We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeland pub with numerous dogs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Unicorn Inn

The Unicorn Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Unicorn Inn
Save
You added The Unicorn Inn to your Saves list
North Road, Ambleside LA22 9DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 109 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lakeland pub with numerous dogs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice pub with plenty of room compared to some in the Lakes. The ales are pretty much standard for the Lakes Robinsons & Jennings no smaller breweries. Hit and miss on the quality of the pulled ale pints, the lager was £5.50 for a pint an half of cheap Carling or Carlsberg I forget which I thought expensive.

We didn't eat here but I still want one of them Jumbo mixed grills, the food did look nice if not limited menu.

We were attracted to the place on a Saturday for the live music left by some of the reviews, not really our thing as we thought it might have been more towards folk music so popped to the Rule for a quite one.

We noticed it isn't open during the day through the week, we tried to pop in post fell walking. Overall pretty much an average Lakeland pub.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds. Suffolk. England
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is how a pub should be. Full of happy walkers n dogs.
It has a really good feel to it,,with a mix of people. The beer is fab, we have stopped in here several times on our way down from the cottage, we sort of get drawn in. Cosy atmosphere, staff are friendly, serving good pub grub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great place on the edge of town - avoid the crowds but a easy walk or short drive up the struggle to the "real lake district"
Nice room
great service
good companny
Great food & accommodation
Great beer
Great night !
Would recommend to everyone as the real taste of the lake district

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Unicorn delivers what is expected from an old traditional English pub. It gets our repeated custom while staying in Ambleside because of the good beers, wine and food and our dogs are always welcome.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I had a meal in the bar a couple of nights ago. We asked if we could bring our dog into the bar, which was not a problem at all. Infact one of the bar staff asked if our dog wanted some water and brought a bowl over for her.
We both had the steak and ale pie which was beautiful and very filling, the steak was very tender.
This is a lovely cosy place to visit for a drink and good food. We will definately return when we visit Ambleside again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Unicorn with 5 friends and feel compelled to write a review to redress some of the previous reviews.

Firstly service was spot on from check in right through to bar service.

This is a traditional pub serving a good selection of real ales and hot fresh pub food. My favourite is the mixed grill which was great value at £14.95 and perfect after walking on the fells.

A good sign in any tourist town is use by locals and this was evident here.

Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a full cooked english which again was hot and freshly cooked.

Many thanks to all of the staff for making us feel welcome and we'll be returning here and recommending to friends and family as a great base to stay when next in Ambleside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Walked up to the Unicorn for a well earned pint,what a mistake.On entering received no welcome from the barmaid who took our order without speaking only uttering the total. She then proceeded to sit at the side of the bar texting away until her phone rang when she shot out of the door to talk to her mates,Anybody wanting service had to wait till she was finished.
The best was to come when a younger girl arrived in a waitress style uniform,The pair of them completely ignored each other making for an awkward atmosphere.To cap all this the beer was well below par,I tried the Cumbria 3/10 at best.Goes without saying we didn't eat here
Left as we arrived ,silence, the barmaid again on the phone.Compare this to the welcome we received round the corner at the Golden Rule, made to feel like regulars

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Inn

Address: North Road, Ambleside LA22 9DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Ambleside
The Unicorn Inn Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Unicorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.