We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot stop smiling, a wonderful break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Randy Pike

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Randy Pike
Save
You added Randy Pike to your Saves list
Ambleside LA22 0JP , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 109 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Cannot stop smiling, a wonderful break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed a night in the Vallelay Suite and we were most impressed.
Arrived to home-made muffins and complimentary bottles of lager/prosecco and soft drinks chilling in the fridge. Room is exquisite, very quirky mix of decoration, with bold print wallpaper and curtains, wooden floor and a huge bed (which was extremely comfortable). Tea/coffee making facilities, TV. The bathroom is wonderful, his and hers sinks with huge double ended slipper bath and walk in rainshower. Linens and towels white and crisp, with L’occitaine and Neom toiletries/candles/room spray. Breakfast served in your room, pre-ordered the evening before. Very nice indeed. There are three rooms to choose from and each room is individually decorated. If you are looking for something with plenty of character, this is the place for you. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
109
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were lucky to stay here for four nights in early June. We stayed in the Dawson suite which was fantastic - especially the huge bathroom! Breakfast, which was served in our room every day was delicious, we managed to work our way through most of the options during our stay! Andy and Chrissy are great hosts and they have created a wonderful place to stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our fifth stay at Randy Pike and yet again everything was perfect! This time we stayed in the Dawson suite which is spacious and sumptuous - just like the other two suites! We booked a meal at the Jumble Room - the restaurant also owned by Andy and Chrissy and were chauffeured there and back by Andy. This is a particularly nice feature of a stay at Randy Pike! Everything you read in the reviews still doesn't do justice to the experience. The location is stunning and there are several walks that start directly outside your room! The breakfasts are a feast - the Randy Pike breakfast trifle is amazing and everything was served up with a cheery smile by the fantastic Eva. This place is a wonderful oasis, an escape from the normal 'day to day' where everything is focused on giving you an experience you won't forget. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Yes, if this wonderful place had been in existence back in the late 80s then Belinda Carlisle would surely have been a guest at Randy Pike to inspire her no 1 hit single. From the moment we pulled up the drive we were speechless, a beautiful yet quirky build with breathtaking views, Chrissy showed us inside our suite, the Valleley - the middle of 3, and it certainly had the wow factor. So comfortable and luxurious, the bed is on a whole new level, you have to do a starfish on it on arrival! Stylish and funky sofa, cool furnishings and the best selection of music on the I-Pod. The bathroom is quite amazing, its massive, and has a wonderfully relaxing feel, simply stunning! Within minutes of arriving we felt totally relaxed and 'unwinded' after a hectic build up to our wedding, this was the perfect honeymoon in every way. Andy and Chrissy and the staff are so friendly, make you feel immediately at home, the perfect hosts. This place of tranquillity is a true oasis of luxury in the Lakes, and its the little details that make it all the more special, the fridge stocked up with beer 'n' bubbly, water and juice each day, 2 of each totally complimentary, the breakfast which is by all accounts 'legendary' - the best breakfast granola trifle you will ever taste, the best home baked muffins you will ever taste, the cooked breakfast is superb and we can heartily recommend the pancetta 'n' brie filled croissants, we felt like the master chef judges tasting the winners food, it was so good we did ourselves proud and did not require a further meal till the evening. Then there is the restaurant that is owned by Andy and Chrissy, the Jumble Room, in nearby Grasmere, that i would recommend you book in advance of your stay, the food there is amazing (see my seperate review) and if available Andy is normally willing to chauffeur you there and back in the evening so you can both enjoy a drink! To sum up, its certainly the best place we have ever visited, top marks in all areas and unable to find any negatives about the place. We had read all the brilliant reviews before our stay, and yet still exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our dilemma in giving Randy Pike a 5* glowing report means running the risk that we won't be able to get a room the next time we visit the Lakes. Andy & Chrissy are fabulous hosts who couldn't do enough for you. The accommodation is stunning and Eva our 'maid' was a real gem. We had a great weekend here, but be warned, Chrissy is an amazing cook. You will go home with excess baggage around your waist and hips!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed at Randy Pike for three nights to enjoy a brief stay in the Lakes District. The Vallelay Suite was everything we could have hoped for in luxury and spaciousness. The hosts were gorgeous - friendly and helpful - making our stay very memorable! The breakfast choices were amazing - best we've ever had... Loved the Luxembourg sized bathroom with L'Occitane toiletries. We particularly enjoyed an evening meal at "The Jumble Room". Another highlight was a walk down through the back of the property, past Wray Castle, to catch a traditional Lake boat for the day. We loved the fact that the B & B was set in the heart of the countryside. Just beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We hadn't forgotten how amazing our stay last time was at Randy Pike, but we were blown away yet again. This time we stayed in the Dawson Suite for 2 nights and the only problem was it wasn't long enough! Andy, Chrissy and Ewa are fantastic hosts, there is simply nothing which is too much trouble for them and they really do look after you during your stay. It is lovely being chauffeured to their restaurant in Grasmere, The Jumble Room - a really personal touch. And you simply must eat there as the food is always really, really outstanding and it is such a quirky, vibrant place.

We arrived and stayed in the snow during that very snowy March weekend and that made it even more special as the views out of your suite windows were simply stunning. A walk from Randy Pike down to Blelham Tarn then across the fields to Hawkshead and back is highly recommended.

All 3 suites are stunningly luxurious - simply everything has been thought of, they really do have the wow factor in every way. The raspberry and white chocolate muffins on arrival just add to the whole experience - they were devoured instantly of course! Which then leads nicely onto breakfast - we could eulogise forever about the breakfast trifle - I won't here but will just say you can't leave Randy Pike without trying it (or the crostini - divine!) Everything was beautifully presented and Ewa always brings each course to your room with a smile.

The whole experience at Randy Pike was a real delight and treat - Chrissy and Andy have created this beautiful oasis and it is a real testament to their hard work. There is no doubt that we will be returning as you need to experience a little bit of the Randy Pike world every so often! Thank you again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Randy Pike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randy Pike

Address: Ambleside LA22 0JP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Randy Pike is our home on the outskirts of Ambleside in the heart of the English Lake District. Once a Gentleman’s Hunting lodge on the Wray castle Estate we have just recently returned it to its former glory... Randy Pike is Lakeland's sexiest new bed and breakfast, and yet B and B is it truly in its very simplest form, the suites are large and luxurious that have kept the character and feeling of that iconic neo-gothic era and yet marry perfectly with the all the modern facilities you'd expect with Vi-sprung beds, cloaked in the very best frette line and plump crisp pillows, there's a flat screen tv, i-pod dock, tea and fresh coffee. The Showers are the size of a small country, warm, funky and sexy... there's truly nothing out there like them. Andy and Chrissy Hill ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Randy Pike Hotel Ambleside
Randy Pike Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Randy Pike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.