We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rattle Gill Cafe

Rattle Gill Cafe
2 Bridge Street, Ambleside LA22 9DU, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 106 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
The Wirral
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The Best Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A fantastic and cosy cafe in the centre of Ambleside. Excellent cakes, sandwiches and soup. A must for anyone.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    26
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Firm favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Fantastic food. The veggie chilli is the best ever and the cakes don't disappoint either. Its just hat little bit different ( and better) than anywhere else A trip to Ambleside isn't complete without a visit to Rattle Gill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had a great lunch. Place is tiny but food great and hosts very helpful for someone like me with many food intolerances!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Place to Eat in The Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Rattle Gill is easily one of my favourite places to eat and if I'm going anywhere in the Lake District at all, it is definately worth the drive into Ambleside for lunch!
The only foreseeable problem with Rattle Gill Cafe is choosing what to have because there are so many nice things on the menu. I usually order the Dipping Plate. If you like hummus and such likes, I would highly recommend this! It is comprised of plenty of toasted ciabatta type bread, feta cheese, olives, roasted vegetables, olive oil with balsamic vinegar and really tasty hummus. Very tasty, very filling.

Being a big fan of lovely homemade soups, my mum ordered sweetcorn soup this past time and after stealing a spoonful I have to admit, I had a little bit of soup-envy! So good!
You can choose whether to have your soup with crusty bread (which comes with butter and a little pot of grated cheese) or with a doorstop sandwich which is not an exaggeration!

If you go to Ambleside and you want lunch or just a brew, you must pop into Rattle Gill Cafe for the cake tasting plate. You get 5 or 6 pieces of different homemade cakes and we're not talking about small pieces like someone might bring home from a wedding for you, these are still good size pieces and a tasting plate would be enough for two or three people.

Try the milkshake too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So glad we found this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We also found this little place by chance and it was just what we wanted. The two young guys behind the counter were very welcoming and friendly. The soup was delicious (served with proper door stop granary bread, butter, and a little pot of grated cheese) and the brownie was perfect. Great place. Definitely a little gem worth looking for if you're ever in Ambleside and in need of a light yet wholesome lunch and a luxurious homemade cake.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rattle Gill Cafe also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Rattle Gill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rattle Gill Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.