We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room in the heart of town.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Churchill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Churchill Inn to your Saves list
The Churchill Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 109 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Victoria BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely room in the heart of town.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

You enter through the pub which is probably typical but a bit confusing the first time. There is no elevator but a lovely, wide set of stairs to walk up. Being a bit older establishment, the room was larger than most we have stayed in,in Europe, and it had a proper bathroom (i.e. with separate shower stall!) Though not decorated in the latest style it was contemporary and clean and in good shape. The staff were low key and friendly and the pub atmosphere, which is basically your living room, is quintessentially English. We were there for Trivia Night and had lots of fun meeting some young students from the local outdoors university and generally people watching. Ambleside is a great location, central to many of the sights and activities of the Lake District.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    64
    56
    36
    27
See reviews for
18
149
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the inn for three nights 14th Sept. The room was very clean and the bathroom looked fairly new. We were given clean towels every day and room was cleaned while you had breakfast.My husband had a cooked breakfast every day and had no complaints about the meal. We only had 1 evening meal there which was a Sunday roast,plenty on your plate,but typical pub meal. We were on the second floor facing the street,in the evenings it could be quite noisey hearing the customers going out to have a smoke,and you could hear the karoke on Friday eve. The car park was very tight to go down to, one morning we were blocked in , waited till we could get out. Ambleside was a lovely little town but would not stay at the Inn again,just a locals pub really.

Room Tip: Select 3rd floor up and at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited this Establishment on 15th September (My wifes Birthday). We entered the car park which had a very tight and narrow entrance and parked up at 1130am. We went for a walk and then booked in at 1pm. We then took our belongings to our room and went out to the car park where we saw that another unknown vehicle had scraped the front nearside and left the scene without informing anyone. We reported this to the Pub and they said CCTV would be checked and they would let us know the outcome. The day after at around 4pm I asked if anything had been found and was told NO. I was not happy with this and suggested that I be allowed to look at the CCTV. The Manager/Owner? asked me to come back the following day at 4.40pm. I duly did and went throught the CCYV with this man, funnily enough a black out occurred on the CCTV tape sometime before the time we found the damage to our car and the rest of the Tape showed nothing hitting our car. I asked about the black out and he said he didnt know what had caused it. I of course had to accept this and stand the cost of the damage to my car but to say I was unhappy was an understatement. The Owner/Manager suggested to me that the damage had been caused elsewhere, maybe on the journey up when we stopped for a cuppa but as we hadnt and I knew quite categorically that the damage had occurred on their car park I told him that it hd happened on their premises. C'est la vie! No joy at all with the Churchills state of the art CCTV system. If blackouts can occur, whats the point. If a blackout/power cut had occurred why did it not affect all the cameras? Who knows.
Anyway, back to the establishment, we have stayed here fefore and found it acceptable and clean, the rooms being very nice and comfortable. The breakfasts were superb and the one evening meal we had was enjoyable. Most of the staff were great apart from a young man behind the bar, to say he was surly and miserable is understating the meaning of those wors. He spent most of his time away from customers and playing on his phone. The young lady who served breakfasts and also carried afore mentioned in the bar was great.

Room Tip: Not all roloms have baths and if ur walking in the lakes a bath is a pre-requisite. Ask for a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Aug 12 and did not use the car, walked cycled and had a lovely break, the sunday roast in the pub was good and breakfast was good but our lasting memory was of the really bad coffee at breakfast despite being told on the second day it then got worse two spoons of crap coffee per cup. When the pub offers bean to cup coffee it would not be hard to offer this at a cut price and we would have left completely happy, its the small details that make the difference not cost cutting. Hope they improve and we may be back because otherwise it was great - so for the tea drinkers I would recommend it. And visit Dodds restaurant it was great

Room Tip: The rooms at the top Scafell level has good views but is a hell of a climb after a day out on the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights in September with my husband and my son and daughter-in-law with their 8 months only daughter. When i first saw the place i thought, oh oh, what have i done, its a pub! but i was very pleasantly suprised. The rooms were lovely, really big and spacious, really clean and had a really comfy bed. The only drawback was that we were on the fourth floor, and there was no lift!. It is right in the middle of Ambleside with plenty of pubs and restaurants, shops etc. We had dinner the first night which was pretty good. Breakfast was excellent, you could order whatever you wanted and it was all freshly cooked. The staff were ok, not terribly smiley but polite and efficient. I would recommend this Inn and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We recently visited the lakes and as always spend a few days in ambleside. We always find ourselves nipping in to Churchills for "1 drink" and end up several hours later leaving. However on our recent visit this was not the case at all, We visited on Wednesday 5th September and we have around five rounds of drinks the service was great and was as nice as we remember it however we returned on Thursday the 6th and it couldnt have been worse! We ordered two pints of Carling after a 7 mile trek from Windermere and thought we would stay for a few hours and have lunch too.

While having our first pint a chap who appeared to be management told one of the bar staff that he had put all of the drinks off apart from Fosters and a foreign lager. Even though there were customers in and none of the customers were drinking either of these lagers. I waited twenty minutes or so by which time the chap had poured one pint from each tap and there was roughly 8 pint pints of ales, guinness and lager on the bar to which he directed one of the bar staff with no life about him whatsoever to give all of the drinks to the chap that was sitting on his own. There was no offer made prior to putting everything off that if you were going to be getting another round in to get it prior to this happening. The pumps were all put off at around 1230 which seems crazy as when I apporached the bar to order another round of drinks I was told they would be off for at least one hour. We had planned an afternoon having some drinks and some lunch prior to leaving for home the following day. It is safe to say we will not be returning to Churchills again!

We found a lovely place a few minutes up the road The White Lion Hotel where we had lunch, around 6 rounds of drinks including malt whisky and they even gave us a free round to thank us for our business. Crazy how so short a distance apart can mean a world apart in service and the White Lion was also over £1 cheaper per round.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at a cottage in Ambleside and ate out on several occasions. Would definitely recommend Churchills for the best food and value for money. Quick efficient service and large portions. Sunday roast was superb. Make sure you give it a try and sit in the eating area at the back which is quieter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Churchill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Inn

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Churchill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Churchill's accommodation consists of 16 double rooms, all recently refurbished to a high standard and many with wonderful, scenic views of the local fells. We welcome all visitors equally, however, we do not accept bookings from Hen or Stag parties. All of our rooms have the following facilities to help make your stay as comfortable as possible: En-Suite Bathroom Tea/Coffee Making Facilities LCD Television with multiple channels Free Wi-Fi. PARKING IN AMBLESIDE OR ANY TOWN CENTRE IS OF A PREMIUM , AND THE CHURCHILL INN IS UNIQUE IN THAT REGARDS BY HAVING ITS OWN CAR PARK, THE ENTRANCE IS QUIET NARROW BUT ACCESSIBLE , IF YOU WOULD PREFER TO PARK OFF SITE THERE ARE NUMEROUS CAR PARKS WITHIN A FIVE MINUTE WALK FROM THE INN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Churchill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Inn Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Churchill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.