We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterhead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waterhead to your Saves list
Waterhead
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
GreenLeadersSilver level
Suffolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed as a family party of 7 with two very young children. The accommodation and food were excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful with the childrens requirements. All this with the wonderful scenic lake just across the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    198
    40
    4
    8
See reviews for
141
768
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a high standard hotel in beautiful surroundings. The room I had looked out on to the lake and it was lovely to sit and watch. The hotel rooms were well presented with some extra touches e.g. Local gingerbread. These touches just made it feel like a special place. Staff were very helpful and attentive. The food was of a high quality with a wide choice to choose from albeit portions were not huge. This did not matter to me as it was really well presented and all the food I had was fresh and tasty. My only reason for not awarding this excellent was the parking arrangements; parking spaces are very limited and small. I was therefore concerned about where to leave my car. Having said this I would not hesitate to go back as it was an enjoyable stay in a very useful location for getting around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

W were booked here as part of a tour of the Lakes District and found it comfortable, quiet and with a lovely view. The room was bright and clean, although the furniture surfaces were a bit worn. The hotel offered a nice breakfast and our group dinner was good

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penkridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The staff were very helful at all times and remembered our names and what we liked to drink.
The food was very well prepared with lots of choice. beautiful views of the lake and impressed with peoples swimming, it must have been freezing!!! Access adequate with disabled scooter.

Room Tip: Could do with a walk in shower in the disabled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Everything was perfect. Nice clean rooms, good food (more than we could eat). Service very proffesional and polite. Will come back with family or friends. Very close to beautiful sites. Would definately recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our second visit to this wonderful hotel. (stayed in Feb for hubby's 50th) We were here for 2 nights to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary, so how lovely on arrival to receive a free upgrade to a lake view room (no 10) plus balloons and a card in the room. It is lovely touches like this that make the hotel special. As I mentioned in my last review for the Waterhead, everything you need is available - tea, coffee with cafetiere, Grasmere gingerbread, fresh fruit and ice. The beds are very comfortable, a lovely nights sleep and the bathroom is very modern and well equipped with plenty of good sized toiletries (nice underfloor heating too!) On return from our (wet) walk up Skiddaw, it was heaven to soak in a hot bubble bath. We dined in the restaurant on our first evening, absolutely delicious. I had duck for starter and venison for main - both cooked to perfection. Hubby chose the trio of lamb and said it was one of the best he had ever tasted! On arrival back to our room, staff had placed our bottle of wine into an ice bucket and had replenished our coffee, biscuits etc. Breakfast is also scrumptious, so much variety to choose from and set us up for the day. There is a lovely atmosphere throughout the hotel and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we never had time to sample the spa at The Low Wood (too busy fell walking!) but I am confident we will return so maybe next time. We have recommended friends to visit this delightful hotel and we hope to be back very soon.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are well worth it. (rooms 7-11 are very nice) Especially if you have a glorious suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Sillygilly31,

Many thanks for the great review and thank you for choosing the Waterhead to spend another special occasion. It was very pleasing to read you had another memorable stay and we all look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for two days over the bank holiday weekend and the experience was excellent. Rooms clean and modern. Food first class and plentiful. Breakfast is outstanding. Bar and restaurant staff particularly helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Would definitely recommend and intend to return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Waterhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.