We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Beautiful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterhead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waterhead to your Saves list
Waterhead
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
GreenLeadersSilver level
Croston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My partner and I went to stay at this hotel for the night back in November for one night and what a night of luxury it was! We drove up to his beautiful hotel overlooking the lake which I also had a fantastic view of from the hotel room. The room itself was huge with a super queen size bed which slept us very comfortably. The hotel was very clean and has exceptionally tasteful décor. In the room was a separate lounge area and best of all I could watch the TV from the bath! We would both defiantly recommend this hotel. Perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear JadeAndIanD,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay from back in November. I was amused to read that you experienced the ultimate relaxation - watching TV from the bath! We hope that you will come and visit us again soon.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    198
    40
    4
    8
See reviews for
141
768
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Congleton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I organised this trip as a surprise for my partners birthday. Parking was very awkward but we did manage to find a spot eventually.

The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was also fantastic with soap etc being provided. The little extras such as fresh coffee they offer on an evening in the room to go with the local gingerbread biscuits just added to the excellence of the hotel.

The breakfast was one of the best I've been served in a hotel. Thy offer a buffet of croissants, cakes, yoghurts fruit etc but then there is also the option to order cooked breakfasts such as a full English, a vegetarian breakfast, salmon etc

The a la carte restaurant food was a little bland and the vegetarian options poor considering what they offer vegetarians at breakfast.

The cocktails are fab and the choc dip ice creams you can buy from the shop opposite the hotel were great. The views are fantastic even in November and I would recommend visiting fellinis as the food at this restaurant was fantastic despite it being a Vegetarian restaurant.

Rooms are a bit pricey but for the standard of the rooms/view/breakfast it is worth it for a special occasion!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Yioda-E,

Many thanks for your review of your stay from back in November, it was rewarding to hear that you had a great stay for your partner's birthday. I am pleased to let you know that our vegetarian offerings have had a complete review and we now receive very positive feedback from our vegetarian guests, so I hope that we can welcome you back to sample some of our new choices!

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Lovelly stay, parking was awkward but available, great room very comfortable bed, clean. It was a very nice touch being offered fresh coffee with gingerbread biscuits in the evening.

Breakfast was superb, even offering a veggie breakfast option.

Only lost a point because the a la carte meal in the restaurant could have been more flavourful

Would definitely return

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Mattboyd,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was sorry to read you were disappointed with our restaurant menu back in November, and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future to try our new menu.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just returned from a week long trip to the Lakes. This stay formed 2 days of that. Lovely hotel, friendly staff and perfectly placed to explore. The room was excellent although the lake view was a bit disappointing and there was noise from the air conditioner below. Food wonderful, served in a formal but friendly atmosphere. Would we go again? For sure.

Room Tip: Numbers greater than 32 on the ground floor would get a better lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Steve B,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. Just a note that room 32 is actually classed as a non-lake view room, so any glimpse of the lake is a bonus! We do, however offer lake view rooms with fantastic outlooks over the lake, just enquire with our reservations department. We hope to welcome you back to Waterhead in the near future.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a lovely venue for a relaxing break.The attentive dining room staff can't do enough for you and you are greeted by name on entering .We chose a luxury lake view room which had all sorts of little extras,fruit topped up daily,speciality gingerbread biscuits,a welcome gin and tonic ,crisps and nuts on arrival ,and yes,fresh milk in a vacuum jug each day to go with an excellent selection of teas.The bed was Queen sized and very comfortable ,luxurious pillows as well. I can't wait to go back .

Room Tip: Room no.seven has a lovely view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Patricia S,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of room 7, which is one of our newly upgraded luxury lake view rooms with all the little extras you have mentioned. We do hope we can welcome you back to Waterhead soon.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent a very enjoyable couple of nights here with grandparents, 7 year old daughter and dog! The staff and service was excellent. Our room was large and very comfortable complete with dog bed and bowl was a lovely touch. The breakfast, bar meals and restaurant food we had was very good especially the fish and chips! Great location next to the lake.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear AnabellesMum,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your family stay with us in May. I was so pleased to read that you were all, especially the dog, well looked after and enjoyed yourselves. We hope to welcome you all back to Waterhead soon.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband took me to this hotel on my 30th birthday, on a bed, dinner and breakfast deal which was excellent value for money as the restaurant was top quality. We upgraded to a lake view room (room 8) which was huge and well worth the extra money for a special occasion. The view was amazing, especially in the morning! All toiletries and drinks/snacks (including G&T, crisps, gingerbread, nuts and jelly beans) were of very high quality and the room was attractive and clean. Fresh milk was a welcome bonus and this was replenished during the turn-down service whilst we were at dinner. We greatly appreciated the fact that the chef in the restaurant included a 30th birthday message on my dessert!
Breakfast was delicious, and the service was just as good as it had been the night before.
The only niggle was that as the room was on the ground floor and overlooked the outside bar area, it was quite noisy even with the window shut until almost midnight. Still worth it though to have that amazing view.
Thanks to all of the staff at this hotel and we look forward to coming again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 8 is great - ground floor with a lovely lake view, large bathroom and huge bay window to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear helenjd20,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. I was so pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and especially your happy birthday plate from the kitchen! We do hope to welcome you back soon, please do not hesitate to ask for a higher floor room if you enjoy the views but wish for a slightly quieter night.

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Waterhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.