We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Xmas break to the wonderful Nanny Brow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nanny Brow

Save Saved
You added Nanny Brow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nanny Brow
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Clappersgate, Ambleside LA22 9NF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
5 nights for 4 midweek
Ranked #3 of 82 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Early Xmas break to the wonderful Nanny Brow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at Nanny Brow 6th-8th Dec in Loughrigg room and has the most lovely time! Nanny Brow was simply beautiful from the decor to the surroundings and little touches like different cakes each day in the room. As foodies the breakfast was fantastic, great choice.
Sue and Pete couldn't have been more helpful and not forgetting Myffy the dog. Out the back of the house was access to the hills, we aren't walkers but had a stroll to the tops and the views of Ambleside and Lake Windermere were stunning.
All in all a lovely stay in Nanny brow, Ambleside
Thank you
Sam and Loren :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
222
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Nanny Brow is a very special place to stay. I would recommend it to anyone who felt like giving themselves a treat! Completely gorgeous.
We were unaware of the presence of a dog (we had missed this when we read the description of the place) and as my husband is intolerant of dogs, Sue very kindly kept the dog hidden away during our stay! This consideration was evident throughout our time at Nanny Brow. We were made to feel so welcome and would love to return one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Loughrigg, a room at the back of the house. Although the view is not as lovely as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent three nights in the Lingmoor room and could not have asked for a better location for our first visit to The Lakes.
A very warm welcome with an individual touch - homemade cake to enjoy with a cup of tea after our long journey.
Each day was started with a hearty home cooked breakfast, and each evening there was more cake to enjoy.
Ideally located for access to all the lakes and fells in the Lake District, we would recommend Nanny Brow to anyone looking for somewhere 'a little bit special' to stay and are already planning our next visit!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Tense, nervous headache? You need a good dose of Nanny Brow! We returned to this beautiful setting to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. Just what the Doctor ordered. After recent health problems it did not take long to relax in The Whitwell Suite! It was just perfect! The moment we stepped inside it felt like coming home. Great hospitality from Sue and Mark, not to mention Myffy the friendly dog. Lovely hearty breakfasts with good friendly service. One could spend the day just looking at the views from various windows. Good location for gentle walks and great restaurants in Ambleside like Fellinis and Zefferellis. We so enjoyed the home comforts and the lovely cake left every day. We plan to visit again soon. It's the best place to forget your troubles!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenry, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Nanny Brook for a night, as part of our honeymoon. The Loughrigg room was very comfortable, with a great bed and a good en suite. The complementary cakes on arrival are a very nice touch (though we hoth had to pass, having already indulged at a Keswick coffee shop!). Nanny Brook is on the main Ambleside to Coniston road but is far enough back from the road that there's no traffic noise. Ambleside is a £5-£6 taxi ride away, with a good range of restaurants and pubs to choose from. Breakfast was very good indeed. I stay at a lot of different hotels with work, and can honestly say this was one of the best. My wife is gluten intolerant and was well catered for, with tasty gluten free drop scones. I had the more conventional full breakfast, and enjoyed it very much. All in all, I recommend Nanny Brook highly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I think everyone here has used up all the superlatives there are about Nanny Brow and it's fantastic location. It is a lovely Arts and Crafts home. Spent two nights here in the Skelwith Room which is large and spacious, has a beautiful wood bed set and matching chifferobe, and best of all has a stunning view out a huge, multi-paned window. I loved my room. I have so many photos of the view it's ridiculous. And contrary to the review regarding lack of a chair, I had not only a desk with chair, but an upholstered chair in which I could sit and enjoy the ambiance while I had my cake and tea. Every room is probably different though, certainly in size, and therefore accoutrements. The bathroom was very modern. And although I was on the parking lot side, I heard no noise and slept very well. But there were few guests when we were there. This might be different if the place were full.

Breakfast was very good, with the fruit and cereals arranged on antique sideboards. The problem is it is served in a rather short window as others have mentioned. This is unusual. A special treat is freshly made cake in your room everyday.

Also the comment regarding the driveway is very true. Coming from Ambleside it is easy to go up, although it is a bit of a blind curve for the oncoming traffic. Coming from the other direction, however, it is too sharp a turn, so Sue recommends that you go past the driveway to a tree on the left that is used for turning around. This works fine.

We were there at what I guess might be the end of their season and besides very few guests, there didn't appear to be much of a staff. Only saw Sue and Mark. And Mark only at breakfast. Otherwise it seemed to be only Sue. One night I went downstairs to have a drink in the lounge and there was no one about from whom to order. The place seemed empty and I couldn't rouse anyone. Sue eventually returned so perhaps there was a problem or emergency. It just seemed odd they would leave the place unmanned for so long. On the other hand, because of this lack of staff, it's more like staying in someone's home than in a hotel, and has a very private feel.

The price is a bit steep for Americans, but for Brits it's probably a great deal. All in all, a beautiful home in a stunning location.

Room Tip: The Skelwith Room is one of two that are upstairs and face the front with very large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Nanny Brow on 15th and 16th November 2013. We were catching up with family from Edinburgh and the lakes was an ideal half way point to meet. Ideally located, near enough to all the attractions of Ambleside and Windermere but enabling the appreciation of the full force of the dramatic Lake District scenery. On our arrival we received a very warm welcome from Mark who showed us to our room which was the Whitwell Suite. This was a wonderful large room with magnificent views up the valley. The furnishings were a delightful mix of antiques and quality fabrics. The bed was very comfortable with crisp white linen bedding. We had a large bathroom with roll top bath in which I had the bubbliest bath I have ever had and a walk-in power shower. Piping hot water and the house was lovely and warm and spotlessly clean. Super selection of teas and coffees on a tray with the most delicious lemon drizzle cake. There is a very impressive residents' lounge with log burner, just the place to relax with a G & T( locally produced ). Breakfast was top quality local produce with plenty of choice and the drop scones were amazing.
The recommended restaurants did not disappoint either and these were very local to Nanny Brow. The 'hands on' proprietors, Sue and Patrick have created a unique blend of up market B&B/ County House Hotel, the mix is spot on. We look forward very much to returning.
Malcolm and Caroline Gillies

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nanny Brow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanny Brow

Address: Clappersgate, Ambleside LA22 9NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nanny Brow 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nanny Brow sits on its own private crag, near Ambleside with views down the Brathay valley. Direct fellside access for walkers and only minutes from the stunning Langdale Valleys. A relaxing family home with excellent levels of comfort and service. Spotlessly clean accommodation, warm and spacious with individually designed rooms, friendly service and great breakfasts. Come join us and unwind…… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nanny Brow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanny Brow Hotel Ambleside
Nanny Brow Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nanny Brow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.