We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese Meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Cottage

China Cottage
7 lake road,, Ambleside LA22 0AD, England
015394 31388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 106 Restaurants in Ambleside
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Licenced chinese restaurant and take away open from 5 to 11 p.m 7 dayr a week. Happy hour 5 till 6.30 exept saterdays.We offer a wide range of authentic freshly prepared chinese dishes including a large vegetarien selection,dim sum and gluten free menus. All served with a smile in a cosy family freindly atmosphere. coach parties welcome.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We thought we would give the China Cottage ago one night as it was close to our guest house on a rainy night and on end or start (depending how you look at it) of the one way system in Ambleside. We were very glad we did as the set meal we choose was really nice along with some Black Sheep ale :)
The service was great by a very friendly waitress. Can't fault the place. Handy place to get a nice takeaway if you are after one too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    8
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ambleside
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Take Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Phoned our order through & it was ready on time. Good well balanced portions. Full of flavour. Will defiantly order again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a lovely little place to eat, its not the fanciest or the cheapest but the food is excellent, good sized portions and worth a visit.
Both times me and my boyfriend have been to Ambleside we've eaten here... they even do take away! You get complimentary prawn crackers (Can't go wrong) and the staff are lovely. All in all, not bad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food delicious but no atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Dated decor and no atmosphere but the food arrived quickly and was delicious. Not cheap we arrived 5 mins after their early bird deal (under £10 for several courses)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lovely food and great service, such a tiny place but well worth a visit. Enjoyed our meal, which was brought out quickly

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Cottage also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to China Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.