We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Stop For My Birthday :D” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rattle Gill Cafe

Rattle Gill Cafe
2 Bridge Street, Ambleside LA22 9DU, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 106 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING Stop For My Birthday :D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I were spending our honeymoon in Great Britain, and during our trip it happened to be my birthday. He picked to stop here for lunch as I am a vegetarian.

It could not have been more perfect. The setting was BEAUTIFUL- we sat outside and had a lovely view of a river and lots of people walking by. We weren't too hungry for lunch, so we ordered a tasting plate of cakes. Since they heard it was my birthday they put a candle for me in one of the pieces :) Took sandwiches for takeaway and they even gave us a discount! All the food was delicious.

If we lived in the UK this would be a regular spot of ours for sure. Since we don't, hopefully people who do will read this review and get there soon! We are so grateful to the owners for such a lovely meal and experience...thank you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    26
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Scrummy Cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Visited here on Sunday, we got a very warm welcome from the owners; we had coffee and a plate of sharing cakes. The cakes are so good, we got 5 cakes to try and we loved them all. My husband’s favourite was an apple cake and mine was the Victoria sponge, the portions are very generous. Such a good atmosphere and great cakes, I can understand why it was the busiest place in Ambleside on Sunday morning. Can't wait to go back and have lunch as the food looks amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lovely tasty food and lots of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent food, just a shame they don't have more tables as very popular. We sat outside and were glad as the home made cake was very good. The bowls of soup looked like whole dinners in themselves and the sandwiches were huge and looked very tasty. Definitely worth going to for a bit of lunch or a nice slice of cake.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely tucked away location. Small atmospheric cafe serving up fresh tasty light vegetarian food ideal for a lunch. We had a quiche and a platter which had a variety of various items to try such as olives, roasted vegetables, humous etc. Food was tasty and nicely presented. A couple run it and seemed very nice and welcoming. Service was good. The cafe is tiny (only a handful of tables) which is also great provided you can find a table/share one so timing can be key.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, Cumbria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely cafe - just follow the signs as it's well worth finding. Veggie Chilli was great followed by a huge slab of delicious chocolate sponge! Friendly owners/staff and great quirky interior. The only problem you may have is getting a seat as it is quite small and very popular! Worth waiting for, though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rattle Gill Cafe also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Rattle Gill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rattle Gill Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.