We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Riverside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Another great stay at Riverside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had another lovely short break with Brenda and Dave at Riverside. It rained quite a bit but the autumn colours were glorious. Once again we were looked after and fed very well and we had one of our favourite rooms, No. 4; although we can understand why someone who is not 5'2" like one of us would have difficulty using the shower in no. 4, the headroom is limited - however, there is a really nice bath which suits the other 6ft member of our party better! We ate twice at Zefferelli's and took advantage of the 2 course meal + cinema ticket for £18 odd, which was good value. We are not vegetarians but the meals at Zefferelli's (and Fellini's) are excellent. Again, can't praise Riverside, Under Loughrigg highly enough; we try to get there twice a year if we can and are always assured of a good welcome.

Room Tip: We have stayed in every room except the family room (just 2 of us) and they are all good but a parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
640
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
566 reviews 566 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

3rd visit. Loads of tea, loads of hot water, amazing breakfasts, wonderful hosts. Booked again but to show you how you need to plan ahead the room we usually have was already booked for May next year.

Brenda and Dave deserve so much praise for treating every guest to the same warm welcome and service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Riverside Hotel once more this May and enjoyed the hospitality of Brenda and David very much yet again. Just how they manage to run their little hotel on such a high level of comfort and perfection year after year is beyond us, but they do and we love the place for it! Breakfast was fantastic again, the lounge cosy (especially the real fire in the fireplace :-) and the location is still unbeatable if you are looking for a place away from it all and yet close to Ambleside's many restaurants and shops!

We enjoyed our stay there very much! Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrey Hills NSW
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a lovely place Riverside is! The location next to the river is perfect - a pretty 10 minute walk into town. The welcome is very warm. David and Brenda are both charming and take their time in making you feel welcome, never forgetting a name. They have thought of all the small details for making their establishment comfortable and welcoming. The breakfasts are delicious - obviously made from fresh ingredients & served with a smile. This was a great find! Thank you TripAdvisor!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was not our first visit. Once you have experienced Brenda and Dave's hospitality and attention to detail it is difficult to match elsewhere. The setting is superb, so close to the centre of Ambleside and yet so peaceful. The rooms are superb, cosy and yet first class. Dave and Brenda are very helpful and informative about the local walks and amenities. The breakfast is wonderful! All local produce and home made bread! I cannot praise this hotel enough. Suffice to say we have now stayed there 4 times! Another big plus is that you can walk from Riverside so once you have parked you can have a car free holiday - very environmentally friendly!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but our personal favourite is the side view of the fell. Peaceful and tranq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

As soon as you walk through the front door you are greeted with an easy smile of welcome and once first names are exchanged they are never forgotten. Everything is shown/explained ie Room, Facilities and any information regarding restaurants and different activities in the area are all there for you to see in prepared folders.The room was well equipped, the bed so comfy and as for the breakfast it was just delicious. Have already told friends how good this place is and I look forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were recommended to visit Ambleside and stay at Riverside by friends and we were not disappointed.

The property is lovely, very homely and cosy, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the location is idyllic.

The breakfasts are to die for! I loved sampling the different bread that David and Brenda made every day! All the food is locally sourced and excellent quality.

David and Brenda make you feel so at home, and give great advise with regards to local walks and amenities.

On a final note, owning a cleaning business in Hampshire, UK I am so pleased to say that the rooms and bathrooms at Riverside were of a very high standard. Faultless.

If you visit Ambleside you must stay here- it definitely deserves 5 *s

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room which had a double and a spare single. But we would love to try the fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet and BT Fusion enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.