We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit of mountaineering history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Save
You added The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel to your Saves list
Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“a bit of mountaineering history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've used the ODG for years as a place for a pint at the end of a day on the hills but this is the first time I've stayed there. Its an interesting experience. We were greeted by a seemingly stressed person who checked us in and immediately handed us over to one of the group of young eastern Europeans that seem to keep the place going to show us our room. The room is dated but not out of keeping with the ambience of the hotel which is based on the hotel's glory days of the 50s and 60s.

We took our meals in the friendly and relaxed residents bar and ate from a more or less standard pub menu and is very welcome after a day on the fells; the beer is very good too. The small size of the bar encourages folks to talk and we became aware that many of the customers were retired folk from Australia and North America walking the Cumbrian Way. Breakfast was excellent but starts too late for you to make full advantage of staying in the heart of the hills.

Its a shame that the hotel seems to turn its back on its place in UK walking and climbing. Few of the other guests seemed aware of the importance of the ODG. There are so many stories to be told.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have an ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    54
    11
    11
    13
See reviews for
26
58
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We always come here for food wheb staying in Langdale. Its a very pleasant walk from the NT campsite. It's very down to earth with a good range of beer and pub food. Very limited for vegies but good if you east fish. Get there early as it fills up fast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

OK. So this trip I didn't stay at the hotel 'cos it was full. But when I came off the hill in the early evening I knew that this tiny corner would remain in my heart. Great beer, if you are in a hurry then it is worth waiting for, if you want to complain - go elsewhere. It gets busy in the walkers bar for an hour & as folk fade with the daylight so the character of the hotel and the locals come into their own. After 10 hours on the hill half a chicken & chips is quickly & efficiently served. Washed down by a pint or so of Black Sheep. The whole courtyard buzzes with a friendly and welcome atmosphere as walkers swap yarns and tales of daring do. We were there on a folk music session. Don't like it Then don't go - but your life will be less rich.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

As part of the "Busybus" tour of the Lake District, this was one of the stops we made for lunch. It was an absolutely glorious day and the surroundings couldn't have been more perfect. The pub is immediately surrounded by the Langdale Valley and walks are clearly signposted from the pub. (PLEASE NOTE - MOBILE PHONE RECEPTION IS VERY WEAK, the pub does have a public payphone)

The Old Dungeon Ghyll is a very homely and atmospheric pub owned by The National Trust. It is certainly unique in it's "open arms" approach to walkers/hikers and dogs together with a relaxed approach to visitors wishing to have a picnic on the grounds (Coming from Delamere Forest it felt like home!). There are also board games and magazines inside the pub for families to use as well as information about joining the National Trust.

There are plenty of options to choose from on the menu and on that particular day they had a range of freshly made pizzas available.I decided to go for the Traditional Pepperoni together with a pint of locally produced beer (they have at least three local ales to choose from, as well as the normal pub options). The pizza was extremely tasty and it was really enjoyable to soak in the atmosphere outside combined with the delightful views. The pub also sells locally produced Ice Cream

Overall I completely enjoyed my experience here and would certainly encourage anyone who needs refreshment or a good hearty meal in a family friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: I didn't stay in the Pub, this is a review relating to the PUB
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here one night as a part of a six day walking tour of the Lake Country. The room was fine. It was a two flight walk-up which was OK with us. It was clean and quiet with a nice view and a good ensuite bath. The service was good and the breakfast was fine.

We had made reservations for dinner in the dining room before we arrived. It was a mistake. There were only two other occupied tables in the room. There were only three entrees on the menu. Our choice, the pork, was not very good. We wished we had ordered fish and chips in the Hikers Bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am familiar with The Old Dungeon Ghyll from many walking trips to the Lakes in my youth. This time we returned one Easter weekend in a car, with a dog, for lunch. The meals are hearty and filling and very good. Would definitely eat there again. And the views are fantastic! This place was always a legendary venue for climbers and hikers who congregated in the excellent Hiker's Bar. It still is.

Room Tip: Try the Ploughmans
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Been here a few times and will continue. You've got many great walks on your door step. Also some fantastic mtb routes. The ODG is unique! No tv, no phone signal and this is what makes the place. The man in charge Neil and the staff know their stuff about the area so can help you out with questions regarding the area. Great food and they're not shy with the potion control. Your room is a clean comfy room with brilliant veiws but you wouldn't want to spend much time in there because there's so much going outside! A great whisky selection and top notch real ales. I can't really fault the place, even if I tried. One major recommendation, try and make it here on a Wednesday night 8pm+! Live music that will beat anything you've ever heard.

Gav

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.