We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterhead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waterhead to your Saves list
Waterhead
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Walking break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

What a wonderfull hotel. Right on the shore of Lake Windermere and just a few minutes walk into Ambleside. Bus stops right outside too if you want to venture further without the car. The standard of appointment is extremely high throughout and the staff are so helpfull and friendly. At breakfast on our first morning I was greeted by name! How do they do that? Wonderfull food. A perfect few days break.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    186
    35
    3
    8
See reviews for
134
707
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

As owners of 2 labs it is so hard to find a nice hotel that will let them stay and feel comfortable. Well we found it right on the shores of Lake Windermere. Fab hotel totally dog friendly. Rooms well set out and they put dog beds and treats for the important guests! Food excellent and staff cannot do enough for you. Location great and you cannot beat seeing the dawn come up over the lake

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Four trips to the Waterhead now, and four great reviews. We're so comfortable here that we sometimes just stay in the room and unwind. Staff all excellent, very professional. Food is delicious, access to Low Wood pool, sauna, hot tub etc is a brucie bonus too. Can't recommend it enough.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My family stayed for two nights, dinner, bed and breakfast. We enjoyed every part of our stay as the hotel was lovely, the food was good and the staff were friendly and attentive. The room was very comfortable and there was even a little bed for our dog. We will definitely become regulars now we have discovered this little gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a belated birthday treat for her. We arrived before the check in time so had a spot of lunch in the bar and a drink and then went to use the Leisure facilities at the waterheads sister hotel the low wood bay.

Once we arrived back we checked into room 9 a large room with stunning views over lake Windermere. The room was spotlessly clean and has plenty of extra little treats like ginger bread, decent coffee, selection of tea and a selection of good quality toiletries.

We dined in the restaurant which was quiet, I had duck sprig rolls for starters which were cooked to perfection, rack of lamb which came pink as ordered and i chose a half portion of sticky toffee pudding for desserts. All of which were washed down with a couple of pints of the excellent local lager. My wife chose scollops, duck for mains and had the cheese board which she finished in the room with what was left of the decent riojca (bin 49)

We had breakfast in the room which was very good although we thought the £7.50 per person surcharge was a little steep.

Check out was quick and efficient and topped off what was another excellent stay. The staff all go the extra mile and are a credit to the management team. A special mention to the bar man on Sunday night who was very pleasant and couldn't do enough for the customers.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beith, Ayrshire
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Waterhead. I can't recommend the hotel enough!! The staff were welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms are superb, large and very comfortable. The small fire in the room was a welcoming touch on a dreich day! The bed was huge and very comfortable, the one small complaint I would have is the mattress topper seemed to hold the heat and we were sweltering during the night. Bathrooms were clean, modern and well fitted. We had do dinner in the restaurant on our first evening, the food was superb! Everything was well presented and tasted delicious. Breakfast was also excellent, with my husband particularly enjoying the freshly made pancakes. We hope to return in the not too distant future!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, rooms were clean and the beds very comfy. The hotel is a good distance out of town centre so noise was not an issue.

Breakfast was ok, not the best but not the worst.

Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

I did find the hotel a bit basic compared to what I was expecting when I read the detail on website - was expecting a bit more wow.

We weren't disappointed though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.