We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Treasure Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We booked two nights based on the TA reviews. As others have stated, Dave and Brenda are terrific hosts, the rooms are pristine, breakfasts are to die for, the location is beautiful and just a short walk into the village of Ambleside. It really is wonderful to fall asleep listening to the river run just outside your window. David was so helpful with advice on walks and drives and has a true interest in your enjoyment of the Lakes District. He gave candid advice on restaurants, which we took, and were happy with his recommendations. We tried to wrangle a third night, but they were fully booked. When we go back to the Lakes, we will book the Riverside first as we make our plans so we can stay longer. Book your stay here, you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
640
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What can I say? It's all been said before. Beautiful location, fabulous hosts - the only problem is that it is not a secret so we have to book 6 months in advance. Thanks to Dave and Brenda for our fifth memorable visit. Thanks from Dylan as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Myself and my (then) boyfriend chose The Riverside for a romantic weekend away based on these TA reviews and can honestly say that the real life experience is even better than the reviews! Go and see for yourself. We couldn't recommend it more!
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were made to feel more than welcome. Loads of information from Dave on our arrival, possibly the best breakfast we've ever had with a lot to chose from (I'm vegetarian) and a fab nights sleep in a really comfortable bed. Dave and Brenda seemed to really care about their guests, you can tell that they genuinely love running this gorgeous guest house in the most picturesque of settings.

To make our weekend even more special than it would have been, my boyfriend proposed to me on a walk recommended by Dave, they really helped my partner in his nervous moments too... Brenda and Dave were so excited to be involved and even gave us a card and a hug..

You may think that the hotel is a little too far from Ambleside, but we didn't realise that it's only a short 5-10 min walk from the centre via a lovely park and church yard (they provide torches and umbrellas in case you need them too) So that really isn't a problem at all. in fact it's better because it's so quiet with just the noise of the lovely river outside to sooth you to sleep.
Don't even look any further just book The Riverside. We shall be doing so again.
Claire and Ian.. x Thanks again.. x

Room Tip: Cannot comment on other rooms except walking past whilst they were being cleaned and they all looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We just continue to visit this wonderful oasis in The Lakes. What a wonderful place it continues to be with lovely hosts Brenda and David offering such great service. Spotlessly clean with breakfasts to die for (would recommend you try the meusli fruit bowl at breakfast and speciality breads). Great location with an easy 20 minute walk across the park into Ambleside centre. Would never stay anywhere else in The Lakes. We have just had a two night break and the sun shone non stop, brilliant. The only down side is, if Riverside continues in the same vein we will have difficulty getting in! Already booked our next visit. Well done B & D. we love it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Do not doubt that you will experience only the best at Riverside from hosts Dave and Brenda. In all our travels in Australia and overseas we have never experienced such a welcome and care at a B&B. Everything that you could wish for is already supplied without asking by your hosts.
The Riverside is located a quiet walk away from the town of Ambleside which offers more than expected from shops, eateries and restaurants. The countryside is beautiful with walks and outings to suit all capabilities. Or you can sit around spotting the many bird as you quietly read or just ponder the meaning of life.
Ken and Wendy, Melbourne, Oz

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Riverside our third visit. Dave and Brenda are the perfect hosts. What can we say we have stayed in five star hotels across the world but the Riverside takes some beating . The rooms are immaculately clean and cosy, the bathrooms are new and have complimentary toiletries. In the evening when you return the house is lit by lovely smelling candles and the lovely smell of homemade bread, a breakfast speciality. The breakfast is lovely with all home produce. We have already booked for next year but hope to return before then. Keep up the excellent work and we will see you soon. Gail and Steve.

Room Tip: "all rooms are lovely"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to the Riverside for over a decade and it is always exceptional. We were certainly not disappointed this time with spotless rooms, delicious breakfasts and the welcome is second to none. We'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet and BT Fusion enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.