We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic , a little haven in busy Ambleside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Selected April Dates
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Ambleside
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic , a little haven in busy Ambleside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

First stay at this great hotel but not my last. Everything was wonderful from the rooms to the breakfast , which was perfect and delicious and extensive. The real icing in the cake however are the wonderful facilities, the spa is ace and the option if treatments next door at a discount are too good to miss. Top place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your great review we are really chuffed you described us as a 'top' place. We look forward to your return and perhaps try out some more fab treatments in Oxley's and chill in our leisure club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    162
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
76
330
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here a few times and the Salutation never lets me down.

Friendly and efficient on check-in. Great spa facility including pool, sauna, steam room, outdoor jacuzzi. Nice lounge area, comfortable, adequate bedrooms, comfy beds, secure parking - what more do you want?

Downside - parking can be a bit tight if busy and steam room was out of order last time I visited - Plus side - Breakfast was amazing - so who cares?????

Great central location and if you're thinking of booking this hotel - just do it!

Room Tip: Higher rooms it's always easier to use the stairs to come down so ask for lower rooms if this mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind comments about our staff, leisure facilities, lounges, bedrooms and breakfast. Apologies for the steam room being out of order, we do try our best to rectify and problems like that as soon as possible. We are on hand to help with car parking and there is more to the rear of the hotel. Glad you liked our breakfast and thanks for the recommendation just to book us - much appreciated hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Salutation Hotel in Ambleside
This hotel was superb. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were, pleasant, helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The room was immaculate and well appointed. I particularly liked the provision of a rubber duck (for the kids to play with in the bath but I have to confess that I went back 70 odd years and had it in my bath)
An unusual attention to detail was the provision of Whisky for the porridge at breakfast.
The pool and gym were a bonus.

I highly recommend this hotel..

I have a niggle that applies to many eating establishments (not just this one)
I do not like the serving of main courses, requiring a knife and fork, in soup dish.
I hate it when I’m told “The chef likes it” I’m the customer and I don’t.
Am I just a grumpy old man or do others objet to this affectation?
Has the chef actually tried cutting chicken, liver steak etc in a dish with a rim that forces the knife holding hand up?

Room Tip: Are there any bad ones?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for a great review, and kind compliments about our rooms, breakfast, leisure facilities and staff- they do a great job of looking after people we really are very lucky! Pleased you liked our rubber duck we nick name him Monty and I hope you tried a wee nip of whisky with your porridge! We have spent a lot of time looking for new crockery and I'm sorry you didn't like the presentation in the larger modern rimmed dishes , we do have larger dinner plates and would have been more than happy to serve your meal on them. This aside I'm really pleased you would recommend the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, Fri-Sat and of the three couples we had the best room - we upgraded to a club room (405) which was a nice sze, comfortable bed with a good size bathroom but a very weak shower. Our friends had room 204 which had a tiny bathroom and our other friends had an OK room. We only had breakfast which was really good, a good selection of cold foods and a good cooked breakfast. The waitress was a bit too keen to get our orders for hot food and tea/coffee/toast etc. but all in all it is a nice place to stay. There is free parking but the spaces are tight and limited, I would imagine that on a really busy day you would struggle to park.

Access to the health club is a right palava! You have to fil in a medical form, hand over your room key to get a locker and equipment key - I was tired before I got into the gym itself! but when I did get there it was very pleasant with a good selection of equipment and a lovely swimming pool with jacuzzi inside and a hot tub in the serenity garden overlooking the stream at the back of the hotel.

A nice place to stay all in all.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your 'excellent' review and compliments about the hotel, staff, facilities and food. I hope you had a chance to try the hot tub- it's a great way to unwind! We look forward to welcoming you back for your third short break really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed ay this hotel for the second time. It has everything from a centra location to very helpful and friendly staff, comfortable lounges, fine dining and a leisure centre consisting of a full gymnsium, a good size swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and a Canadian hot tub. We are planning a third short break at this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Many thanks for your review and your kind comments about our staff (I agree they are a great bunch!), dinning, leisure and rooms. So pleased you liked the hot tub and I look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked a family room and a double room, it was my daughter in laws birthday and my 60th on the same Sunday. we stayed for four days and loved every moment. The family room was way above average in size, double bed, cot and real single bed (not folding type) with room to move as well, our room was again large with a balcony, the bedding was very good with super pillows, huge fully towels in the bathroom, the food was super we ate in the bistro every night, the menu is great good selection, breakfast was one of the very best I have seen for selection, amount and quality, the staff are soooooooo very good, helpful, treat you like your the most important person in the world, very good with kiddies (one 7yrs and one nosey 2yr old) nothing was too much trouble, and they are happy working in the job and hotel, most have been there years which speaks volumes in the hotel trade. all in all this hotel is what you would expect from a 5 star hotel in all ways. We used the spa each day, the kiddies enjoyed swimming and its such a good way for them to wind down, it had all the things you need to relax before dinner.

Room Tip: We had Fairfield, super room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your great comments about our rooms, facilities, leisure, food and staff. We are really are very lucky to have such great staff who enjoy their work many of them have been with us for a lot of years! We are also very pleased with our breakfast set up and have worked very hard on the selection. So glad you liked the Spa and pool it's great to relax in and of course fab for the little ones. All in all your double birthday break sounds to have ticked all the boxes and we were delighted you chose the Salutation for your celebrations, look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I first stayed at the hotel in 1998 and since then have stayed on at least another eight occasions, it is number one for me in Ambleside. They have constantly changed and improved it over the years, the downstairs gym was intriduced around 2003 if I recall correctly, the hotel and ooms have been updated and refurbished on a regular basis. The food has always been excellent, the breakfast will keep you going for most of the day! Even though some of my visits have been after a 2 or 3 year break, always noticed that the staff dont change that much, always a good sign.

It is centrally located, you could not get a better spot, with a barrier controlled car park for guests at the rear.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks for your great comments about our location, rooms, staff and breakfasts. We are so lucky to have such a central location in the village with everything on our door step, and great staff too that stay with us .We do run a rolling refurbishment programme to keep the hotels facilities and décor up to date as you have seen from your visits, look forward to your next stay when our latest 'feature' Club room will be up and running, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel Lake District
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.