We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our favourite but not perfect.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterhead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waterhead to your Saves list
Waterhead
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Still our favourite but not perfect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We've stayed at the Waterhead before on several occasions - usually in one of the lake view rooms in the older part of the hotel. This time, we went at the last minute and got the last standard room in the more recent extension. We weren't expecting too much but were pleasantly surprised when the room standard was just as good as before - minus view (of course). Modern furnishings, well maintained give this hotel the edge compared to the plethora of poor, tired old fashioned places that the Lakes has in abundance. I am starting to miss having a safe in the room and I do think that a fridge/minibar would be welcome also but overall, this is a real haven and urban boutique style in a picturesque location.
We had dinner in the hotel also (we always do). As ever - it was a lovely atmosphere and it really tries to capture some fine dining elements. It doesn't quite pull it off and there are culinary errors but it still gets our vote.
My recommendation to visitors is to give the Waterhead a try (especially if you have limited time and are used to city hotel standards). To the Waterhead, I'd say, don't sit back. All isn't perfect and you need to be ahead of the competition by a little more than this in future.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms in the old house are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Rambler,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. As a returning guests it is particluarly important to ensure we maintain our high standard ensuring we take every opportunity to improve on your last stay. I appreciate all of your feedback and you can be sure we are constantly looking at new and innovative ways of improving our product for our returning guests like yourselves. I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    185
    35
    3
    8
See reviews for
134
706
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Horwich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Me husband and I spent a delightful 2 day break at the Waterhead in the middle of March.
Lovely bedrooms, with the most comfortable beds we have slept in.
Delicious breakfast with a wide choice for every taste.
Particularly well positioned restaurant, with most tables overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here through a Livingsocial voucher. The hotel is billed as 4 star boutique, I'm giving it 3.5 star and semi boutique. The boutique bit is easy, yes the hotel has a great modern feel, and has been refurbed to a good standard...but not a high standard. For me true boutique hotels have to be architected that way, you can't just refurb to a true boutique hotel.

The facilities in the room were excellent, great tv with near-hd picture (why oh why haven't all hotels got this yet...) ipod dock radio, nice fire with heater & very generous tea/coffee facilities. A lovely touch was fresh gingerbread from the awesome shop in Grasmere every day. But whilst it was clean the fit and finish of the bathroom wasn't that good, eg gap between bath and door through to the brickwork!

All staff without exception were friendly, helpful and wanted to help guests however they could. However the service in the restaurant was of a fairly basic standard, for example no I don't want asking three times in 4 minutes if I'm ready to order, and when you pour my wine please don't rest the bottle on my glass, and take away empties. It was a bit of a "get you in and get you out" feel. Breakfast was great though, lovely nice local produce.

I would go again, but only on a discount/voucher deal.

Room Tip: You can still see the lake from non lake rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear OrgasmicCry,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, it is only through constant feedback we can assess all our products and services that we provide in the hope to improve for future guests. I appreciate all of your comments and was pleased you enjoyed the majority of your stay. You can be sure should you return in the future i will do every effort to ensure we meet your 4 star expectation.

I look forward to welcome you back in the future,

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

2nd visit to this hotel and as good as before. Super staff, exceptional breakfast, helpful reception, always with a smile. will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

This was my second time at the hotel and I was not dissapointed. I have an allergy to milk and Steve took it upon himself to make sure I didn't order any thing that contained it. Staff very attentive and food delicious. Position of hotel brilliant with lots of walks in area. Will return!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Lovely stay. Poor welcome by receptionist. Rest of staff, pleasant, friendly and helpful. The upgrade really shows. A lovely room en suite. Really comfortable bed. Super bathroom. Everything we needed and more. Food was very good. Easy parking. Our one criticism, we were on the top floor. Endless stairs, heavy cases,!!! A priority should be a lift.

Room Tip: If your less mobile insist on a groundfloor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just returned from a weekend break a christmas present buy a gift. Good hotel in a brill location the staff were first class friendly and helpful.We had a lake view room we will return in the autumn and mabye bring our son and daughter with there partners.Thanks for a nice weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.