We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab B&B - stay here and you won't be disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnes Fell

Barnes Fell
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barnes Fell to your Saves list
Barnes Fell
Low Gale, Ambleside LA22 0BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fab B&B - stay here and you won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Lovely peaceful location but only 5 mins walk into Ambleside. Fabulous view from front bedroom. Made to feel very welcome by helpful and caring host. Great breakfast with free range eggs and vege sausage.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
86
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed in the Loughrigg room and had a magnificent view over the hills, the location is fantastic being just off the beaten track so it's very quiet of an evening and morning so you aren't woken up by passers by.

Just a short walk and you are into the centre of Ambleside with some amazing restaurants - Luigi's was very tasty and the Thai very spicy...

Ethna is a wonderful host and Nick was very helpful with providing some IT support - all in all magnificent hosts for a very romantic weekend and I couldn't ask for more other than maybe a bit later breakfast... but then again you do make the most of the day!

We will definitely go back again without hesitation...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiseley, Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

stay at Barnes Fell!
Where to start - well how about the warmth of the welcome, the excellent breakfast, the fabulous rooms, the value for money, the location.....
Beautifully presented rooms, "all mod cons", and a great host in Ethna "the landlady".
3 brilliant nights in Ambleside made even more special by choosing Barnes Fell.

Try it yourself - you won't regret it. However, don't think you'll get past the front door in your muddy boots (you know who you are......) - remember it takes work to keep a place like this tidy. If you want the "anonymity of a hotel", go elsewhere - if you want THE BEST B&B in Ambleside then go to Barnes Fell.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Just arrived home after a great 2 night stay at Barnes Fell.
Parking is on the road and as soon as we arrived Ethna came to greet us and Nick even moved his own car for us to park.
We stayed in the Wansfell overlooking the back garden. Not a huge room but very clean with bath robes and plenty of clean towels and was more than adequate for a couple of nights.
We were made very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We went out in Ambleside on Friday night and on Saturday we went a few miles away to a wedding reception Ethna was more than happy to organise a taxi for us.
Breakfast was great too.
A lovely place and we would certainly stay again.
Thanks Ethna and Nick
Dave and Lorraine from Doncaster

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

This is a delightful little B+B, 3 minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside in a quiet little street with amazing views of surrounding mountains. We would thoroughly recommend it and are intending to make a return visit later this year. The rooms are immaculately clean and smartly presented with crisp linen, modern furnishings, tea/coffee facilities etc. We stayed in the back room of the house (with views of a the pretty garden but sadly not the mountains). Although it was a little small, it is cheaper than the other rooms so we didn't feel at all hard done by. Breakfast was hearty and delicious! The couple who run this little guest house (it only has three rooms) are very friendly and helpful and it is a very short walk from the town centre. A thoroughly pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

if you are looking for a nice clean and well looked after b&b look no further ! we booked this b&b on the strengh of other reviews and was not disappointed. barnes fell is on a quiet side road just two minutes from the town centre. we stayed in "wansfell" which was very clean and over looks a small garden . towels where changed daily and there were even dressing gowns in the bathroom! breakfast was fantasic ! and is served at the front of property which has fantasic views todd crag and loughrigg. ethna makes you feel very much at home and is a great host. would we go back again... yes!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bd2 3rx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in December 2009. The guest house is very clean. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The hosts were very friendly and wanted to ensure that guests had a good stay. There was a varied menu fo breakfasts. We liked the location. It was minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside. If you have poor mobilty and without transport it might pose a problem because it is situted at the top of a steep hill. We were able to explore he local area from this central point.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnes Fell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnes Fell

Address: Low Gale, Ambleside LA22 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barnes Fell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnes Fell Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnes Fell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.