We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay, and hope to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
lichfield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Second stay, and hope to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Accomodation just as good as when we stayed last September, and the weather was much improved. Had chance this time to appreciate the lovely garden, taking in the late afternoon sunshine with a bottle of local beer - which can be purchased in the B&B. David couldn't be more helpful in suggesting walks and eateries. Breakfast is a wonderful treat with fesh fruit and homemade bread. We loved it. can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
640
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

we discovered the riverside in 2010 and loved it so much, that we came back for more this year. once again david and brenda impressed us with their hospitality: very nice room, excellent breakfast, and a cozy lounge to sit in and just read in the evenings.

if you are a walker you'll love the just-step-outside-and-start-your-walk location — we certainly did!

we are afraid we'll have to return in 2012 once more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from the Riverside at Ambleside where we stayed for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary. From the minute we walked in, we we're greeted by David and Brenda who made us feel very welcome and gave us information on walks, places to eat and much more.
Their attention to detail is second to none and the best i have personally stayed at.
From folders with local walks to others with reviews of local bars where to eat and things to do on a rainy day - quite simply nothing was left untold.
Ambelside centre is a 10 minute walk away and has plenty of dining out options with all cuisines catered for.
The breakfast was first class and kept us going until lunch. We stayed in room 1 which was very clean and had all the mod cons that we needed.
To conclude, I would recommend the Riverside to anyone without doubt.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Brenda and David the proprietors, make you feel like you are part of the family from the moment you step in the door.
The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated with all the facilities you need.
As for the breakfast - well I love a full english, and that exactly what you get, cooked to perfection - I had to modify my selection on following days - this must be a first, otherwise I missed out on lunch!!
We run a micro b&b and we therefore appreciated the hardwork that goes in to running this place - they deserve all the accolades they receive.

Room Tip: Book early -- ask for a river view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We would just like to thank Dave and Brenda for their warm hospitality, thoughtful touches and fantastic breakfast! This was our second stay at Riverside and hopefully won't be our last. After our stay a few years ago we always talked about what a great place to stay it was and were not disappointed on our return, in fact it was even better still the second time around. The hotel has everything you need for a wonderful stay in the lake district; comfort, thoughtful attention to detail, ideal location for access to explore the most beautiful countryside this country (if not the world) has to offer and fantastic hosts that have thought of everything to make your stay whatever you want it to be.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The hosts, Brenda & David, care about their guests experience, it shows in the attention to detail. We were very impressed with all aspects from the moment we arrived until the moment we left, 7 nights later. We had booked the 4 poster bedroom, which is large enough to allow for 2 easy chairs and table for relaxed coffee drinking & reading. The room is light bright & tastefully decorated, with views of the river Rothay and surrounding countryside.
Breakfasts - excellent, whatever we ordered was wonderfully presented. The daily home baked bread a feature. !
David's local knowledge is extensive and he is always willing to assist with advice on what to do for an enjoyable day.
The location is perfect, walking distance, alongside the river and through the park, to the local shops & restaurants of which there are numerous.
We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Riverside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Riverside is excellent in every way and so richly deserves all of the awards it has received. It is located in a wonderful, peaceful setting but only a short, lovely stroll into the centre of Ambleside. There is ample free parking, which is a bonus in Ambleside. Brenda and Dave are lovely people who make you feel so welcome and relaxed and are a wealth of information regarding walks, places to eat and visit. The gardens are lovely and relaxing and the interior is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean and comfortable. Our room was lovely with a view of the garden and a lovely seating area. The bed was extremely comfortable with lovely bedding. The en suite bathroom was lovely with a bath and great powerful shower over it. There were big fluffy towels and gorgeous toiletries. The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous, made with local high quality produce and Brenda's homemade breads are fabulous. There is plenty of choice and it kept us going all day. Thank you Brenda and Dave for a fabulous, relaxing weekend in your beautiful B&B. Cant wait to see you both soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet and BT Fusion enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.