We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterhead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waterhead to your Saves list
Waterhead
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at the Waterhead for 2 nights over this weekend. We were welcomed brightly at reception and our Lake View room (room 10) was just perfect. Small touches like the cafetiere with 2 different types of coffee (refilled in the day time and we were offered extra on the Saturday night as well), good quality bed linen, DVD player (hundreds of DVD's in reception), ice in a chiller in the room just made a very good hotel excellent.
The room was spotless and the bathroom well stocked with good quality toiletries, heated floor in the bathroom was another lovely touch.
We ate at the hotel on our first evening and although my partners steak was delicious I was a little disappointed with the lamb shank, that was a very small point compared to the perfection everywhere else. Breakfast had excellent choice and lovely fresh fruit salad and pastries as well as the usual cooked options.
The people working at the hotel were all very friendly and hard working - no exaggeration to say nothing was too much trouble.
Would I stay here again? Yes, without a shadow of a doubt. We used a discount voucher to stay here from an online website but I would pay full price. Autumn is a lovely time to stay in this area, I suspect that it may be a little too busy out and about in the summer for me!
Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Room 10 was lovely but there was a little noise overhead. You may want to try a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    198
    40
    4
    8
See reviews for
141
768
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lincolinshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our 1st visit to this hotel and it wont be our last. Couldnt fault hotel it was fantastic.Given roon upgrade which was fab lake view and enormous comfy bed thanks. Best breakfast ever and quality outstanding. Had evening meal on both nights while a bit pricey it was worth it. Location right on lake was great and easy parking was appreciated

Room Tip: higher room gives best lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This was our second time at the Waterhead and we're pleased to report that nothing has changed - thankfully. We love this place. The rooms offer just enough luxury without feeling too showy, the staff are attentive and work REALLY hard, and the food is superb. Hard to fault.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our fourth visit to The Lakes this year, we usually stay at the Low Wood in Ambleside but decided to stay at Waterhead instead and we are so pleased we did. We couldn't fault the hotel, it was great. The location is just lovely, with fantastic views of the lake, even though it is surrounded by roads you don't notice any road noise. The decor of the communal areas was very tasteful and relaxing and the bedroom we stayed in (room 11) was very nicely decorated and the huge bed very, very comfortable and we had a lovely lake view. The breakfast was delicious! A great deal of effort has gone into providing a truly welcoming hotel with a lot of attention to detail. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It goes without saying that we will be staying here again!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor then you don't get any noise from others walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nice room, incredibly helpful staff, good breakfast, would not hesitate to recommend. Liked the complimentary gingerbread.
Would ask for a room with a bath next time as the shower pressure was a bit feeble! But this would be our only minor gripe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This was our second time at the Waterhead and we're pleased to report that nothing has changed - thankfully. We love this place. The rooms offer just enough luxury without feeling too showy, the staff are attentive and work REALLY hard, and the food is superb. Nowhere better to see out autumn than here, so comfy and does everything to a five-star standard (in my opinion). We were booked in for a two-night break but decided to stay for an extra night it was so good. I'd recommend any of the English Lakes Hotels but this one just pips the rest. England at its best!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Yet again a wonderful stay at the Waterhead Ambleside. This hotel cannot be faulted! The position of the hotel is second to none, as is the food, staff, service, rooms, cleanliness, comfort and value for money.

Room Tip: Please pay the upgrade for a lake view room, they are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Waterhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.