We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food , friendly service but check the bill.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Apple Pie

The Apple Pie
Rydal Road, Ambleside, England
015394 33679
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 91 Restaurants in Ambleside
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Bakery, British, Café, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Description: We are independent craft bakers with a cafe and rooms. Established in 1975 we are a family business situated in the heart of Ambleside serving hearty breakfasts, delicious espresso based coffees, wholesome lunches and indulgent afternoon teas as well as all the esentials for a packed lunch on the fells or by the lake. Everything baked on site daily. We use locally sourced ingredients where possible - local butcher & milkman and free range eggs as well as flour from a Cumbrian miller and tea from Farrers in Kendal. Our best sellers are Apple Pie (spiced or plain) and bath buns.'Baking at its best in Lakeland'
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely food , friendly service but check the bill.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We always have breakfast here as we stay in the Apple Pie rooms. The food is hot and served quickly and we have never had any complaints regarding the team who work there. Plenty of choice so again no complaints.
My only grumble is my husband ordered the large breakfast and a coffee. With this breakfast you are supposed to get a free refill after the initial cost of the coffee but we we charged twice for coffee. This happened both days. Just check the bill before paying.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApplePieAdmin, Manager at The Apple Pie, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello, thank you for the review.

With regards to top up drinks and the bill, our electronic waiter pad will order the top up drink so it prints and this will change to quantity but the price will remain the same so you are only being charged for one coffee per Big One, Veggie or American breakfast.

I am looking into changing this on the bill so it’s clearer to see.

Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    248
    74
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty tangy apple treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had afternoon tea. The apple pie cafe is located in the centre of Ambleside. The apple pie served with ice cream was delicious. The service received was also great. Staff are friendly and offer a choice of hot or cold apple pie with home made ice cream or cream. It was just what we needed after a very long drive from London.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

A little expensive but food quality is great so worth paying for. Check your bill properly to ensure you haven't been charged for the free tea/coffe refills with your breakfast. Seeded toast is beautiful....mmmmmm

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“To infinity and beyond….”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Apple Pie should be renamed the Tardis. Small from the outside, upon entering it stretches into infinity. Wife and I visited for an early breakfast. Both had full English each was excellent, made from good quality produce. Nice coffee and tea. Reasonable price First round of toast was cold but this was changed without any fuss when mentioned. Service very good, coffee very good. If you want to see and use an antique hand dryer visit the Mens room. Tip: wear your earplugs and don't expect dry hands.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“First Visit.. and will return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Popped in for a drink after a walk, ended up having cream cakes and milkshakes.. they were lovely everything very fresh and dog friendly too which is a bonus!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleamble, Owner at The Apple Pie, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thankyou for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and always love to see people come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Apple Pie also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Apple Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Apple Pie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.