We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Hire Our Twizy Car
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Ambleside
Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We love this hotel. Been 4 times. Staff are excellent and go all out to make your stay enjoyable. Food superb and location is right in the centre of Ambleside

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for your review, we are lucky to be in such a great location and have such great staff, so pleased you enjoyed yourv stay look forward to welcoming you back for a stay number 5 really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    394
    175
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
87
366
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. It is conveniently situated in the centre of Ambleside, and there are many fantastic hikes and short walks available straight from the hotel. The breakfasts are excellent, they use local high quality suppliers so the bacon and black pudding etc are delicious. We stayed in a lodge room on both occasions, which was clean, nicely decorated and warm. The only downside was the very saggy bed [on both visits in different rooms], this caused me bad back pain. Hopefully the hotel will upgrade these beds asap. The staff were brilliant, all very helpful, welcoming and cheerful! It is so nice to be smiled at when you arrive! The car park can get very busy, if you have a problem, go into reception and they will direct you to a small road behind the hotel and their overspill parking area. There was a Jazz Festival on when we were there which gave the place a real buzz, the performers were excellent, [I'm not even a Jazz fan!] If you are, I understand they do this every year, so be here next October. Try Dodds restaurant if you want a change for an evening meal, [only 300 metres from the hotel] it's very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us during our ever popular Jazz weekend. We are very lucky to have such a central location right in the heart of Ambleside with everything more or less on our doorstep. We are also lucky to have such a great team of staff and I'm pleased you were well looked after and also enjoyed our award winning breakfast's... we are very proud of them! Apologies about your mattress we are in the process of changing all the beds through out the hotel and upgrading the ones in our Club rooms, it's a big job and unfortunatley it has to be done in stages. Thank you very much for your comments I look forward to welcoming you back perhaps for another Jazz break in March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The best thing about it is its warm and friendly ambience, largely due to the staff team, but it is also such a comfortable and aesthetically pleasing place too. On this visit, we witnessed the owner interacting with the staff one morning, and his own warm and humorous manner clearly helps to maintain staff morale, which in turn benefits the guests. Rather the opposite of Basil Fawlty!
We stayed in room 115 and really enjoyed having a terrace with table and chairs, overlooking the fells ( and the whirlpool bath).
I gave the maximum rating because of all the above, plus the marvellous breakfasts. However, there is one caveat: the other meals are comparatively disappointing for the prices asked. However, one of the many benefits of the location is the plethora of excellent cafes and restaurants on the doorstep, which may affect the hotel's commitment in terms of menu choice and quality of food offered I guess, as so many guests may choose to eat elsewhere.
We will be back!
June and Roger Elliott

Room Tip: 116 is great, and 115 is too, just smaller. However, both have large terraces with table and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookson1342, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Many thanks for your review, your comments on the hotel it's staff, facilities and rooms are much apprecaited. I really enjoyed your comment about our owner he will find tha amusing he really is a hands on and really gets involved the staff all enjoy working for him and I hope that shows in their friendlly and helpfull attitude. Pleased you enjoyed room 115 the balcony is an added bonus.Your comments about our breakfast were great, I was sorry to hear your comments about our other meals. Apologies that you felt we did not come up to the mark here, we have introduced a new Bistro menu and have had great comments from guest's. Your feedback is really important and i'm pleased that you will be back to stay with us again, look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here on a DBB basis, having previously enjoyed similar deals at other Great Westerns in the area. The breakfasts were excellent, but the quality of the dinners varied, with the emphasis seemingly on quantity rather than quality. There was only a single beer available at the bar.
Mother had a 'superior' room, which was a reasonable size. I had a 'standard' room, which whilst adequate for one person would be a bit tight for two.
There is a surprisingly large indoor pool with a sauna and steamroom adjoining. The gym area is rather smaller, though they have made the best of the area available with a good range of dumbbells along with several modern aerobic machines.
The location is very central, with easy access to shops and pubs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Salutation for our Anniversary, after wanting to stay there for many years. We stayed in the WOODLANDS room, words cannot express how lovely the room is. The bathroom is superb, and the whole room is decorated to a high standard, with two televisions and a little fridge. Its just perfect, would be great for a honeymoon! We walked over to the hotel, as it is set just over the way, and enjoyed the best breakfast in the world, and excellent service too!!
After having a lovely day out we wandered over to the hotel and went in the pool and sauna, and steam room also there is a hot tub outside!!! Cannot fault this hotel, give yourself a treat, and book in soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a club room, although more expensive, worth the price, and of course you could ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review, so pleased you liked our Woodland's room we are very pleased with it and think it works well with its great view over the village. Your right it's a popular room with honeymooners! Thank you too for the great comments on our leisure and our award winning breakfast's, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights earlier in the year and were very impressed. the location is central Ambleside yet the noise of the town is unknown and we stayed in one of the outer lodges which was quite good. The rooms were spacious and the bathroom was large too.
Breakfast was a wide range of cooked or cold foods and very filling!
After our walks/shopping we were in the pool and gym area and loved the outdoor heated hot tub especially as it was freezing cold in March and raining it still felt nice once in it!! the sauna and steam room was a fabulous cleanser for the two days.
The bar area on the evening was very chilled with a fire place (if i remember correctly) and prices were decent.
I would definitely recommend here as the staff were friendly, rooms were clean and the facilities were fabulous in a perfect location. I would return here for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Try and get a outer lodge at the back of the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review so pleased you had a excellent and relaxing break with us , that's what we like to hear and that you enjoyed our facilities, rooms, and award winning breakfast. I agree the hot tub is a must and just as good come rain or shine! Hope to welcome you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

One year since my last visit to the "Sally" and my previous review.
The hotel is as ever, comfortable, welcoming & professionally run.
A big change has been the addition of two new lounges with the Bar area refurnished,making relaxing even more so.
A new entrance has been created enabling residents staying in the lodges to gain quick access to the main Hotel, no more long walks in the rain!
Can only continue to recommend this fine establishment!

Room Tip: The rooms facing over Ambleside with a view of Loughrigg are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcookson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am really pleased you liked our recent refurbishment, the addition of the new lounge and entrance for the Lodge rooms has made a big difference to the hotel and seems to have gone down very well with all our guest's .Thank you also for your kind comments about our continuing standards and our friendly staff we are realy lucky yo have such a great team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Sally' again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel Lake District
Ambleside Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.