We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 1 night stay at Claremont” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont House Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Claremont House Guest House to your Saves list
Claremont House Guest House
Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect 1 night stay at Claremont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Me and my mum stayed at Claremont House during a quiet week in Feb. We were the only ones there, which was really great as it made the guesthouse really quiet! We arrived in the Lakes really early and as we had some time before I met up with my uni group, we went to enquire as to where we could park later in the day (check was at 3pm), and they let us straight into the room as it was already available! Really handy for security as we were parking in some secluded spots during the day. The night time stay was lovely and the owners were so friendly with lots of tales from the hills. Breakfast was amazing (although there was no grapefruit and prunes, but that may have been due to it being just us!) and Dave actually came to ask our opinion on everything as he was considering changing suppliers. Made us feel like VIPs! A truly lovely bed and breakfast that we will definitely return to!

Room Tip: Go onto the website http://claremontambleside.co.uk/ and they have pictures of all the rooms and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I couldn't agree more with the comments in "Weekend Stay". Our room was very good and Dave kindly took our bags to our room on arrival. The breakfast was a good day starter and his local knowledge of sites and walks seems encyclopaedic.

Claremont House is so handy to the myriad of eateries and pubs that Ambleside has to offer.

Don't take our word for it. see for yourselves.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We arrived at the Claremont House Friday evening and was welcomed by the owner who took our case and showed us immediately to our room. The room was comfortable, spotlessly clean and had all the facilities we needed for what was to be a lovely weekend.
The owners did there best to tell us about the area; they are very passionate about it. We took the advice on an easy walk which contained some stunning views and was just as it was explained.
Breakfast was good and put us in good stead for the day ahead.
The location is great just a short stumble from good food and drink and all that Ambleside has to offer.
All in all a great stay in a real home from home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Just back from a weekend break at Claremont House and couldn't fault it in any way.Dave met us on arrival and was so friendly and welcoming.He gave us loads of advice on where to eat and advised us on our walk the following day.The room was spotless and very nicely presented.A gorgeous breakfast was served by Angie and nothing was too much trouble to them.Didn't expect clean bedding and towels but that is what greeted us on our 2nd day.We were offered a drying room for our wet clothing,the heated towel rail was on and lots of hot water on tap.Will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed for one night with my mum on Saturday 16th July. The service was outstanding from arrival to departure and our room was perfect, lovely view, very spacious and clean and had everything you would require for a stay in a bed and breakfast. Breakfast was also fantastic. The location is excellent and I will not hesitate to stay here again when returning to Ambleside. I highly recommend a stay here for everyone and thank you to the hosts, you are a credit to Claremont House.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Our room was spotless, modern and comfortable. The owners were really helpful and chatty, made us feel welcome and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely especially the black pudding. The only negative point which is no fault to the B&B is the noise from of traffic from the main road. On our next stay we may request a room at the rear.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

A warm welcome on arrival - help with bags offered. Comfortable warm rooms well furnished and decorated. Guidance with where to eat locally. Excellent breakfast. Help with walk suggestions according to need and loan of walking poles for injured walker. We have been before we shall hopefully come again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claremont House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House Guest House

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Claremont House, we are centrally located in Ambleside, right in the heart of the English Lake district, a friendly village with buildings of the Lakeland stone with a spectacular mountain backdrop. We are ideally situated to tour and explore one of Britain's most beautiful National Parks, with some of the UK's finest scenery and the country's most popular climbing and upland walking areas just a short walk or drive away. It is less than a minute walk to the many restaurants, pubs, shops and park offered by Ambleside and only 10 minutes walk from the north end of Windermere Lake which offers a variety of water activities, water sports and Lake Cruises. In the town, you will find everything you need to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Claremont House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont House Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claremont House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.