and just a few minutes stroll from the Ambleside town centre. Dave was a great help when we planned our 2 days walking, giving us plenty of ideas and tips. The Riverside Hotel also has a vast range of maps and books which you can browse freely in the cosy guest lounge. The Breakfast served was excellent with a good choice to suit all and Brenda's home baked bread was delicious! As for our room, it was clean, comfortable and had everything required for our stay.

Overall, the Riverside Hotel provides a fabulous hospitality and topped off a great weekend away, somewhere we will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our fourth annual visit to Ambleside and this B&B. Once again we had a very enjoyable time in this lovely house. The room was as clean, fresh and comfortable as I remembered and it is a joy to listen to the stream outside as you drift off to sleep. David and Brenda are friendly hosts and breakfast is a real pleasure (especially the muesli fruit pot). We were lucky with the weather this year and able to partake of a glass or two in their beautiful garden before wandering into Ambleside for the evening meal. This remains for me an ideal spot. Quiet because it is out of town, but very convenient with car parking and a short stroll into town. The only way I think it could be improved is by blackout blinds in the bedrooms!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We spent 4 fantastic nights in this B&B. lovely private rooms, exceptional service and delicious varied breakfast. Dave went out of his way to make our stay unforgettable, advising amazing walks, and good restaurant recommendations. If you come to the Lakes, come here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at The Riverside from 19 May2013. Hosts Dave & Brenda were lovely and gave lots of advice on the area, walks etc. The breakfast was superb. Our room overlooked the River Rothay and we occasionally caught sight of "Clint" the heron, stalking for fish. From the Riverside it is only a short stroll into Ambleside so there was no need to drive on an evening. There are really good restaurants in Ambleside. We will definitely return to this fabulous B&B every time we visit the lakes. Well done to Brenda & Dave.

Dave & Sue Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Room Tip: The Spa room is a large one with a big bay window and 2 side windows offering plenty of natural ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet and BT Fusion enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.