We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to get away from the world then this is the place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Save
You added The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel to your Saves list
Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you want to get away from the world then this is the place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Been here a few times and will continue. You've got many great walks on your door step. Also some fantastic mtb routes. The ODG is unique! No tv, no phone signal and this is what makes the place. The man in charge Neil and the staff know their stuff about the area so can help you out with questions regarding the area. Great food and they're not shy with the potion control. Your room is a clean comfy room with brilliant veiws but you wouldn't want to spend much time in there because there's so much going outside! A great whisky selection and top notch real ales. I can't really fault the place, even if I tried. One major recommendation, try and make it here on a Wednesday night 8pm+! Live music that will beat anything you've ever heard.

Gav

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    46
    11
    11
    10
See reviews for
22
50
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I gave visited the ODG many times over the past three decades, but only to use the excellent Hikers' Bar so this year was my first time staying at the hotel with my family and it was every bit as wonderful as I had imagined. We had a family room which was spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and the food was excellent, particularly the breakfast.
There were no TVs in the building, no piped music and no mobile signal so it gave a real break from everyday life. The beautiful residents' lounge had a roaring fire and numerous board games to keep us entertained. If an alternative to the hikers' bar was required, there was a quiet residents' bar with a fine range of whiskys.
The hotel's greates asset of course, is it's position at the remote end of the Langdale Valley with only a farmhouse for a neighbour. Being owned by the National Trust, the building has retained its distinctive qualities and there is not a hint of corporate branding to be seen. The proprietors, Neil and Jane Walmsley have been in residence since 1983 and their personal touch is everywhere to be seen.
This is a truly splendid hotel and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The place the people the atmosphere. If you don't like it here your soul needs rewiring.
The staff are generous and kind, and attentive. The food is simple solid and tasty. The bar is infused with the essence of generations if outdoors folk.

Brilliant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The old has become a member of the family - is always needed when a relaxing break is required. We recently stayed in between Christmas and new year and after a long walk in the rain, we had hot showers and retired to the public bar where we ordered our meal and sat by the fire. Our daughter was entertained by the numerous dog in the bar. There is no background music only good conversation and beer!
We retired to bed and had a good nights sleep. The rooms are comfy and ours had a ensuit shower. We have stayed in rooms where the bathroom is separate, which are equally as nice.
The following morning my husband and daughter had the full English I tried to be healthy and had the poached egg on Toast. We left feeling we had been away for a long week end, not a single night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Another wonderful stay @ the O.D.G. hotel.....staff excellent,food excellent,rooms spotless,bed linen v good quality and v clean.No T.V.,mob signal or wifi thank goodness.........Guests who made previous comments regarding heating being turned off and hotel cold in day need to man up a tad and grow a pair.....Just how a get away from it all and relax hotel break should be. In short A1 perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the odg shortly before Christmas 2012 on a 3 night break and I can't wait to go back. First and foremost, the staff were supberb - relaxed and friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent, breakfasts set us up for cold days outside and hearty sized evening plates satisfied the weary walker; the living room fire was lit and games cupboard available for comfy winter evenings. Our room had a newly refurbished en-suite with huge shower and plenty of hot water. The bed was comfortable and warm. Best of all, we got a great deal for a mid-week stay leaving us lots of spendies spare to put towards the drinks bill!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Staying here was a bit like going back in time. The room was a bit on the small side and had no TV. The shower room was actually a very generous size, but you have to walk down the corridor to get to it (apparently some of the rooms do have a small en-suite, but most have seperate shower rooms). I found I needed to use an electric heater most of the time as the central heating system runs only very limited hours.
Staff were very friendly and breakfast was good.
The location is ideal for walkers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.